3/19 Chino|AMPS=354|+4=278|PMPS=355|+2=418|+4=388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

5th cycle on 9 units, 6th cycle since the last yellow (AMPS 443 to 249 at +4), 2nd AM cycle without R. Best AMPS he's had since I started giving R, with the exception of the morning after his first yellow on R (and the last PM cycle where he reached yellow on Lantus alone). I think he's been bouncing since then, and each drop from red or pink to yellow just leads to another bounce, so when I resume R, it will be at a lower dose.

There was no nadir on yesterday's AM cycle, so I was unable to tell if the Lantus is peaking earlier now. The BG was the same at +6 and +8. I'm hoping for better data today.
 
Unbelievable! A daytime yellow on Lantus alone! :) I realize this means we might not have a typical nadir on this cycle, either.
 
Unbelievable! A daytime yellow on Lantus alone! :) I realize this means we might not have a typical nadir on this cycle, either.
Seeing the yellow on the ss brings a sigh of relief...
Regarding the typical nadir, it's not uncommon for nadir to move around, especially when trying to get to a good dose and overall numbers are changing.
High dose kitties have a way of keeping you on your toes.
 
That yellow made me smile too. :)

"typical nadir", I was always envious of people whose kitties could be relied on to nadir around the same time each cycle. Neko would "reliably" nadir from +3.5 to +13 on Lantus. :rolleyes: But I did eventually find patterns. If her preshot was below 120, nadir was earlier. If her +3/+4 was higher than preshot, then nadir was later. Bounce breaking cycle, nadir was later. It took a lot of "staring a the tea leaves" as DH and I called it, but eventually patterns started to emerge.
 
I've been lucky with him. Up until now, his nadir has always been pretty reliable between +7 and +9, unless a bounce was breaking. Looking at the recent PM cycles, it occurred to me that +4 might actually be the lowest, though I can't know for sure without a +6, which I can almost never get. But I thought there wasn't much of a chance that it had moved back THAT far, and was expecting it at +6. Looks like it might actually be at +4 now...
 
Regarding the typical nadir, it's not uncommon for nadir to move around, especially when trying to get to a good dose and overall numbers are changing.

By "might not have a typical nadir" I meant that it might continue heading down for the entire cycle, which tends to happen when he's coming down from a bounce. But up until now, his nadir timing has actually been very reliable. If another cycle without R shows that it's at +4, I might have to start giving R around +8 instead.
 
I've been thinking about the suggestion to go up to 10 units in the morning instead of 9.5. Since it looks like I've been seeing mostly R action during the day and bouncing during the night, I'd rather go up to 9.5 to see another AM cycle or two without R (and the PM cycle that follows). Not sure yet if today's action is from getting closer to a good dose, or from breaking a bounce. I'm also still trying to determine when his nadir now falls and when the best time to give R will be.
 
He's still got a long way to go to a good dose, ie. mostly blue and a bit of green. But it's your call whether you want to go up to 10 units in one step or two. I think it's safe to go up t0 10 tomorrow. Once you do go to 10 units, increases are by 1 unit at a time, unless you are fine tuning a dose, which means getting a bit more green.

Today's yellows were 6 cycles from the last yellow, so my vote is bounce breaking.

As for R, I gave it as soon as I started to see the numbers turn around and go back up, which wasn't always at the same time.
 
Today's yellows were 6 cycles from the last yellow, so my vote is bounce breaking.

Looks like he's already bouncing again from this morning's yellow, so the next few cycles aren't going to tell me much about his nadir... In that case, I'll increase to 10 units tomorrow morning, skip the R again unless the AMPS is over 400 (give 0.75 or 1 unit if so), and wait for this bounce to break.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top