3/19 Alfred AMPS/127 +2/61 +4/63 +6/69 - time to reduce??

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
Hello from Alaska!
Yesterday
and at a glance:
AMPS 104
+2 91
+4 91
+6 82
+10 115
PMPS 117
+2 74

Looking forward to starting with the new syringes tonight. This will be Alfred's 14th cycle on .5U. Do we have to wait until he dips into the lower greens to try a reduction?

Also remember that vet told me his gums looked a little inflamed at the diagnosis (feb 21) but that we'd deal with a dental cleaning later. Any thoughts on when I should schedule it? He had a full dental cleaning in early 2012, including a tooth extraction. Do you guys clean your cats' teeth at home at all?
 
Re: 3/19 Alfred AMPS/127, +2/61 (? about dental)

Hi KJ, with that +2, I'd get at least a +3 if not a +2.5. You might not have to wait long for that low green.

A number of people here clean there cat's teeth - I know Marje and Sienne do theirs. Bad teeth/gums can impact blood glucose. I think some people here do dentals fairly regularly. I've been blessed with a cat with good teeth and she's on a raw diet so get's natural tooth cleansers, so have only done one dental for a bit of tartar.
 
Re: 3/19 Alfred AMPS/127 +2/61 +4/63 +6/69 - time to reduce?

KJ

He's getting close to earning a reduction by being in normal numbers for a week. He needs to be in the range of 50-120 for a week OR go below 50 once to earn a reduction. I'd probably continue to hold this dose for a few more cycles and see if he goes below 50.

Sienne and I both use CET poultry flavored toothpaste. You can buy little toothbrushes for cats but my dental vet said qtips work just as well provided you make sure you brush at the interface of gum and tooth. I'd ask the vet specifically when he thinks Alfred must have a dental.
 
Re: 3/19 Alfred AMPS/127 +2/61 +4/63 +6/69 - time to reduce?

If I recall you are switching to Terumo syringes? If so, 0.5U on those may be slightly less than 0.5U on the old ones depending on how you eyeball that.

So I agree, I would shoot 0.5U on the new syringes and lets see what the numbers look like. Then perhaps you can fine tune in a few cycles if needed.

Unless of course he drops below 50 then you will reduce. These numbers are looking perfect. :-D
 
Re: 3/19 Alfred AMPS/127 +2/61 +4/63 +6/69 - time to reduce?

Gabby won't let me brush her teeth. However, Gizmo, my civvie, puts up with my brushing his teeth. (There's actually a quick shot of it in the video in my signature.)

I agree -- I'd hold Alfred's dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top