3/19/21 - Squeaky! - AMPS = 323 +6=327 PMPS = 528 I

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...91-increase-dose-next-time.244874/#navigation

A cat walks into a bar. The bartender says, “What’ll you have?” The cat says, “A shot of whiskey.” The bartender pours the cat his drink. Slowly, the cat pushes the shot off the bar…immediately demanding, “ANOTHER!!”

So confused and not understanding what to do. He was sluggish all day so I gave him fluids this evening.

Wishing that someone wiser than I could help, because when I don't feel well or get emotional, I don't think clearly. Thinking we may need a modified GLGS but if we do that, will anybody be able to guide me when I don't think clearly? -- since nobody else will be doing the exact same thing. I have noticed that some people help with TR and others help with GLGS... but if nobody is doing a modified GLGS then maybe there won't be help?

Thank you from me and from Squeaky. Oh, and he's been almost like belching or something a bit. Sputtering in some way. A little bit.

I just gave him some baby food, spoon fed. That has recently seemed to perk him up when he's droopy.
 
Last edited:
It’s not recommended to modify SLGS. Sounds like he’s nauseous. What medication does he get for that?

He gets cerenia in the morning. But it doesn't seem to be working; he seems kind of nauseated in the mornings (wants to go outside and either eat some grass or pretend to eat grass). He gets budesonide for GI stuff.

I talked to the vet about the other med, Ondansetron. The vet seemed to think it has a lot of side effects and she wasn't so keen on it. However, she's not so keen on the protocols of this board, although she thinks I'm some kind of hero for following it.

I could order some Ondansetron from Allivet but I have to do it right away because she's going on vacation, like, tomorrow.
 
I disagree with your vet. I used ondansetron for both Tiffany and Max. The only side effect was that Max would get constipated so had to give him miralax when on it for longer than a few days. Many here use it. It works better for nausea for many many cats than Cerenia. You can look it up and see side effects.
 
It’s not recommended to modify SLGS. Sounds like he’s nauseous. What medication does he get for that?

I also want to start making his food again, since the "lamb" cat food I was giving him was only partly lamb, it was lamb AND TURKEY and he's allergic to poultry. I'm furious with the cat food manufacturers that they can't label anything decently plus I just don't know of any food that is totally clean. I'm also furious with myself for being unable to read the recommendation chart y'all have, to figure out what he can eat, but mostly there probably isn't anything because almost everything has poultry or rabbit. Maybe when Heather comes over on Sunday she can help.

Vet suggested Diabetes diet on BalanceIt.com. Their website is totally confusing. And seems very very expensive. They want over $1 a day JUST for supplements to add to the food I make myself. I don't trust the vet's recommendation. The website wanted to know very specificially what kind of pancreatitis he has, but the vet didn't respond to that question, just suggested the diabetes food.

I seem to have gotten into a kind of distress pattern here and I'm hoping when Heather comes on Sunday she can calm me down.
 
I disagree with your vet. I used ondansetron for both Tiffany and Max. The only side effect was that Max would get constipated so had to give him miralax when on it for longer than a few days. Many here use it. It works better for nausea for many many cats than Cerenia. You can look it up and see side effects.

Also called trazodone? Looks like I can order some from Allivet.

Oh I was spelling it wrong. I got it now. Well I can order some.

Then I take him off cerenia, right?

Edit: How much per day?
 
I’m sorry you are having a hard time. I feed my cats Small Batch frozen lamb. It’s a single protein food but lamb is high fat and while fat doesn’t matter a lot with cats that have pancreatitis, it might not be good to feed a high fat food. I wonder if lamb is part of yiur cat’s problem. My allergy cat gets Primal venison, also a single protein food.
 
Also called trazodone? Looks like I can order some from Allivet.

Oh I was spelling it wrong. I got it now. Well I can order some.

Then I take him off cerenia, right?

Edit: How much per day?
Some cats are given both cerenia and ondansetron. The dose for ondansetron to start is 1mg per kg. Max was given 2mg twice a day. He was 16 pounds. It can be given every 8 hours.
 
I’m sorry you are having a hard time. I feed my cats Small Batch frozen lamb. It’s a single protein food but lamb is high fat and while fat doesn’t matter a lot with cats that have pancreatitis, it might not be good to feed a high fat food. I wonder if lamb is part of yiur cat’s problem. My allergy cat gets Primal venison, also a single protein food.

He doesn't like small batch frozen lamb.

He's currently eating fresh pork and beef, sometimes he likes it raw, sometimes cooked. Also pork baby food.

I was giving him a bit of Instinct Lamb, but it has carbs and turkey.
 
Some cats are given both cerenia and ondansetron. The dose for ondansetron to start is 1mg per kg. Max was given 2mg twice a day. He was 16 pounds. It can be given every 8 hours.

Okay it is a 4 mg tablet, but it can be cut I'm sure. So one a day probably. Squeaky weighs 13.2.
 
Are you adding a supplement to the cooked food?

No, I was before and it upset his GI tract so I had to stop. I haven't found any solutions to this. I was giving him some canned so he would get a complete food, but the canned stuff, because they had poultry, got him inflammed again and here we are with another pancreatitis flareup.

I like the idea of balanceit.com. However I get mad at companies for charging so much and wish I could just make the supplement mix myself. Or buy it locally at a store.

Edit: Now the vet wants to charge me a consultation fee to try to navigate the balanceit.com website to order the correct food. However she's tried to get me to give Squeaky the horrible prescription canned foods in the past -- I don't trust her totally.
 
I think with pancreatitis they can have good days and bad days. Just keep giving the meds and the fluids and hopefully he'll start having more good days. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hope you can get the ondansetron. :bighug:
Check out this brand Canada Fresh Red Meat. This line has limited ingredients. It's pricey, but if it helps ........... The link isn't coming through. Chewy has it. Have you thought about increasing the cerenia?

https://www.chewy.com

Thanks Elise and Paula, you are the BEST.

Squeaky vomited this morning. And he's still weak and droopy. My vet also went on vacation. I placed an allivet order for Ringers and odansetron, and after XX phone calls and XX emails, got it approved, I'll pay for 2 day shipping it'll go out on Monday.

Squeaky just had his pills and insulin and hopefully he will feel better for a while. His scruff still feels soft so I don't think he needs more fluids for today.

I personally feel depleted (read: meltdown) so I'm going to spend the rest of the day doing as much as I can to recover. Just cooked some bacon. May go pick up a package. Probably hot yoga at 4 pm.

I can likely take up the food issue again soon. Today, he's eating baby food again. All thoughts and suggestions and empathy is much appreciated!!!!! Thank you!!!!
 
Most of my cats on cerenia are also on prilosec 1/4 tab once daily. It helps when the cerenia isn't enough.

I hope Squeaky evens out soon!

Thank you I have never heard of that one! He's getting 7.5 mgs of cerenia in the morning. How much do you think I can increase it until the od... gets here?

He's looking a bit better this afternoon. Thank you so much for your caring!
 
Prilosec.

Do you think I should give him a little extra cerenia this evening to try to help him overcome his nausea? He's getting 7.5 mgs in the morning.

Also I gave him the B12 shot on Monday and stopped giving him the zobaline. Do you think that ceasing the zobaline might be a contributor to his not feeling well now? Thank you thank you thank you.
 
Do you think I should give him a little extra cerenia this evening to try to help him overcome his nausea? He's getting 7.5 mgs in the morning.

Also I gave him the B12 shot on Monday and stopped giving him the zobaline. Do you think that ceasing the zobaline might be a contributor to his not feeling well now? Thank you thank you thank you.
Your dose is a conservative one so I think you can give a little more. Did your vet give a range? Some cats respond better to ondansetron and some actually need both cerenia and ondansetron.
 
Your dose is a conservative one so I think you can give a little more. Did your vet give a range? Some cats respond better to ondansetron and some actually need both cerenia and ondansetron.

No I don't have a clue about the dosing yet. The rx will probably not arrive until Tuesday.
 
I would increase the dose. Is he eating though?

This morning I spoon fed him baby food and some home canned pork. He felt better this afternoon and ate a good sized portion (over time) of raw pork. Oh he was happy about the raw pork. He's not feeling as well now, though. I'll give him, maybe 3 mgs of cerenia at preshot, and if you think it's okay to increase the insulin, 2.25 units. Does this sound okay?
 
Back
Top