Re: 3/19/12 Max AMPS 189 +3.75 72 Dental/Constipation
max&emmasmommie said:
The vet we saw said to reduce the dose to 1u.
I am hoping others will comment on this before your shot time tonight. Sienne mentioned how we raise/drop doses by .25u vs full units. Think about when your vet said to raise it a full unit to 3. What kind of numbers do you think Max would have had today already dropping into the 50's on 2u. Those small increments make pretty amazing differences in cats.
Max did not hypo today. You caught a low number and took action to prevent the hypo. Most vets are not used to owners being aware and taking control like you did today. It only makes sense they would suggest such a large reduction.
Now comes the question of your vacation. This is where I hope others will chime in. Some people have 'no shoot' numbers for their sitters (today would be a great example), some reduce doses...not usually by 1 u tho. It is important to come up with a plan. Sienne, I think is really good with this and hope she will tell you how she goes about it when she is out of town.
Your vet suggesting levemir over lantus is unusual, but encouraging. It could be a great option. I would wait until you get back home from your trip to do that switch if you choose to do so. Keeping the wellness is a great idea. Since you switched foods completely, just yesterday (right?) it will be important to stay on top of his numbers. This could be making all the difference in the world.
max&emmasmommie said:
Thanks, Carolyn. That is interesting that the protocol does not call for a dose reduction.
I vast majority of people here would not technically consider 51 a qualifying number for dose reduction per protocol. I come from a background of not wanting a cat that low for other health reasons . We will never know for sure, but I highly suspect Max would have gone lower had you not intervened @ +3(?). It would be wonderful to hear from others about this. I think if you were home and able to monitor/test A LOT, you could stick to the 2u and hope to catch the below 50 BG. If
I were in your situation, I might consider reducing...but only .25u and continue to monitor. That is just me.
Here is the TR protocol, which is followed when you can test regularly:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
Random Notes:
Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus and Levemir:
An early shot = a dose increase.
A late shot = a dose reduction.
A "cycle" refers to the period of time between shots. There are 2 cycles in one day when shooting twice a day.
Sometimes a dose will need to be "fine tuned" by adding some "fat" or "skinny-ing up" the dose.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
max&emmasmommie said:
He had an enema at the vet, and even afterward his BG was only 81.
He was prescribed antibiotics- Clindamycin Hydrochloride Drops for his teeth, and Lactulose for the constipation.
Poor guy. :sad: Keep monitoring his numbers. If he has an a/b that is effectively clearing an infection, his bg's will likely go down some. Regarding the lactulose...I gave this to Latte because she would not eat reliably enough to get miralax in her food. I remember investigating how it might affect BG's and most on the board, as well as the vets said it should not. I tested often to see if there was a correlation with her numbers, but no answers were revealed. Remember tho, ECID and who really knows?!?! Miralax, from what I have seen in others is much more effective and works in a way that does not pull fluids from the body to be (I sure hope I am remembering all this right! ;-) ). It is also less sticky and invasive (you are syringing syrup into his mouth?). Point being, Miralax really is a better choice overall. Give the vet a call and ask if you could switch. It is an o/c drug, so you could easily pick it up at a local store.
One last tip... a +10 or +11 is often useful information. When you test at preshot, you will then know if Max is rising or dropping. This can help you decide if it is safe to give Max his shot. Here is a link regarding shooting low(er) number:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
Okay...Im about to hit the sack here. Hope you guys have a wonderful night!!