3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515, +3 438, +4 434 ~dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good morning all. Today is day 2 for the New Pen and the numbers have me worried. I know I must be patient, but i'm wondering if this should be expected starting a fresh insulin. I Had been using a vial and have now gone to using a pen. Please let me know if there is something else i should be doing. He is acting just fine and as always just a lover boy. As you can see by his SS i have been trying to do much more testing including the spot checks as suggested. From what i have been reading on the stickys i have opened, If his number stays above 300, i should up his dose by .5u starting tomorrow morning? Just looking for some feedback.
Thanks everybody and have a great day. :-D
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515.. Worried

This is Libby's post to you on the first day you posted. Hope this will help.

There is a little clause in our Tight Regulation Protocol(under Increasing the Dose) that says: "However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU." When I see high, flat numbers all above 300, I often suggest increases of 0.5 units at a time, every 4-6 cycles, provided that the bean is able to monitor sufficiently and has a well stocked hypo toolkit. Then once the numbers start moving a bit, I would slow down the dose increases and possibly to to increasing in increments of 0.25. This is only for cats that are high (mostly red and black with some high pink), not showing much movement in numbers, and are being tested sufficiently at home. (emphasis added)

Based on that part of the protocol, a plan you might choose to try would be this: a) monitor more. You're doing a good job, just do a little better. Grab spot checks whenever you can, including bed time and/or when you get up in the morning, when you get home from work, just before you leave the house, etc. b) Tommy's current dose is 4 units. Don't increase again until you can get a bunch of spot checks just to be sure he is not getting lower, but do that as soon as you can, then c) as long as you are maintaining a schedule of getting spot checks in almost every cycle, then increase every 4-6 cycles by 0.5 unit at a time. NEVER do a dose increase unless you have at least two mid-cycle checks on that dose, preferably more and preferably around nadir. Continue that until the numbers start to move. Also, please stay in touch and post here every day, if you can. It will help us help you.

Regardless of what option you choose, if you don't already have a hypo toolkit, including lots of high carb wet food (something with gravy), be sure to make a toolkit ASAP.

For those who don't understand why I'm saying the dose increases were ok, here's a brief explanation of the thoughts in my head. I might be totally wrong, but I wanted to make sure all the options are out there.

* Numbers didn’t look too bad on 2.5 units of Humulin. When he started Lantus he went to 1 unit, which was fine (maybe even a little low, usuallly we suggest starting slightly below the "good" dose of the previous insulin).

* Don't have a ton of spot checks on 1u but enough to be fairly sure he was staying high. I agree with 0.5 unit increases when the cat is all pink/red/black. He held 1 unit for 5 days, 1.5 for 2 days, and at that point I would have also suggested 0.5u increases every 4-6 cycles (because he is still high and flat).

* Held the 2u and 2.5u doses too long. Holding doses too long can allow the cat to build a resistance to the dose. Not a big deal, resistance can be broken through, but usually it requires more insulin to get the breakthrough.

* The only dose increase I don’t really agree with is the last one, because Tommy did see some yellow on 3u and 3.5u. I would have done more testing at that point before increasing the dose again. If you do want to drop back in dose, I would suggest dropping to no lower than 3 units. In my opinion, Tommy WAS given enough time on the lower doses than that. I also think that if you choose to stay at 4 units and work up from there, Tommy should be safe and if he needs a reduction from 4 units, he'll tell us soon enough. You have to test more, though!

Also, you mentioned in one of your posts that you thought the point was to reduce the insulin eventually. Really the point is to give him whatever amount he needs to be healthy. Not all cats do well on small doses, and not all cats will go OTJ (but having a higher dose does not mean that he CAN'T go OTJ, if the circumstances are right). There are a ton of variables so we just have to follow Tommy's lead.
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515.. Worried

Yeah, i've read the protocol many times, i'm very familiar with that. I'm just wondering why the numbers aren't going down just at least a little.
As far as monitoring , unfortunately i am a bit limited on how much i can do given our financial situation at the time. I use reli on so i am already using the inexpensive strips.
I monitor as much as i can right now.
I have high carb food available although i don't think i have any fear of him going to numbers that low.
Thanks again! I'm posting as much as i can. Almost thought i might be asking too many questions.
Take care all..
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515.. Worried

Hi, bless your heart.. I would be worried too. Higher #s can be scary. Are you testing for ketones too? I understand you are on a limited budget, as you know I am not a dosing advisor & cannot comment on an increase. Tommy has been at 4.0 units for awhile now & I know you don't want him to get used to higher #s. Great job on starting a new condo today, if you put dosing advice in your subject line it should catch some expert eyes who can give you the go ahead to increase or explain why you should stay at this dose. Hang in there.. I know you are being patient & taking care of Tommy. I agree with Celi, there is no such thing as too many questions.. please ask as many as you would like.
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515.. Worried

Hi: You are doing a great job. I feel for your concerns with the high numbers. I assume from what Libby said, and the fact that the new pen did not seem to influence his numbers you could probably increase. That being said, see if anyone else chimes in with their thoughts.
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515.. Worried

I think Barbara was just posting Libby's whole post, which suggested more monitoring....you're doing a good job getting more spot checks now.

I know those high numbers are concerning....we saw our share of them too when Tinkles was first diagnosed! Hang in there, sooner or later, his numbers will come down. In the meantime....Are you testing for ketones? I would encourage you to test for ketones regularly. That is very important when BG are above normal range, he may not have a history of ketones, but that doesn't mean he can't develop ketones. You want to know right away if ketones show up, even trace amounts are a serious concern. Whenever you get a ketone test, please put the results in the comments on your SS, and post here immediately if he shows ANY amount of ketones. Anything above a trace calls for a trip to the vet right away, a trace amount often can be dealt with at home.

I would follow the protocol...his numbers are staying high and nadirs are above 300, so I would increase by 0.5u after 4 cycles...which would be tonight, assuming his numbers don't change before then. That's my opinion...others may have a different opinion.

If you need to reduce the number of spot checks, you can get a test somewhere around +6-+8 in addition to the PS test, until you start seeing some movement in his numbers. At night, get a before bed test, and if you get up to go to the bathroom during the night, grab a test then. The main thing is to get at least one spot check during each cycle in addition to the PS tests. More testing is better...that's really the minimum for safety.

We want you to ask questions, and we want you to post daily, so please don't hesitate to do both!
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515.. Worried

Ditto what Laurie said.

The only point that I would add is that there is up to 20% meter variance on any test. The AMPS and +2 numbers are pretty much the same. The +2 looks worse because it's a different color on your SS.

Also, it helps to keep in mind that Lantus is not a "potent" insulin. Rather, it's gentle and long-acting. You'll like this a lot better once Tommy gets to a dose that starts to bring his numbers into a better range. Based on the protocol, you can increase Tommy's dose as soon as every 2 days (4 cycles) and by as much as 0.5u and if his nadirs are over 300. I would add that if you want to be aggressive about dosing, you do need to monitor at least the minimum that Laurie suggested.
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515, +3 438, +4 434 ~dosing advi

First, let me tell all of you how very much it means to me to hear the words of encouragement. That goes a very long way to my psyche..
Second i do check for ketones, but not as much as should be. I will do a better job with that. So far everyone that has been performed has yielded not even a trace. So good news there.
I will up the dose to 4.5U this evening and go from there, keep that for at least 4-6 cycles and monitor as much as i can.
Have a wonderful evening everyone and again............... THANK YOU!! :smile:
 
Re: 3/18 Tommy amps 478, +2 515, +3 438, +4 434 ~dosing advi

flip_cat yay! very excited for you.. good luck with the dosecrease... come on Tommy bcatrun_gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top