3/18 Tessie Lou - Bizarre thing happened with syringe!

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Well, after a long sleepless night, I went to give Tessie Lou her morning shot. My granddaughter came to stay for the day right about test time, and for some reason, Tessie is afraid of her. I got her tested and fed, but when I got ready to shoot her, she stood up and was all tense. So, I put the cap back on the syringe, put it in my pocket, and took her to another room to shoot her. I KNOW I measured the right dose, but when I went to shoot her, I put the needle in and pushed...and the plunger was already pushed all the way in! So....can a bad syringe have a too loose plunger? It seemed normal when I filled it. I am at a total loss for what happened. So, I did a no-no and gave her a CSD of .5u just so she had something in her. She has had a couple of really nice blue days, and I didn't want her to go without insulin. It was not a fur shot. There was simply nothing in it when I pushed the plunger!

I think I really messed up. I know this sounds crazy, but I can't figure it out. And, with the lack of sleep...

Has anyone ever had this happen, or have any idea what I did?
 
I suspect that with either putting the syringe in and out of your pocket or with bending or some other position, you pushed in the plunger. My guess is that there was insulin in the cap of the syringe.

For the future, I would suggest looking at the syringe to make sure you've got insulin in there if you don't follow your usual routine.

Also, please check Tessie's numbers early. The amount of insulin you're giving is not a huge amount. You may have shot a full dose but it just didn't "feel" that way.
 
Morning, Sienne, I think you're right about it going in the cap. I would almost bet my life that when I pushed on that plunger, it was already completely pushed in, because I was so shocked and didn't immediately know why it felt so different! I pulled it out and looked, and then realized the plunger was already pushed in. Still, if it went into the cap, there could have been a trace amount still on the needle (?), so it's impossible to know how much, if any, she got. Oh, I did not need this to happen today.

Yes, I plan to check her at +2 and see where she's at. Her numbers were strange again through the night, and then this morning AMPS was 305. Another bounce? I am so mad at myself and I hope I haven't really messed her up.
 
Hi, it is bizarre, but beliveable because I also had that happen 1 time to Baby. I went to go shoot her & the sryinge had been pushed in (it sounds crazy, but true)
my memory is fuzzy about what I did, but I know I did not shoot her again because we are always advised we do not know if it was a furshot, etc. so never shoot more because some might have got in kitty. I agree, please test because there is a chance she has gotten more insulin than normal this morning. It will all work out, things happen. ;-)
 
I agree - things happen. I would test her this morning, make sure things are OK. We are all so on auto pilot in the morning that when it comes time to remember what we did it is all fuzzy. I will work out - just be sure to watch her this morning.

Very nice amps too.

Have a great day everyone!
 
Hi Nicole, yea I know, I should not have given her that extra .5u. :oops: :oops: It is a weird relief to hear that at least one other bean has had this happen. You're right, things just happen sometimes...I guess we'll see how it goes today. I will be checking her soon. Thanks!

Hi Michele, thanks, yes I'll be watching her very carefully today!
 
Re: 3/18 Tessie Lou - Bizarre syringe! - update

Ella, yes, thanks, I'll just shoot normal tonight - I hope that never happens to me again!

Yes, celi, that's for sure! If someone would have told me 3 months ago that I would be doing this stuff, I would have said "no way, can't do it," but...
look at me now--shooting mystery doses after 24 hours without sleep! Still, I think this is my first screw up, so I was probably overdue!

Anyway, I'll never know how much juice she got, but so far, she's doing okay.
AMPS: 305
+2 (252)
+3 (246)
+5 (153)

Thanks everyone,
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top