3/18 Sweetie PMPS=62, +1.25=66, +3=52, +4=58, +5=65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweeties-Mom

Member Since 2013
Previous Condo

I know it is a great thing to wake up to green, but I am still nervous. I gave the current shot ("shoot low to stay low") but skinnied it to 1.75s. I tried to feed him Friskies turkey & giblets pate 8% carbs but he wouldn't eat it so I switched to FF chicken classic and he ate a full breakfast. I'll try to come back at lunch time to check on him.
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98

Hi guys .. wow, nice shooting! Fingers crossed sweetie surfs all day for you .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98

Good job! I'm glad you can come home to check on him. Surf safely while Mamabean away, Sweetie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, +6=90 GONE SURFING

Checked on him at +6 and it is 90 - whew! Funny how much I want him to go into remission (really it would be diet controlled - no more dry food ever) and he needs to go below 50 so I can start reducing the dose, but it sure makes me nervous at the same time.

Back to work now.
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, +6=90 GONE SURFING

It does take some getting used to when you aren't used to having to monitor so much.
But as you can see, so many here have engrained it in their everyday.

Sweetie's numbers today look a lot like Shadow's old pattern. Just a nice steady ride on a surfboard.
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, +6=90 PMPG=62 Need Dose Help!!

Yikes! 62 is beautiful, but do I still shoot the full 1.75s or drop down to 1.5 assuming that he could have dipped below 50 somewhere between +6 and +12??

I have to take my son to a scout meeting, in a few minutes - not sure what to do!
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, +6=90 PMBG=62 Need Dose Help!!

Given this, I think I'll shoot a .25 reduction; he may have earned it honestly at +9 but I wasn't here to test then.

Since I'll be feeding him too he should be OK until I get back from scouts.
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, +6=90 PMPS=62, +1.25=66

I stalled only about 15 min, then decided to decrease the dose to 1.5u (down .25). I just got back for a +1.25 test and bg is only 66, not much of a bump from dinner. I hope he's got that surfing figured out and doesn't go diving tonight!

I'll be back in another hour and can keep testing as needed after that (just got another 100 test strips today), and have the hypo tools if I need to use them. I kind of had to make a quick decision there and decided to be bold.

Seems like Mr. P. might be coming back from his vacation.
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, +6=90 PMPS=62, +1.25=66

Cathy

I will watch for you so please post your next number.

The thing about shooting a reduced dose is that the cycle will likely still play out the same way due to the depot. When you lower the dose, the depot doesn't usually drain that fast...you see the effects in a subsequent cycle.

He's looking super!
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, PMPS=62, +1.25=66, +3=52

Hi Cathy, what an exciting day for Sweetie, and very nice shooting from you! I hope he surfs safely for you tonight.
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, PMPS=62, +1.25=66, +3=52

Thanks Marje! It is so comforting to know you will be watching.

No matter how many times I read about the depot and the long term effects of this insulin, it still takes a while to sink in that reducing a dose won't have an immediate effect.

Since he's at 52 now, do you recommend I test more frequently than every hour? I normally feed him around +4 at night; I could give it a little early, or just wait. I could give him his regular FF classic or add some FF with gravy? I see that you have important links for me to review in your signature, so I'll read those now.

Thanks!!!
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie AMPS=98, PMPS=62, +1.25=66, +3=52

Sorry...had to test and feed Gracie.

How about giving him 2 tsp of LC and retest in 30 pls.

I'll be waiting :-D
 
Re: 3/18 Sweetie PMPS=62, +1.25=66, +3=52, +4=58

OK, he is now at 58 after eating 2 tsp of his LC FF. So he seemed to respond to the LC food with a slight rise in bg even though he might have otherwise gone down, right?

Should I go ahead and feed him the rest of his normal pm meal now (i.e. the rest of the 3oz can of FF), or spread it out over the night? I imagine I'll need to wake up and test him tonight - every hour? more often if he goes below 50?

His nadir at this dose seems to be anywhere from +5 to +9.
 
Glad to see he's coming up. He should be getting close to nadir. If you want to feed him the rest of his food and then set an alarm and check him in an hour to be sure he's coming up, I think that would be fine.

What do you think?
 
Gave 3t more and after 30 min he is at 65 (and it is +5).

I'm thinking I'll go ahead and give him the rest of his can (his normal bedtime meal) and catch an hour or two of sleep? Judging from his recent cycles he might dip down anywhere from +6 to +9.

Do you think it is OK to stay at the 1.5u I shot tonight and use that tomorrow morning? Or should I go back to 1.75u in the AM? Or it depends on the preshot bg?
 
I think your plan is a good one.

If it were me, I'd go back to the 1.75u in the morning because he didn't actually earn a reduction. However....I'd be watching him closely the next few because I wouldn't be surprised if he's going to earn one soon.

Good job tonight, Cathy! Hope you get a little rest. He's looking good :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Ni Ni!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top