3/18 Sheba PMPS 388; +6.5 64 AMPS 131

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
PMPS. 153
+4. 59
+4.25. 54
+4.75. 75
+5. 52
+5.5. 93
+6. 129
+8. 138
+9. 138
AMPS. 372

I didn't test before + 4 because she has been having a food spike for a few days and thought I would give her a break from testing for a few hours. So the 59 did surprise me. I took it just as I was going to bed but of course didn't get there!
I gave her a small teaspoon of HC at +4, + 4.25 and + 5 and a drop of honey with +4 and +5. Probably a bit of overkill but it made me feel better.
This morning a high AMPS:( I Hope she clears it fast. Disappointing as she has been doing so well.
I haven't had time to update the SS yet. Probably won't be able to til tonight.
Also I gave a reduced dose of 6.25 at AMPS because I have to go out today and can't monitor Sheba, although with that AMPS she probably won't drop low. I am feeling really tired today, you know the tiredness where you feel sick:(
I am using the iPad so wasn't able to link yesterday's condo .....sorry
Bron
 
Here is your last post 3/16 Sheba.

sometimes you have to do what works best for you - and if that's reducing the dose cuz you're feeling like you're getting sick, then just go with it. You can go back up in dose when you feel better. Which i hope is very soon. :bighug:
 
Thanks Julie for fixing condo.
Am not feeling I am getting sick...........just feel sick with lack of sleep! You know the feeling I am sure.........
My main concern was that I am going to be out today and couldn't monitor her. Doubt she drop though
 
PMPS 388 after high numbers all day. I suppose that was a bounce?
Sheba was obviously not feeling great with the high numbers after having had a week of much lower numbers.
I went back to the 6.50 dose tonight. Hope she comes down soon.
 
I wonder if you could have a look at Sheba's numbers please.

I went back to the 6.50 dose for the PMPS of 388 tonight. By +3 she had dropped to 273. I started to give her some MC to slow the drop. I have continued to feed MC and then HC from +5 each half hour when I took the bsl and found it dropping too fast( I have only entered the hourly bsl on the SS. I hope that is ok, tell me if it is not) It is a really strong cycle and I have had to give a lot of the MC and HC food to try and manage the drop, which I think is probably too fast and may trigger another bounce.
My question is: I know Sheba has not gone down far enough for a reduction but she would have if I hadn't given her all this food. But I wanted to avoid another bounce if possible. Also I am concerned about all this extra food Sheba is getting. I don't want her putting on any weight.
Would I be able to go back to 6.25?
If you think I should stick with the current dose I will but I just wanted to put it out there.
It just after 2am here and I will be giving the next dose in 5 hours. Thanks Bron


PMPS. 388
+3 273
+4. 196
+5. 124
+6. 86
+6.5. 64
+7. 81
 
Last edited:
Hey Sheba - time to switch it up and do greens during the day! You must be tired Bron. :bighug:

If possible, it would be great if you could stay at 6.5 units. Sheba's finally starting to see a lot of normal numbers at this dose and it's only by spending time in those normal numbers that her body will get used to it and stop bouncing so much. It may help to feed her a little bit higher carb food so you can keep giving the higher dose of insulin.

We usually do wait until we actually see a below 50 (2.8) before we take the reduction.
 
OK. I have stuck with the 6.5. Thanks for the advice.
I don't mind the lower numbers, but the lack of sleep is terrible. I have been trying to find an hour during the day to sleep but that is not always possible. I was finding it easy to test and go back to bed and sleep easily but since Sheba has been having much lower numbers I can't do that as easily. I'm not complaining, because I know most everyone is in the same boat, I just wish there was a pill for tiredness.:(

Re the higher carb food. That is a good idea. I will have to have a look and see what I can find. At the moment I will just add a bit of the 16 carb to the mix. I don't want to go off the raw food.

I thought with Sheba being a diabetic for more than a year, she would have to go below 40 for a reduction. As you know going below 50 scares me no end. I could probably manage 50 but not 40. It is not that I am looking for a reduction, just a.bit more control of the drop and a bit more sleep.
She was 7.3 (131) this morning. Stayed at 4.4 (79) for several hours last night. I will try and update SS later this morning.
Thanks Wendy
Bron
 
Last edited:
I thought with Sheba being a diabetic for more than a year, she would have to go below 40 for a reduction.

You're right that she's a long term diabetic, but it's not written in stone that you MUST wait for Sheba to drop below 40 to take a reduction

With long term diabetics, a lot of us will either wait until they drop below 50 3 times, OR drop below 40 once...but it's not a hard and fast rule. As Sheba's caretaker, you have to be comfortable with your decisions

Having said that, once a cat has come out of remission, we tend to be even more aggressive to try to get them back into remission
 
You're right that she's a long term diabetic, but it's not written in stone that you MUST wait for Sheba to drop below 40 to take a reduction

With long term diabetics, a lot of us will either wait until they drop below 50 3 times, OR drop below 40 once...but it's not a hard and fast rule. As Sheba's caretaker, you have to be comfortable with your decisions

Having said that, once a cat has come out of remission, we tend to be even more aggressive to try to get them back into remission
Thanks Chris.
I think it is the lack of sleep that is making it all so much harder. I don't want to complain, as I know I am one of many with the same sleep deprivation. Things always look so much better with a good nights sleep under your belt.
I will have to go with the 3x below 50 by the look of it. Too much of a scaredy cat to do the 40
Yes, I realise we have to be more aggressive with a cat who has come out of remission. I would love to get her back OTJ but I don't know what my chances are.
Thanks so much for your support, it is really appreciated
Bron
 
I recommend berocca, it was quite the lifesaver for me with Vyktor at the end there just before remission. As soon as mum told me Purrdy had diabetes I went and bought us both some. It works better than coffee for me at keeping me awake but also no problem sleeping on it when you have a chance.
 
I tested at +2 and she had gone up from 131 to 313. Quite a food spike.
I tested again at +3 and it was 268 so looks like it was a food spike and not a bounce.
So I have put one and a half flat teaspoons of 15.8 carb food into her normal food which she will eat over the next half to an hour. And hopefully this will slow her drop to a more sedate rate.
Do you think this is a good plan?

Usually when she has a big food spike her drop is not as rapid as the drop when she only has a small one.
Really appreciate your input.
Thanks Bron
 
I think it very well could have been some of both. I'd be surprised if Sheba didn't bounce off those greens from last night!

I think I would have just tried something like 8-10%....we want her to come down...just not too fast. You don't want to put the brakes on the insulin so she doesn't come down at all
 
If you are truly exhausted, then you might consider skipping a pm shot so you can just plain sleep. Sheba will have higher numbers for a short time after you do that, but there are 2 of you involved and if you're too tired, consider that as an option. Just call it a furshot and enjoy a good night's sleep.

Drops that are more than about 50 points per hour are known to cause bounces in some cats - slower than that it's probably one of those ECID (every cat is different) things.

The amount of carbs to slow a cat down is trial and error, but you don't want to keep them in high numbers, just keep them from dropping too fast. Keep good notes to help you see what works and doesn't work.
 
I think it very well could have been some of both. I'd be surprised if Sheba didn't bounce off those greens from last night!

I think I would have just tried something like 8-10%....we want her to come down...just not too fast. You don't want to put the brakes on the insulin so she doesn't come down at all
Hi Chris,

I don't have any 8% or 10% food unfortunately as I feed raw and only have 4% which I use a small amount of to add to the raw and 15.8% and 22% for the drops. So I had not much choice today until I can go shopping. I only added one and a half flat teasp to the + 3 meal which she has over about an hour so hopefully it won't put the brakes on!
I need to go on the web and find some low phosphorus 8 or 10% food.
Thanks for the advice:)
Bron
 
You can always add a small blop of honey to increase the carbs. i don't know how much would add a few percentage point without turning it into high carb - you'd have to play around and see what works.
 
If you are truly exhausted, then you might consider skipping a pm shot so you can just plain sleep. Sheba will have higher numbers for a short time after you do that, but there are 2 of you involved and if you're too tired, consider that as an option. Just call it a furshot and enjoy a good night's sleep.

Drops that are more than about 50 points per hour are known to cause bounces in some cats - slower than that it's probably one of those ECID (every cat is different) things.

The amount of carbs to slow a cat down is trial and error, but you don't want to keep them in high numbers, just keep them from dropping too fast. Keep good notes to help you see what works and doesn't work.

That sounds very tempting Julie. I am really very tired and I will see how I am feeling tonight. I got less than 3 hours last night and feel like I have been out on a bender? My DH is going to feed our grandson and put him down for his sleep today so I can hopefully get a good sleep today. If I can, then I should be ok for tonight.
+4 is 266 so it has stalled......maybe a bit less carbs next time. Yes I write down everything I give her and the carb content. Good info to have though from today. I will see where she is when I wake up
I am off to try and have a sleep
Thank you for your advice and support
Bron
 
You gotta be able to cope with this marathon - and if you'd accidentally given a furshot it would have the same effect.

i hope tomorrow is a better day!
 
You gotta be able to cope with this marathon - and if you'd accidentally given a furshot it would have the same effect.

i hope tomorrow is a better day!
Thanks Julie,
Yes it is a marathon isn't it.
I managed to get an hour and a half sleep and an extra rest a bit later so I am feeling better.
I see several people have sick kitties at the moment so I am lucky just being tired.
It is always so hard when they are sick.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top