3/18 Oscar amps 113 +6 124 pmps 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
I reduced his dose down to 0.75u the other day, and we have been holding fairly steady since.

We took repeat x-rays the other day to compare his lungs to last year. Unfortunately his x-rays from last year are MIA. The current x-rays show significant lung consolidation in the upper part of both lungs. We've started him on amoxacillin BID in hopes that this is a lingering infection and not permanent scarring. At least I now know why he still wheezes and hunkers down occasionally like he doesn't feel well. He is on a high dose of flovent because it is the only thing that will keep him from coughing. Fingers crossed that the repeat x-rays in a month will show that some of these cloudy areas have started clearing up.

I gave him a token dose while he was at the vet yesterday since I didn't want him going low while he had no food on his stomach. I expected to see high numbers because of it, but have yet to see any *knock on wood*
 
I am sorry Oscar is not feeling well. :( Hopefully the amoxicillin will help and there is no permanent scarring. Poor guy. It is amazing that his numbers aren't worse for feeling so bad plus going to the vets. So they have ruled out anything having to do with his heart as well (because of the coughing)?
 
A year ago he got a BNP test for heart disease and it came back normal. His x-ray last year only showed tramlines and donuts (asthma related) and his heart was normal size.

There is too much clouding around the heart on the x-ray this year to tell, but it looks like it is the same size the best I can tell. There is no money for an EKG though. He hasn't coughed in a while (like more than a month). As long as I keep him on his high dose of flovent twice a day, he is fine.

I am surprised at his numbers too all considering, but I am not complaining one bit!

Here is a link to a cell phone pic of his lateral x-ray from this week:

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f158/ ... rx-ray.jpg
 
Sorry that his xray is showing issues in his lungs. Did the xray look like it was exposed properly? I ask because I had a scare with Beau a couple of years ago. He got a URI from one/both of the kittens I got (although they had no symptoms) and lost his voice, so I took him in and a chest xray was done. The (film) processing machine was just turned on, so not fully warmed up and the film showed shadows in his lungs that the vet (not his reg one) thought might be lung cancer. I was totally devastated. He was put on ABs and a second xray was done two weeks later by his reg vet and his lungs were clear. What I noticed was that the whole xray seemed clearer than that first one.

Well, anyway, paws crossed that Oscar's lungs are OK.

Oh, saw the attachment. It's a hard to see the lungs. Beau's 1st xray was darker than that, but when I shot it on a light box (I borrowed the xrays) and lightened it, it looked similar to Oscar's, even the lung area looked similar, but it looks like Oscar's bronchi show up better than Beau's did.
 
We'll find out when they are rechecked in a few weeks. It would be great if it was a fluke. Both views of the x-ray (top and side) showed the same consolidation in the same areas though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top