3/18 Newbie needing advice please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=90985 - this is the link to the first post I made

My name is Jamie and Jupiter was diagnosed with diabetes on Thursday 3/14. The vet prescribed 1 unit of Lantus 2 times a day. I just started home testing yesterday thanks to 2 wonderful people (Dian & Deb) that I met on this site.

I normally give Jupiter his 1 unit of insulin at about 7:00am

I am going to the dentist tomorrow (about an hour an 45 mins drive away) to get some teeth extracted and I will be under anesthesia so my boyfriend Dane must go with me. I will be leaving here around 6:45 am. I am not quite sure when I will be back (I figure 3 & a half hours drive round trip plus say 3-4 hours at dentist- so anywhere from 6 & a half hours to 7 & a half hours I will be gone for.)

I am really nervous about giving Jupiter his insulin and then immediately leaving and not being there for so long to check on him. I am not sure what to do. Should I still give him his dose of insulin even though I wont be there to check on him? Is it okay to skip the dose - or should I just give him less than normal?

I am really not sure what to do in this situation so if you could please give me your thoughts and advice on this I would really appreciate it. Thanks!!






** I have also found multiple piles of vomit around the house today (I am not sure which cat is vomiting as I have 3) (looks as if they are vomiting all of the wet food I gave them) I am worried about this. Maybe their bellies arent used to the wet food. Am I switching their diets too quickly? I left their dry food out but gave them wet food (and if they are the ones choosing they will pick the wet food first for sure as they think its a treat and get really excited for it)
 
Re: 3/18 Need advice on dose please!

looked at ss and Jupe had a nice +5. we do not know if just
went lower or not since the AMPS is back in the 300's so not enough insulin or too much??

Since we do not have a lot of data on how Jupe responds, I personally would give her 1/2 u just to be safe

throw up, yep, will happen if gut not used to all wet food. can slow down the transition,
maybe add to topic newbie needing advise/advice... never know which one to use and when I do, I forget
 
ya did good on edit. guess you just add to ore erase and change when you edit subject in condo. I forget sice I do not make condos anymore :) :roll:
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

You've had two pros to help you get situated! Dian and Deb are great.

I agree with what Dian posted. Switching everyone over to canned food can result in upset tummies -- either vomiting or diarrhea. There's a wonderful site written by a vet on feline nutrition. Dr. Pierson has good information on transitioning a cat over to canned food -- although her perspective is more on what to do if you have a dry food junkie who's being obstinate about making the switch.

As for tomorrow, a lot will depend on what the pre-shot number looks like. However, since you're dealing with traffic which can be unpredictable and anesthesia to say nothing about feeling lousy after a dental procedure, the safest course of action may be to skip the shot. There are times when this is both the safest and sanest alternative. If you think about it like you inadvertently gave a fur shot, it's easier to swallow.

(Dian: I'm not sure what you were linking but it's not a useable link.)

When you have time, you may want to start reading the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board.
 
It is possible I might be able to have someone come over to check on Jupiter tomorrow. There are only 2 people Jupiter is even semi comfortable with - this is one of them. They will be calling me back in a little bit to let me know, I can possibly teach them how to test Jupiter if Jupiter will let him do it. I am still uneasy about giving the full dose - as I am not sure what time he will be able to stop by to check on him - or if he will be able to tell something is wrong with jupiter
 
How nerve wracking for you! nailbite_smile I think skipping all together or administering a reduced dose would be the way to go. Having food available is important. If your friend could at least stop by to give Jupiter a snack or two, that would be helpful. I hope your procedure goes well - sounds like a doozy of a dental appt! Strength and healing vines headed your way. :YMHUG:
 
that would be a +2? can th4ey come back a few hours after that too by chance? if it is still scary, it is no big deal to skip the shot jamie
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
...the safest course of action may be to skip the shot. There are times when this is both the safest and sanest alternative. If you think about it like you inadvertently gave a fur shot, it's easier to swallow.

Welcome to Lantus Land!

Sienne says it just right. I used to be so crazy about getting every single shot right and so upset if I had to miss one and couldn't somehow make it happen. But every now and then I gave a fur shot and Leo was back on track in a cycle or two. Thinking about it as a fur shot takes the stress away from feeling guilty if you aren't in a good position to shoot and monitor. Heck, if it makes you feel better, write "fur shot" on your SS :-D

Good luck with your procedure tomorrow.

Lisa
 
Hi Jamie!

Welcome to you and Jupiter :-D

I also think it'd absolutely fine for you to skip the shot.m even if you have someone come over to test and feed, if he's lower, they might not know what to do. It's not worth you worrying about when you have something so I portent going on and when you might not feel well.

He will get back on track just as Lisa said.

Good luck with your dental!
 
What do you guys think about giving Jupiter a half dose? And just making sure I leave a little extra higher carb food out? Someone is definately going to come at 9am and check on him and do a BG test - they will call my boyfriend Dane and let him know the number. They are also going to give Jupiter more food then.
 
Hi Jamie and welcome to you and Jupiter,

I agree: skip tomorrow morning's shot. You will have peace of mind and missing a shot is not going to matter in the overall picture. Best of luck with your dental procedure. Don't worry. All will be OK.

Ella & Rusty
 
Unless Jupiter's numbers are rather low, there won't be a need for anyone to check on him. However, if you'll feel better to have someone stop by, then by all means have someone come by.
 
It's your call. If you skip the shot you don't have to worry about a hypo. But if someone can come to give him some food, I'm sure he would appreciate it.

Try not to worry. OK? If you are able after your dental procedure, test him when you get home just to see where he is. Then do the PM cycle just as you would normally.

Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top