3/18 Munchie AMPS 569

Status
Not open for further replies.

ewest

Member Since 2011
Hi All- Reduced her dose by half (from 2u to 1u). Not sure how long it will take for the "shed" to clear out from the 2u. However, I'm wondering if I will need to reduce more- especially if I keep getting black pre-shots (puts everything in perspective when you're hoping for a red as an improvement). In fact, I'm actually wondering if she really needs less than .5u since she's had reds on pretty much every dose she's been on (and she's never been on less than .5). I don't have as many numbers on her .5u in September to know what numbers she had along with the reds. But could rebound be indicated with all the reds too potentially? If I get another black pre-shot tonight, wondering if I should reduce more or give her more time on this reduction...
 
Welcome to the Lev board, Elizabeth & Munchie,
I hope she clears those 500s quickly. Are you still feeding her raw food? A certain brand or homemade?
I was just looking at your ss and noticed that she's had some panc flare ups with throwing up bile. Poor girl. Is she eating normally?

Marcy & Klinger
 
Hi Marcy,
Thanks for the welcome! Yes, Munchie has had pancreatitis flare-ups at various points, but almost always eats fine during them. She's currently getting Pepcid BID and that seems to control the bile throw-ups now. Her raw food is homemade by me (have consulted with various nutritionists throughout the years- including one last year after diabetes diagnosis) and her appetite is good overall which is nice. I leave frozen chubs down for her during day and evening and that seems to help with the pancreatitis alot as she needs more frequent smaller meals- and helps if she gets low and I'm not home so that she has food out.
 
As with Bølle, it may take at least 3 days before you see an improvement in BGs. Hang in there.

The raw diet may very well have reduced her insulin needs significantly, especially over time. Let's see what transpires on the 1U before making a decision about lowering dose further. Pamela's Tigger has been eating raw food for a long time and there were times he did well on a dose higher than you might expect.

Yes, reds can indicate rebound as well. In fact the closer one is to the right dose, but when the dose is still too high, we can see a very colorful spreadsheet and that is often an indication the dose is still too high. Of course, I am making that statement regarding Levemir. That may be true on Lantus as well, but I am not comfortable saying that definitively about Lantus.
 
It will take at least 2 full days to see any change*. And often the cycle after the reduction is high - probably because the body was expecting the higher dose.

Do you have a start date for lev yet?

*And more like 4-7 days to see major improvement - if that is going to happen.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top