3/18 Latte AMPS-402, PMPS~287 Bupe questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
Good Morning.

Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9420

Latte is not feeling up to par this a.m., which I mainly attribute to surfing the 400's for nearly an entire cycle. I do believe this is likely liver retaliation from the 250pt drop and being at 104 by +4 yesterday a.m. She has not had much kibble in the past 24hrs, compared to the last week. Though it definately contributes, I dont think its the main cause of this ugly red. Hopefully it clears s l o w l y giving us a decent number by the END of the cycle. We are rather tired of these big drops/bounces. One can hope, cant they? :roll:

I increased her dose to a sk2.0. It's really just 1 more (big) drop. But as we all know, that drop can do wonders. I will be home a good portion of the next 4 days to monitor and she how she does.

I plan on giving the bupe shortly...+3 or +4. I have butterflies in my tummy. Im so scared. I seriously STILL dont understand how I will know if its helping, if it may just make her sleepy or loopy. I guess its just something I will know when I see it.

Hope the sun is shining for everyone today.
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

So, I gave about .15ml via injection at 9:30 am. It is now 2pm and she has not slept. She has pretty much been sitting on her throne, eyes open wide - staring into space. She has been more alert (looking around) and got up for a bit in the last 30 min. That was mostly to drink - she is sitting in the 300 today. :YMSIGH:

How am I suppose to know if its helping? And, is this bug eye thing normal/okay (dilate pupils)? Not being able to sleep? Am I suppose to keep giving it every 8hrs until I see something magical happen? :lol: Sure didnt do much for her BG's if any of the elevation is due to pain.

Thoughts?
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

Oh Carolyn...don't have a CLUE as to what to say...I don't know nuttin' :roll: I'm sorry.
I just want to know why Shadow is in the pinks today too...what were they doing last night anyway?
I know there was no high carb food at the party...or drink....so why are they so high today?
I am hoping that Latte will feel better real soon....((Hugs)) to you both!
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
I just want to know why Shadow is in the pinks today too...what were they doing last night anyway?
:lol: Wonder if they fell in love?!?! :lol:

Bupe-spoke to the vet and he said its not normal to sit spaced out, pupils dilated. *sigh*. He said to give it another try, but give less...like .1-.05ml

Maybe if I leave the house she will fall asleep (with her eyes closed). I just feel so bad that she is not sleeping.
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

carolynandlatte said:
How am I suppose to know if its helping? And, is this bug eye thing normal/okay (dilate pupils)? Not being able to sleep? Am I suppose to keep giving it every 8hrs until I see something magical happen?
I don't recall Morris' eyes looking any different while he was on bupe. Did your vet tell you to give it every 8 hours? When Morris was on it, he got .2ml every 12 hours orally. With Morris, it did take 2 or 3 doses before I noticed him relaxing a bit more than he had been. Mind you, he was in pain due to a p~itis flare for a good week before we started the bupe (took me a couple days to realize something was wrong with him, then took several days for our vet clinic to get meds in).
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

Well gosh. The label says twice daily. He (vet) said the less I give the shorte the duration. So I clarified to wait 8hrs to next dose and he said, "at least". I wanted to make sure the clinic was open for the first few hrs of each dose, just in case. If I wait 12hrs then the clinic will be closed and we are going into an entire night w/o help if we need it.

I did not get the sense she was in danger. But the poor thing has not slept.

I cant decide what to do. I posted on health, but...everyone must be at work.

Hmmmmm
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

Gabby's eyes were pretty dilated on bupe. I tend to think she was pretty high and really didn't seem to give a damn about most things. Gabby never lets anyone except me pick her up. I had a house guest, who she knows well, visiting. Post-bupe shot, he picked her up and was carrying her around. She didn't even squeek. Once she was no longer taking the bupe, he picked her up again. There was one hiss then a blood curdling scream which got her back on the ground in record time. So, it had an effect. She was also lethargic but the bupe was after a dental, anesthesia, etc.

FYI: Some cats have a paradoxical reaction to narcotics -- they become more agitated.
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, Bupe questions

Hi Carolyn,
I have been trying to catch up a little bit after a week or so off the board. Bupe is dosed by weight of cat and by duration. The higher the dose, the longer the duration, not the stronger the analgesic effect. My vet will usually outline the 6 hour, 8 hour and 12 hour dosages for each of my cats, based on their weight. I found the 12 hour dosage to be overwhelming for Bear (he slept without waking for hours). I have also seen him do the dazed look you are describing on lower doses. He is quite sensitive, so I usually give .05 to .08 ml every 12 or so hours, to take the edge off when he has pain. You can probably get away with a similar low dose for Latte. I think that a lot of people who give this regularly have experimented to find the lowest effective dose.

Helpful info on pain meds:

http://www.vasg.org/chronic_pain_management.htm

A ceiling effect on analgesia exists with partial agonists, making them less useful for severe pain. Buprenorphine is interesting in that increasing the dose prolongs the duration of analgesia, while the degree of pain relief remains essentially unchanged. Doses of 30 ug/kg (0.030 mg/kg) will provide ~ 8-10 hours of analgesia, and 40 ug/kg (0.040 mg/kg) may produce as much as 12 hours of pain control. The onset of action is fairly slow (~ 30 minutes when given IV, 60 minutes IM, transmucosal or transdermal).
 
Re: 3/18 Latte AMPS-402, PMPS~287 Bupe questions

It's not likely I will give another dose tonight...of the bupe. She is skittish and running from me, as I was just walking around the apt doing stuff unrelated to her. I dont chase her down to give meds. They are always timed when I'm certain she will be sitting in a convenient location, or I wait. It's too stressful otherwise.

I raised her dose today and she is of course NOW not eating well. I'm afraid if she is all doped up she wont eat at all later on. Maybe try again tomorrow a.m.

She hung in high 200's- low 300's all day, with a short period of dropping between +9 and +11, with a low at +11 of 198. Straight back up for pmps.

Off to go buy some more turkey babyfood.......
 
hang in there, Carolyn, you'll get it figured out. You always do. :smile:

Lucy had one dose of bupe after her dental, and she was pretty wired (just walking around a lot, everywhere, mostly following me everywhere I went!). I don't remember the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top