3.18 Frankie AMPS 405 PMPS 285

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Active Member
What a difference a dose and a day makes

Hopefully the insulin got into him this evening. Anyone say fur shot, not sure though a few hours will tell





Blech!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AMPS post








viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9394
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

His numbers will get better. He's probably just high from the missed shot, yesterday.
Does he seem fine? Has he returned to eating normally?
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

thanks

I know that this was from his missed shot and also, I doesed him yesterday evening, after only feeding a 1/2 can. I put out another 1/2 before I went to sleep when I saw that he was 225. My thinking that insulin was kicking in and he only ate 1/2 can earlier in the evening.

Its still a BLECH!!!! Number

The new normal maybe for one or the other to throw up every morning. Put out a 1/2 can, dosed him and 5 minutes later up the food came.Given the ineffectivess (overall of this dose amt) given his high PS number this morning. I'm not that worried about him dropping like a rock. I will be putting out some more food as the both really need to start eating.

I have been told many times, to consider his Nadir. Tough to find it as I am not home all day and at night I can only get to +4 maybe +6 before I fall asleep.

Another day doing the Sugar Dance.

Sat, wont be much easier for me to find it as I have to get to see my acct and that will be about 4 or 5 hours meeting. Just about +6 or +7 after his AM dose.

When I increase his dose this weekend, I will run a curve the next day. Yesterday is an indicator of why I need to find a split dose as well. One for his low PS's and one for his High PS's. To all those reading this later. I am not around during mid cycle (as much as I would like to be) to find his nadir. Its going to be trial and error.

I gotta run and get ready to get to work

Thanks

Dyana said:
His numbers will get better. He's probably just high from the missed shot, yesterday.
Does he seem fine? Has he returned to eating normally?
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

Jay said:
thanks

I know that this was from his missed shot and also, I doesed him yesterday evening, after only feeding a 1/2 can. I put out another 1/2 before I went to sleep when I saw that he was 225. My thinking that insulin was kicking in and he only ate 1/2 can earlier in the evening.

Its still a BLECH!!!! Number

The new normal maybe for one or the other to throw up every morning. Put out a 1/2 can, dosed him and 5 minutes later up the food came.Given the ineffectivess (overall of this dose amt) given his high PS number this morning. I'm not that worried about him dropping like a rock. I will be putting out some more food as the both really need to start eating.

I have been told many times, to consider his Nadir. Tough to find it as I am not home all day and at night I can only get to +4 maybe +6 before I fall asleep.

Another day doing the Sugar Dance.

Sat, wont be much easier for me to find it as I have to get to see my acct and that will be about 4 or 5 hours meeting. Just about +6 or +7 after his AM dose.

When I increase his dose this weekend, I will run a curve the next day. Yesterday is an indicator of why I need to find a split dose as well. One for his low PS's and one for his High PS's. To all those reading this later. I am not around during mid cycle (as much as I would like to be) to find his nadir. Its going to be trial and error.

I gotta run and get ready to get to work

Thanks

Dyana said:
His numbers will get better. He's probably just high from the missed shot, yesterday.
Does he seem fine? Has he returned to eating normally?
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

This is what I do. And, I may not do it right, but I try. I set an alarm for a +6 after PMPS and get a test. Because that interupts my needed? ha! 8 hours of sleep, I just go to bed earlier than everyone else on the planet :? That way, at least I get (or try to get, sometimes I sleep through my alarm :roll: ) 5 nadirs during the week, and can get 4 nadirs during the weekends, or at least a good curve data on the weekends. It's the best I can do to see what J.D. possibly does during the week while I'm at work. Sometimes, I freak out when he is low in the morning and have to go to work, and decide on how much to shoot. But, I try to shoot the same dose every shot whenever I possibly feel comfortable doing so. As you know, Lantus needs consistancy to work with the shed. I shot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose yesterday because J.D.'s numbers were dropping and the PS was a lot lower than "normal" for J.D. and I paid for it at PMPS.
Hope you are able to get a good curve in this weekend, so you can feel more comfortable next work week. It has been a slow process for me, to get more and more comfortable shooting the lower numbers.
Have a good day, Jay.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

I'm not sure whether its you or me who goes to sleep befroe everyone else.

I woke up late today, becasue I made sure that I could get at least one spot check in last nite.

I understand the rigors of the protocol, its tough to work within them given the time constraints, the variable PS's, the imprecise dosing amt, (how accurate are we really in measuring 2.25 units, even in a syringe with 1/2 unit markings) and the fact that we are dealing with a living breathing creature, namely our cats.

Thanks, protocol or not, I will get him where he needs to be.

By the way, all insulin protocols need consistency, which is the definition of "protocol".

However I also believe as Albert Einstein once said, that the definition of insanity is "doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results"

Like feeding FF and hoping either one doesnt throw up on my comforter. Double Blech.

Cats Rule
Dyana said:
This is what I do. And, I may not do it right, but I try. I set an alarm for a +6 after PMPS and get a test. Because that interupts my needed? ha! 8 hours of sleep, I just go to bed earlier than everyone else on the planet :? That way, at least I get (or try to get, sometimes I sleep through my alarm :roll: ) 5 nadirs during the week, and can get 4 nadirs during the weekends, or at least a good curve data on the weekends. It's the best I can do to see what J.D. possibly does during the week while I'm at work. Sometimes, I freak out when he is low in the morning and have to go to work, and decide on how much to shoot. But, I try to shoot the same dose every shot whenever I possibly feel comfortable doing so. As you know, Lantus needs consistancy to work with the shed. I shot a BCS (big chicken sh*t) dose yesterday because J.D.'s numbers were dropping and the PS was a lot lower than "normal" for J.D. and I paid for it at PMPS.
Hope you are able to get a good curve in this weekend, so you can feel more comfortable next work week. It has been a slow process for me, to get more and more comfortable shooting the lower numbers.
Have a good day, Jay.
 
Jay when you post your PMPS don't change the first post of the day.....add it on to the bottom of the thread. When you change you first post the rest does not make sense and it does not bump your thread up.
Much better number than this morning.
 
Hi

I was under the impression that I could only post 1x per day.

When I copy an earlier thread to a new post, doesnt that make posts for the day?

Jay
Miriam and Putty said:
Jay when you post your PMPS don't change the first post of the day.....add it on to the bottom of the thread. When you change you first post the rest does not make sense and it does not bump your thread up.
Much better number than this morning.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

Jay said:
When I increase his dose this weekend, I will run a curve the next day. Yesterday is an indicator of why I need to find a split dose as well. One for his low PS's and one for his High PS's. To all those reading this later. I am not around during mid cycle (as much as I would like to be) to find his nadir. Its going to be trial and error.
[/quote]

I see some PZI thinking going on in this condo... here's a swiffer for your to clean it out.
You cannot base your dose on preshot.... You take it into consideration - specially if you have to leave - but you shouldn't have the dose for when he's high and a dose for when he's low. You don't get the same delta every time. I know that you are likely reading this shaking your head... that's ok... I've done it too. Trust me... hit "format c" and start from scratch.

I work full time too and wasn't home for nadir time neither... and Dyana and JD have a crazy schedule too...

Nice PMPS!
 
Jay you only have one thread per day but you can post as many times in that thread as you want......every day you start a new thread with the link to the day befores thread which I think you already do.
 
Re: Frankie AMPS 405

Helene & Tizon said:
Jay said:
When I increase his dose this weekend, I will run a curve the next day. Yesterday is an indicator of why I need to find a split dose as well. One for his low PS's and one for his High PS's. To all those reading this later. I am not around during mid cycle (as much as I would like to be) to find his nadir. Its going to be trial and error.

I see some PZI thinking going on in this condo... here's a swiffer for your to clean it out.
You cannot base your dose on preshot.... You take it into consideration - specially if you have to leave - but you shouldn't have the dose for when he's high and a dose for when he's low.

I sometimes cant shoot 12/12 given my commute, traffic and how busy I can get at work. I was referring to a split dose of 11/13 or 10/14

You don't get the same delta every time. I know that you are likely reading this shaking your head... that's ok... I've done it too. Trust me... hit "format c" and start from scratch.

I work full time too and wasn't home for nadir time neither... and Dyana and JD have a crazy schedule too...

How do you find a nadir then to base a dose on (one curve or several which will give you a trend) if your schedule is nutty too?

Nice PMPS![/quote]

IThanks, but I cant take credit for it, its his meter and my watch that gave me the quote
 
So if I was correct and its one post per day, how then, without a cluttered original posting or deleting the am post, can you add some thoughts to the PM side of the day?


Miriam and Putty said:
Jay you only have one thread per day but you can post as many times in that thread as you want......every day you start a new thread with the link to the day befores thread which I think you already do.
 
Some people just edit the subject line to include the PMPS but add the comments onto the thread just like you do when you reply to somebody's post...that way it will bump up your thread. If you just edit your first post of the day it does not bump you up and if you have a question or comment it may get lost on the bottom of the page.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top