3/18 Elie Skipped AM & PM, 10pm 88!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip?

It looks like you fed already? If you are indeed skipping that's fine, but if we want to stall to see if the number is rising, we don't feed. If you feed while stalling you are just seeing a food spike on the next test.

Have you read the Shooting Low Numbers Sticky? Eventually you will need to start shooting normal numbers. A weekend is often a good time to try as you can be there to test. frequently.
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip?

it's been 35 minutes since you posted - did you already decide to do that or do you need help figuring out what to do next?
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip?

We did feed him. He ate a little less than 1/8 of a can (he doesn't like the Turkey and Giblets...too dry).

Lets see if Elie can hang out in normal numbers today, so we won't regret skipping nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip?

Good morning Julie!

We are skipping this morning, but will see what happens tonight. My hubby and I have agreed upon a no shoot number, and this is below that number.

Thanks for checking in. Hope you an punkin have a good day :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip?

he's probably not ready to go off insulin yet - if you can stand to have your schedule off, i'd try to go ahead and shoot. when you skipped before, he was back up in the mid-200's the next day.

if you shoot, however, you have to test and be ready with high carbs in case he goes below 50.

the dosing strategy from the protocol would have you drop from .5u to .25u to 0.1u before going off. what we know is that keeping the pancreas supported with insulin as long as possible will increase the chances that going off of insulin is permanent. no guarantees, but it increases the odds.

if you are too nervous shooting .5u, you could drop it to .25u and see how he does.
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip

just saw your post. i understand - just so you know, however, your no-shoot number will need to decrease as you get comfortable to work him off of insulin. people shoot down into the 50's to accomplish this.

but you have to do what you are comfortable with. you'll get another chance and it gets easier when you've had time to think about it!

have a great day!!
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip

That is true Julie.

I think we are just too new to be comfy shooting 50's without really knowing how he's going to react. I think we need more data first. Today is a good chance to see how he handles it :smile:

We totally messed with his nap schedule yesterday, so will try to let him get back to regular today. Be good now Elie cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip

:YMHUG:

you're doing great. we like to say "it's a marathon, not a sprint" about this Sugar Dance we're doing. there's usually another chance to do it all again! :lol:
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip

The nail biting times are hard. What I would suggest is working your way down to shooting low. You've shot as low as a 113. Next time if you can shoot in the 90s, that would be great. Like Ann and Julie were observing, it's easier if it's a weekend when you have more flexibility with testing. Once you get over the pure panic, many of use will routinely shoot in the 50s.

I'd still grab some tests this cycle. It's helpful to know when numbers start to go up so you have a feel for duration.
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86

+14 - 86
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

He's hung out in this range since +4...hmm...
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81

Recap:

+2 - 115
+4 - 70
+5 - 74
+6 - 76
+12 = 85 - skip
+14 - 86
+16 - 81 Poop!

:mrgreen: nailbite_smile :mrgreen:

Can we keep this up?!?
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81

Elie is doing just fine. No worries about skipping the shot - you know I did last night. You've always got options and the support here you need whatever decision you make. You will be encouraged to shoot low when it's safe to do so, and when you're ready you'll find you can do it. You're doing great, and it's not an easy protocol to follow.

Thanks for checking in last night on Mookie and me. Even though I didn't acknowledge your visit at the time, I knew you were there. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81 +18 86

Recap:

+2 - 115
+4 - 70
+5 - 74
+6 - 76
+12 = 85 - skip
+14 - 86
+16 - 81 Poop!
+18 - 86 :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Good Boy Elie!

@ Randa & Mookie - Thank you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81 +18 86 +22 61

Recap:

+2 - 115
+4 - 70
+5 - 74
+6 - 76
+12 = 85 - skip
+14 - 86
+16 - 81 Poop!
+18 - 86
+22 - 61

Looks like we are going to be skipping again...Is my meter broken? :shock:
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81 +18 86 +22 61

I know :shock: :shock: :shock:

We are confused. I did feed him almost 1/8 can at +22 (he was hungry and 61), so we will likely see a bit of a rise?
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81 +18 86 +22 61

I don't think I've visited you guys before. I agree with Sienne...."WOW"!!! Very impressive!
 
Re: 3/18 Elie +12 85 - Skip +14 86, +16 81 +18 86 +22 61

@Sienne and Gabby - THANKS!

@Amy & TrixieCat - Good to meet you...Thank you :)

Elie is sitting by the window posing like one of those egyptian sphynxs' dancing_cat So proud of himself lol
 
Re: 3/18 Elie AM 85 - Skip Greens +22 61 PM 95 Skip

Recap:

+2 - 115
+4 - 70
+5 - 74
+6 - 76
+12 = 85 - skip
+14 - 86
+16 - 81 Poop!
+18 - 86
+22 - 61 - Fed 2 tbsp
+23 - Fed 1 tbsp
+24 - 95 Skip

I hope we are doing the right thing...I guess we will know more tomorrow. He is doing great and enjoying the greens today :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I suppose I should call it AM BG and PMBG tomorrow?
 
Re: 3/18 Elie AM 85 - Skip Greens +22 61 PM 95 Skip

hmmmmm, you know we have another saying here "ECID" - every cat is different.

i'll join in the big WOW. way to go Elie!

yes, if you don't shoot, the "preshot" number is AMBG or PMBG - you can also count hours from last shot - +12, +24, etc.
 
Re: 3/18 Elie AM 85 - Skip Greens +22 61 PM 95 Skip

Elie liked St. Paddy's Day so much that he's carrying on with the greens. :-D Go Elie!
Liz
 
:mrgreen:

seriously? 88 at more than 24 hrs of no insulin? :mrgreen:

but, but, but, we didn't tell Elie he could start an OTJ trial yet. didn't he get the memo that one of us would get to tell him?

keep on checking him.
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: @Julie

We will definitely keep checking him :smile:

we r sooo proud of him...what a tropper!

Tanya
 
Yes, +26 :mrgreen:

We were doing 8 am and 8pm. Pretty cool day!
Will come on in the am to post where we r at. Bed time for this lady!

Thanks Julie, have a good night!

Tanya
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top