3/18 Chino|AMPS=393|Cycle=Red|PMPS=397|+2=338|+4=333

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

3rd cycle on 9 units. (4th cycle since the last yellow, AM 443 to 249 at +4.) After one of the worst PM cycles I've seen with him, I held off on the R this morning for several reasons:

  • to evaluate the effect of Lantus on its own
  • to see if it looks like he's coming down from a bounce after a few cycles without R
  • to see if the Lantus is reaching its peak earlier now

I used to evaluate the effect of Lantus on the PM cycle, since most of his AM cycles were solid pink/red. When I first started giving him R, he was showing yellows and blues on the PM cycle with just Lantus alone. Since we started seeing yellow regularly during the day, his PM cycles have been terrible, which makes me think he might be bouncing. If that's the case, I'll have to either decrease the amount of R that I'm giving in the morning, or start giving a dose at night as well.

Today and tomorrow, I'm going to test at +4, +6, and +8 to see when the Lantus is peaking.
 
Last edited:
A while ago, @Wendy&Neko recommended this Slow Feed Dog Bowl (more like a plate, really). I had it in my Amazon cart for a while and finally purchased it. Chino gets 1.5 to 2 times the amount that Fox gets at each meal, and he still finishes first every time, then tries to eat the fuzzball's food if I'm not watching. So I supervise every meal. When I used this last night for his 2 PM meals, Fox actually finished first (by less than a minute). Chino's food was mostly shreds of chicken. This morning, with a pate, it took him a little longer and he finished more than a minute after Fox. It's also much easier to wash than I was expecting!

I love this site and the people on it. Without it, I probably wouldn't know anything about this bowl, slippery elm bark, or using R to give him some less dangerous levels during the day while we're still trying to find an effective dose of Lantus. If I'd had to research the causes of insulin resistance on my own, I don't think I would've gotten him tested for acromegaly or antibodies nearly as early as I did, having learned about these high-dose conditions here.
 
I like the idea of taking a break from R sometimes... remember it's optional. Sounds like Chino is feeling good and glad he likes the new bowl. This site and the people are a life saver.
 
So far, he's headed in the wrong direction...

AMPS = 393 (first meal)
[9 units L, no R]
+4 = 404 (second meal)
+6 = 438

I hope the +8 is lower... if it's even higher, than it had better be followed by a PM cycle that shows him coming down from a bounce. Or else. Hear that, Chino?
 
Looks like double-digit dosage soon for Chino. Once I hit 10u, increases were 1u instead of .5u and started increasing every 4-5 cycles. But Chino has seen blues and even some greens at times. Bronx didn't see his first blue until we hit 23u.
 
Well, I got my answer to the question "Is his Lantus nadir falling at +6 or +8?" The answer is Yes. His BG was 438 at +6 and at +8. :facepalm:
 
Have you peaked at some of the prior acro kitties ss's? I'm on my phone so can't link a few that I think would be appropriate but will soon. Is he still doing good with the HyperT meds?
 
He's actually gone the whole cycle so far with no nadir. At least it didn't get any higher from +6 to +8.

Have you peaked at some of the prior acro kitties ss's? I'm on my phone so can't link a few that I think would be appropriate but will soon.

Yes. I look at Neko's and Bronx's frequently.

Is he still doing good with the HyperT meds?

The last T4 came back 1.5 and he still hasn't figured out that there are pills in the pill pockets :D
 
I am glad that the new dinner plate worked! Not sure it was me who recommended it - I should have gotten something like that as Neko could down her raw meal in under 30 seconds. I was always amused by people who say they give the shot while kitties bowl was in the food. On raw, her food was gone by the time I walked back for the syringe.

Other SS you might want to check out are punkin, Crystal (but check out the early days) , Lily, Cobb, Hyde, Tommy, and Pepper. Cobb, Hyde, Pepper and possibly Crystal had IAA as well.
 
Thank you! I'm afraid to check his BG again... it's almost time for the PMPS. He's hungry and whining. I just watched him pick up a little clump of Fox's fur from the couch and eat it :facepalm:. Hoping to see a better PM cycle.
 
I don't want to speak to soon, but it looks like a bounce might be breaking :)

AMPS = 393 (1st meal)
[9 units L, no R]
+4 = 404 (2nd meal)
+6 = 438
+8 = 438
PMPS = 397
+2 = 338
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top