3/18-3/19 Henry and question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela&Henry

Member Since 2010
3/18
AMPS 378 1.25U
+4 289
+6 288
PMPS 281 1.25 U

3/19
AMPS 416 1.25U
I use the One Touch ultra mini meter. This is what we started with and compared with vet's meter. I have tested it with control solution regularly.
I received a donated new Breeze2 meter and strips from DCIN and decided to try it this morning as the strips for One Touch are expensive although cheaper through Hocks and money is short.
I used same drop of blood for both. The results with One Touch were 416 and Breeze2 501!
I do not have control solution to test Breeze2 with. Does anyone know whether the Breeze2 runs higher than other meters? This was a huge difference! I think I did the test right with Breeze2, it is a little diffferent than what I'm used to...you hold the strip in place until it beeps before moving it away, I may have moved it 1 sec before it beeped but did not get error so I think it worked.
Now I am worried...how could there be that much difference.
I guess I will go by what One Touch says since I know it was comparable to what vet's meter got when he was first diagnosed.
 
Yes, I would stay with the One Touch since it matched the vets. You can go crazy comparing two meters. Although the numbers seem so different, they are within a 20% variance. (Which you only compare with 2 readings on the same meter, but it seems logical to consider the variance with 2 different meters also) And don't discount the possibility of a bad reading with the Breeze as the collection is a little difference.

With your numbers, I wonder if it is time for a little increase? You have stayed with 1.25 for a while and are still getting those high ps numbers and maybe higher yellows fairly often? Maybe 1.35 or 1.25F? Just be sure to increase when you will be around to observe and test. What do you think?
 
Yes I can raise him a little probably will wait until tomorrow or Monday.
Monday I will be gone for +4 but DH can test.
I was glad he was a little lower again in AM yesterday.
He seems to feel well; eating good, no increase in peeing or drinking. He may be getting a little constipated..gave him a dab of canola oil on his food this morning.
I feel like that 501 can't be right on the Breeze2, just gut feeling.
 
That sounds like a good plan. You certainly don't need to be chasing lower numbers. He is in a decent range during the cycle. I just wish he would drop lower at ps.

Constipation is definitely a contributor to higher bg levels.
 
Just curious, I always read your post and was wondering what DH stands for? After you tell me, I will tell you what I thought it was! (HA)
 
DH stands for Dear Husband :-D

In looking at Henry's spreadsheet it looks like some nights you don't give a shot and some nights you do - is that right? You are getting such a wide range of numbers here and consistently shooting up to 400s in the am. Are your feeding schedules the same both am and pm? Since the shots in the morning give a drop of like 300 points :o ...... I am wondering if he is not going a little lower at night even though you are reducing the shot sometimes in the pm. I know those nadir numbers look awful nice, but a drop of 300 points during the am cycle would be enough alone to trigger the liver to dump glycogen stores.

I personally advocate cutting back the dose in an effort to even out the am and pm cycles. Maybe try going down to 0.5u or 0.75u BID for a few days and see where that takes you. Does your Henry have a history of ketones?

In regards to the meters - with numbers up in the 400+ range, you will see a wide variance with any meter since 20% of 400 is WAY bigger than 20% of 100.
 
Thanks for coming over and lending a hand, Kelly. We can use your experience on PZI. And BTW, I have heard DH can also stand for $#%# husband, if the circumstances are right. :mrgreen:

So Angela, you have two approaches - either of which might work. You can increase a little or go back down to a smaller dose for a while. Either way may work - no way to know until you try. The one time you got a night reading it was in the 170 territory and was about the same you were getting at that time in the daytime. I know you do feed at night so we have eliminated that possibility. Can your DH get a reading when he is up at 4am or could you get some more night time readings? That might help us know exactly which way to go. If he is bouncing from low night numbers, we reduce. If he is not all that low at night, we might increase.

What do you think? Angela/ Kelly?
 
Well it looks like every few days you get a drop of 300 pts + and then go back to a drop of 150-200pts. Rinse and repeat. I know Lori used to say you don't want a drop of more than 40% otherwise you run the risk of triggering the liver to dump glycogen. Your average preshot is 450 give or take, so a 40% drop would only be a drop of 180 points. If the liver gets triggered, then you have artificially higher numbers, so you up the dose, which takes you lower, which makes the liver get triggered....you see where I am going? All you can do is try one way to see if it works and then try another. :-D
 
Yes, thats right when he drops quickly in blues one day then usually the next day or two the +4 and +6 numbers are higher.
However, he always was in the 500's in the morning even while still doing SID dosing since he was diagnosed at the end of October. He has started in 400's in the AM for the last 2 months or so even while still on SID dosing instead of 500's and in the last few weeks he has been more in the lower 400's AM and hes had some 300's AM for the first time since he was diagnosed.
When I started trying the BID dosing again with Sue's advice I split his 4U SID dose to 2U BID, then lowered to 1.50 BID and still was getting some unshootable numbers PM so further reduced to 1.25 BID and have been able to give his shot most nights.
I will try to either get some more mid cycle night numbers or have DH get some. I gave him a fat 1.25 this morning, he was 450, just took +4 117! confused_cat So here we go again. Will open new thread for rest of today and update spreadsheet.
Thanks for the input everyone.!
BTW, DH in Henry's case is DEAR husband who is as dedicated to Henry's care as I am, not $#*# husband :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top