3/17 Zener PMPS 311;+2.5 204;+4 146;+6 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

BLECH!!! I didn't expect this number, but it is what it is. :-x Appy was so-so at pre-shot. I gave him a little tummy massage. Then when he heard Tillie getting her breffis, he was hungry again. :-D I just gave him Clindamyacin shot #7. 5 more to go. He hasn't pooped yet so paws crossed for that today. All in all, he's doing very well after his dental on Friday.

Question: do the ABs raise BGs? Should we think about raising his dose a bit? He gets the Clindamyacin shot BID through Tuesday evening.

I am so happy that Squeaky's Leo is home and feeling better!!! :-D :-D :-D More healing vines for him and other ailing kitties and beans. Noni is having surgery tomorrow, so sending special surgery vines to her and calming vines to Aseel. Happy St. Patrick's Day, LL! It is our national holiday. :mrgreen:
Liz
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411

Morning and sorry about the BLECH number! Zener, come on down! We are keeping tabs on Zener's poo patrol. Sending lots of poo vines and tummy vines, too. Mags was just on an antibiotic (Orbax) for six weeks, and it didn't raise her bg's. It might be the each antibiotic and how kitty reacts, not sure. It will be interesting to see what others say. So happy Zener came thru the dental so well. as I know what a worry it can be with all it entails.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304

Morning Liz and Anne! I hope Zener clears this bounce soon and sending poo vines. I just did a google search for Clindamyacin and blood sugar and couldn't find much of anything conclusive. I came across this site Clindamycin Hcl and Blood Glucose Increased which indicates that it is more likely to raise BG in older people, if I am reading the chart correcly. Perhaps it is affecting Zener since he is an older cat? Hope you get some more responses!

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304

We have poo! :RAHCAT It's a bit soft, but formed. Woo hoo for poo!

@Ann & Maggie - Zener is on the way down, barely pink at +2.5. We'll get a mid-cycle test and see what's up, a little pokey break while numbers are still BLECH. Was Maggie's Orbax an injection? That is how we are giving the Clindamycin, since he had such trouble with ABs and his GI system the last dental.

@Courtney & Kismet - thank you for sending the url for Clindamycin. Zener is indeed a "gentleman cat". He is 13 years young. We're not sure if the AB is affecting him or if it is just the aftereffects of the procedure and/or a bouncing off the blues last night, on an increase in his eating, or he's a cat. :roll:
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304

I hope Zener continues to slide down today. I don't know about ABs causing BG to go up. I didn't notice anything when Furball had her dental. I gave her the liquid Antirobe Aquadrops for a week before and a week after.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304

Yay for poo! And it looks like Z is coming down a little.
I don't know about that AB. (Ripley's last AB had sugary syrup in it, so it definitely raised her BGs :roll: .)

Sending feel-better vines to Zener!
Have a great day, you guys.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304;+5.5 271

Hi Liz
First I answered, then reread your post. DUH! Hate when I have to delete a whole thought.
I thought Zener was getting liquid. Check's has had liquid AB that tasted like bubblegum. :smile:

Zener's coming down nice and slow today....I hope he continues the slide. :smile:

I agree....yay for poo. dancing_cat
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304;+5.5 271

Zener doing the rainbow slide today? Maybe some action later when Mr. Shed gets filled. Funny condo about poo, sounds like cats and beans alike are doing the happy crap dash. :lol: Good luck with the antibiotic, it sounds like Every Antiobiotic is Different.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener AMPS 411;+2.5 304;+5.5 271

Nice slide, Zener!
Hi guys,

Even though the antibiotic is given by injection, it would still be good to give the Z Man some yogurt with active cultures or a probiotic. A powerful antibiotic like clyndamycin will almost certainly attack all bacteria, including the helpful bacteria in the digestive tract. Hooray for the poop! Keep on poopin' Zener!!

Happy St. Pat's day,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. to Liz: I envy you your bike ride!!
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311

Yay for Poo! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT We were checking on Zener! Soft and formed is very good, says Mags! :-D
Anne, the Orbax was a liquid and very easy to medicate via syringe. Mags didn't mind the taste.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311

Hooray for Poo!!! It sounds like Z is basically doing well, post-dental...glad to hear that. Have a great night, guys!
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311

Hi Anne and Liz - A nice report for Zener. it sounds like he is doing well after his dental. Hooray for Poo too! When Mannie was on AB's I gave him greek yogurt too. it did settle his stomach, letting the good bacteria grow, and really did help with the poo dept too.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311

Starting off PMPS with stinky pinky (but barely), happy appy, yard patrol and another poo - much better formed this time, and almost Zener normal. :razz:

@carla - we thought it might be a Zener slide in the making but not to be. :evil:

@Josie & Ripley - we love to celebrate poo in LL! :lol: Well drat on the sugary syrup in Ripley's last ABs.

@Barb & Checkers - no liquid for Zener this time, we asked for the injections as he had such a hard time with the liquid before. Paws crossed, but so far so good. We have 5 more doses. Wow, who knew the kitters like bubblegum flavor! :lol:

@Wendy & Neko - :lol: :lol: :lol: every AB is different. :lol: :lol: :lol: Paws crossed Mr Shed is about full!

@Ella & Rusty - we have some Greek yogurt (Tillie loves yogurt). Zener has not been a fan in the past, but we will give it a go again. We are adding fortiflora to his fuds. :smile: Hard to believe we had 15" of snow last weekend and Liz was riding her bike today.

@Ann & Maggie - ah, thanks for clarifying the Orbax. I think I read you were using a syringe in Maggie's condo and thought it was an injection.
Hey Mags - I's got the poo going on. Beans are happy and I feel so good, I's feel like dancing. - Zener dancing_cat

@Amy & TrixieCat - double hip hip hooray for poo today! :twisted:

@Michelle & Mannie - we will give the Greek yogurt a go here shortly and see if the mighty Z will give it a lick. :cool:

Despite the stinky pinky, Zener is feeling pretty good tonight. We moved the shot forward 30 minutes at PMPS and are now back on our regular shot time schedule.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311

Looks like Zener is working his way down....A good sign of his progress since his dental....
Hope for more continued improvements....

Happy St. Catrick's day!
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311

Z-Man! Dey iz tellin' on ur privat habitz...Poo Patrol saw u.... :-D Dat's OK, we LIKZ gud poop! We du poop dances tu!!!

Anne/Liz - thank you for your thoughts and vines for Leo, he's SO much better and SO glad to be home!

BIG HUGE HUGS to ALL of you! Headbutts Miss Tillie...
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311;+2.5 204

Well well, barely yellow at +2.5.

Can there be such a thing as too much poo? ohmygod_smile Zener just had his third small poo of the day, this one was part pudding and part formed poo. He got his 8th clindamycin injection tonight and should get 4 more but we are wondering if this could be giving him too much of a good poo thing? Any thoughts are welcome.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311;+2.5 204

As long as the A/B does not have sugar or syrup, it shouldn't raise the BG. I would give him a little more time on this dose so he can refill his depot.

What time you coming over Liz? :-D :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311;+2.5 204;+4 146

Woo hoo - he's blue! :razz:

@Marje - thanks for the info on the A/B and BG. Liz is asleep now, so I'm sure she will contact you tomorrow about her visit time! ;-) Zener is getting the clindamycin by injection. We have 4 more injections (BID) and tonight he started having some pudding poo. We are giving him fortiflora, gave it a go with some yogurt, but he thought we were trying to poison him (Tillie thought it was delicious with a fortiflora frosting). :roll:

Any suggestions on other ways to give probiotics and what kind? I'll call the vet tomorrow morning and see if it is possible to stop the ABs. He's been on them for 4 days now, so maybe we can stop them a little early.
 
Re: 3/17 Zener PMPS 311;+2.5 204;+4 146

Nice to see the blues, not so much the runny poos. I give Neko PetDophilus. It's available at Whole Foods, maybe elsewhere, online at iHerb. I've seen Marje recommend Renew Ultimate.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top