3/17 Star AMPS=383...+6=289 +10=526 PMPS=515 +4=399

Status
Not open for further replies.

quilterkitty

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Moved dose back up to 1.75. Lost at least some of this morning's dose to a FS. Aargh! So frustrating. Star doesn't have much loose skin, and he's squirmy. I just have to do better with this. Really need some consistency before we leave town in less than two weeks. I'm planning to hire a vet tech who pet sits, but I'm nervous about it. Having someone drop by two or three times a day isn't like having someone here all the time. Might be better to board Star with the vet, even though he will hate it and seriously stress about it. Could be a setback for him, not that his numbers have come down significantly since diagnosis, at least not consistently. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383

Squirmy - what a good image. Leo gets a little squirmy during testing sometimes but has been good during shot time but he's generally distracted by eating.

It sure is frustrating looking for consistency so try not to get discouraged. I hope the vet tech works out. I couldn't find one in my area who I could trust, and Leo has been such a bouncy kitty that 3 times a day was concerning. But every cat is different. Good luck with your decision!
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383

Boarding can be worrisome too. Most vets close up shop for the day... give them a shot as they leave and there is no one there at all during the pm cycle so Star really won't be monitored there any better. Plus many of our kitties don't eat very well when boarded and are more stressed being in a cage. You said Star would be stressed.
Do you have any really good friends who would be willing to "house sit/cat sit" ? Or a college student/older high school person you could hire.
(a responsible one, of course) Or some kind of combination.... vet tech to do the shots and someone else to hang out in your home with Star.
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383

Yeah, boarding would be the last resort. I'll figure something out. Wish Star had been diagnosed before we committed to this trip. We would not have agreed to go.
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383

I understand your challenge. We are in the same boat. We go on scuba dive vacations with a club and we book them 3 years in advance to get really good deals with dive operations. Well, of course we'd been paying on a trip for over a year when Leo was diagnosed last August. Our trip is in November for nearly 3 weeks. One reason I've tried so hard with this protocol, not sleeping, dragging Leo back and forth from home to my commuting apartment, is to get him off the juice. I don't know what we are doing to do. My mom may fly out from CA but there are family issues that make that a challenge. A place that boards around here charges $18 per BG test to perform, and I can't get commitments from vet techs .... I think they are worried about liability if something goes wrong. My long-time cat sitter won't test or measure doses (she's afraid she'll do something wrong). We are still looking for solutions. If you think of a good idea, please let us know too. We've turned down vacation plans with friends now and don't know when we can every travel again. I hope that Star has a quick turnaround and gets OTJ quickly like some cats do.
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383

Oh, Lisa, that's really going to be tough. Three weeks. Wow. One thought I had: on this message board there's a "GeoHelpList, a spreadsheet with names of FDMB members who have agreed to help people in their area (viewtopic.php?f=28&t=54756). It looks like it hasn't been updated since 2011, but maybe Rebecca, the webmaster, would give a shout-out to people to see if anyone wants to be added to the doc. I'll ask her. Then if there's someone in your area on the list, you could PM them and ask if they'd be willing to care for Leo while you're gone. For now, that's all I've got. :smile:
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383 +2=374 +6=289 +10=526

Been testing Star more often today because he seems a little lethargic, especially late in the afternoon (of course, after I said he was so easy going it was hard to tell when he didn't feel up to snuff. Put myself on the cover of Sports Illustrated . . .). Looking forward to giving him his evening dose, and I HAVE to get this one in the right place. No margin for error this time. Sheesh. :oops: Beginning to wonder where this subcutaneous Lantus storehouse is and why Star doesn't seem able to tap into it. :?
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383 +2=374 +6=289 +10=526

They can feel lethargic when the numbers go high...

Sometimes it helps to take an old syringe and practice on an orange or something like that ... make yourself feel a little more confident with the syringe...
it's not like it's really something that becomes second nature and I'd always get nervous as I stood there...
knowing she might move... or i'd hit something painful... so getting more comfortable with your own technique can help....
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383 +2=374 +6=289 +10=526 PMPS=515

Usually I shoot him while he's eating, and as long as he doesn't move suddenly we're okay. But sometimes he gets antsy. Tonight I had to chase him around the kitchen, but I got him. ;-) And he's perked up a little since his PM shot. Even brought me his toy squirrel in exchange for a treat, a little trick he taught me years ago. Never gets old. :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383 +2=374 +6=289 +10=526 PMPS=515

quilterkitty said:
Tonight I had to chase him around the kitchen, but I got him. :-D

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Sometimes Leo gets lethargic too with the high numbers, but not always. Sometimes he's just being a Really Lazy Cat.
 
Re: 3/17 Star AMPS=383 +2=374 +6=289 +10=526 PMPS=515

Star is definitely a lazybones. That's one of the reasons he's in this diabetes mess to begin with. Silly boy. :roll:
 
Down a bit before bedtime. Sure didn't like the return of those 500's. This is definitely one place where it doesn't pay to be "in the black." :mrgreen: Hoping for a better range tomorrow.
 
FWIW, I use a vet tech to look in on Gabby if I'm traveling. She comes by twice a day. I also lower Gabby's dose so there's a safety margin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top