3/17 - Scooter - AMPS 148, +4 85

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Well... not much to report lately. This is the first green in 2 weeks. I'm struggling to accept the fact that we've been doing this for almost 3 months now and his numbers are still the same. I think he was left untreated for too long by his previous owners... I'm gonna let go of my dreams of remission for now, and just keep aiming for regulation I guess.

Litter box situation is still not too good... bathroom stinks. It might be the cheap litter I'm using, or the fact that he is back on Special Kitty food... hard to say.

I guess on the bright side he hasn't had any more pancreatitis complications. My vet wants to see him for a recheck but I just can't afford it right now.... still in credit card debt from the first diagnostic visit. :YMSIGH:

Here's hoping he surfs this out. Even though his preshot was low, I increased his dose today because I knew I was going to be home to test him. I bought a stool at the thrift store yesterday and he's taking a snooze on it right now.
 
(((Ry)))

One of the hardest things to deal with is seeing some of the cats that come to LL get here and go into remission in under a month. Having been hanging out here for almost 3 years, I completely understand what it's like to see that. But, it's atypical. Most cats take longer than 3 months to get to remission. Mocha is a good example. Devon and Peter had many, many frustrating days and Mocha finally went into remission in about 2 years. There are other cats that have taken longer. Do not give up.

The other thing you need to remember is that you are not leading the dance -- Scooter is. All you can do is follow the protocol. How Scooter responds is up to Scooter. Even if he doesn't go into remission, as long as you have a happy, healthy cat, isn't that the more important goal?

What I can suggest is that you really do your best to evaluate Scooter's dose every 3 days. The dose increase today was the right thing to do.
 
Ry

It's not going to help much for me to say it if you can't afford to get his teeth done but I really think that might be Scooter's problem. Vyktor had his done on 02/26 and after a week of high numbers following he has really got with the program. I wouldn't be giving up on the idea of remission for Scooter just yet. I think that when his teeth get done you just mind find yourself complaining that he doesn't let you sleep anymore.

Yay for today's numbers :mrgreen:

Serryn
 
mr tinkles went off in 21 months.

i hear ya, ry, it's discouraging sometimes, especially when some cats seem to go off so easily. i think it's too soon for you to give up yet! i'm still hoping for it, but . . . what i know is that a year ago i was afraid punkin wouldn't last this long and i am SO happy to still have him. he's expensive and our lives revolve around his needs, but i know it's not forever.

for now, he's still my little buddy and i'm glad to have him here.

i hope tomorrow is a little bit better for you! :YMHUG: taking it one day at a time helps me get through times like this!
 
I'd like to add my support for the "too early to be disappointed" viewpoint.

I never really believed Binks would go into remission.
I hoped so, after finding the FDMB and learning it was possible, but didn't truly expect it.

But after 8 months, he decided he was through with the whole process, and claimed his place at the Falls!

(his short two month return to insulin was entirely due to poor control of his carbs)

Hang in there, Ry!

celi & binks
 
gah... sorry for all the negativity. its just with my erratic sleep schedule i really struggle to maintain a 12/12 shot schedule. and when i look at his numbers i wonder sometimes why we are even doing it... but... its not about me, its about Scooter :)

im going to talk to DCIN and see if we can do his dental. i dont know though. they didnt get a lot of donations from when Scooter had pancreatitis so i dont want to push it.
 
Hey guys,

I've been thinking about y'all and I'm glad Scooter's at least stable with the pancreatitis. I don't have any real substantive advice, but I wanted to come and let you know I think it's great that you're hanging in there. One thing I did learn from this sugar dance was patience! And look, green! That's wonderful to see.

I hope you can get him a dental soon if that's what he needs.

Remember everything looks bleaker when you're tired.

Now time to surf, Scooter!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top