3/17 Lucian +6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI,+2.25/458,+5/323

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
Happy St Patrick's Day to all! :YMHUG:

Will try to get a couple hours sleep, been sick as a dog all night. At least I think I can hold off until +4, in case he decides to hit the grass.

Best to all.
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian AMPS 323 Happy St. Pat's!

nckitties3 said:
Happy St Patrick's Day to all! :YMHUG:

Will try to get a couple hours sleep, been sick as a dog all night. At least I think I can hold off until +4, in case he decides to hit the grass.

Best to all.

Back to you - I know nothing is certain, but seems safe enough for you to get a bit of rest....I did that yesterday (went back to bed) - but today I decided I'd best stay up and be productive....

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian AMPS 323 Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67

There's the green! :thumbup

Do it boy! dancing_cat
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian AMPS 323 Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67

So everyone's cat is Irish but Autumn...lol

Go Lucian Go!!!! Just a little further down today and he could rean himself another reduction. <knock wood anti-jinx>

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian AMPS 323 Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67

He gave me time to sleep last night, but I was too sick to take advantage of it. :sad:

Realizing how far along he was in his cycle, I went ahead and gave him his meal. Sometimes it takes a few minutes, after I wake up, to think clearly. @-) That's how I messed up the other day, thinking +6 when it was only +4. :o

He's being picky today, had to go thru 3 flavors to find one he wanted for lunch. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian AMPS 323 Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67

MommaOfMuse said:
So everyone's cat is Irish but Autumn...lol

Go Lucian Go!!!! Just a little further down today and he could rean himself another reduction. <knock wood anti-jinx>

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang

That's quite awesome - congrats Deb....he's doing good today......

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67,+8/53

He probably would have earned the reduction, had I not gave him a full meal, being 53 still @+8. :o
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67,+8/53

nckitties3 said:
He probably would have earned the reduction, had I not gave him a full meal, being 53 still @+8. :o

I guess he was just being polite and letting ladies go first....but Jez is done with her green so he can go ahead and start back up now.

Hope you're feeling better

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67,+8/53

Had the clock set for +9.5 but either didn't hear it or didn't set it right. :?

Just tried for a test and he moved just enough, in the middle of 'sipping', that I got an error message. :roll:

So I went ahead and fed him and will check in an hour, although it will be food induced, I'm sure. @-)

Good Grief Charlie Brown! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67,+8/53

nckitties3 said:
Had the clock set for +9.5 but either didn't hear it or didn't set it right. :?

Just tried for a test and he moved just enough, in the middle of 'sipping', that I got an error message. :roll:

So I went ahead and fed him and will check in an hour, although it will be food induced, I'm sure. @-)

Good Grief Charlie Brown! ohmygod_smile


LOL - I have to say its been an exhausting week for the beans around here.....as you know, I almost missed shot time - fortunately since it involves food, their majesties made sure to get me up.

Does Lucian have much of a food bounce?

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67,+8/53

With Lucian, the answer is usually........sometimes. :lol: His answer to everything is sometimes/maybe. :lol:
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian Happy St. Pat's!, +4/210,+6/67,+8/53

nckitties3 said:
With Lucian, the answer is usually........sometimes. :lol: His answer to everything is sometimes/maybe. :lol:
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Actually it looks like he always chooses black to go with his green.....so he doesn't bounce - he flies....

Of course if he finds he has a pattern I'm sure he'll feel the need to break it....

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

Yes, he does like to accent his green with black. @-)

Boing Boing He thinks he's a Tigger. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

Well it it still a pattern, although not the most comforting one. I do have to wonder if Lantus isn't the greatest insulin for him. Since Levemir tends to have a flatter curve to it, it would keep him more level longer.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

Out of what, 11 weeks, he's only been hitting green with any regularity for 2 weeks, maybe give him a couple more weeks and see if he can bring down those preshot numbers.

If not, I'll have to think about trying something else. :sad:
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

nckitties3 said:
Yes, he does like to accent his green with black. @-)

Boing Boing He thinks he's a Tigger. ohmygod_smile


Just a thought because you keep such good notes about the food. I wonder if maybe food does bring him up higher and longer than one would usually expect. I mean he seems to have better numbers in the morning all in all (tossing out the dosage adjustments and bounces from drops). I'm looking at 3/11 and 3/16 when you didn't feed him between +6 and his pm shot - those are both lower than when you fed him at +8 or later.

Mel was saying something about looking into lowering the carbs in what she's feeding...maybe you could pick up one or two cans of really low stuff like some of the kitten formulas....and see if feeding that in the evenings helps at all.

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

Sorry to say, I don't always get all his meals and snacks on the SS and I leave food out at night.

He does eat every 3-4 hrs 90% of the time. Sometimes more often and rarely he might go 5 hrs. He's never gone 6 hrs from +6 and shot without eating, I just forgot to put it in.

At this point, he eats 8% or less, mostly less. And being as picky as he is, I have to have enough variety, which is why I had to move him up in carbs weeks ago. I started with under 5%, but it was a battle to get him to eat. I wish he was one of those cats that would eat the same 2 flavors all the time. Ain't gonna happen with him.

He will rarely even eat the same thing twice in a row. I have to give him something different at just about every meal. That's why I have 3-4 cans open at any given time, all different flavors.
I buy 3 different brands, in about 10 different flavors. It's a real PITA.

On top of that, I have a civvie that's even worse and will only eat a couple flavors, period. She's getting a little better. He's getting worse. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

Deb,

Will they all eat raw meat? Like raw pieces of chicken? What I'm thinking about doing with my bunch because they will mug me for pieces of raw meat is getting some either lean ground turkey or waiting for sales on chicken hind quarters and starting to add those to the Friskies to up the protein and lower the carbs without changing the flavors that much. Plus the chunks of muscle meat would give them something to actually chew on for their teeth.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

nckitties3 said:
Sorry to say, I don't always get all his meals and snacks on the SS and I leave food out at night.

He does eat every 3-4 hrs 90% of the time. Sometimes more often and rarely he might go 5 hrs. He's never gone 6 hrs from +6 and shot without eating, I just forgot to put it in.

At this point, he eats 8% or less, mostly less. And being as picky as he is, I have to have enough variety, which is why I had to move him up in carbs weeks ago. I started with under 5%, but it was a battle to get him to eat. I wish he was one of those cats that would eat the same 2 flavors all the time. Ain't gonna happen with him.

He will rarely even eat the same thing twice in a row. I have to give him something different at just about every meal. That's why I have 3-4 cans open at any given time, all different flavors.
I buy 3 different brands, in about 10 different flavors. It's a real PITA.

On top of that, I have a civvie that's even worse and will only eat a couple flavors, period. She's getting a little better. He's getting worse. ohmygod_smile


Don't be sorry - I just happened to notice you were mentioning meals. So there is no relationship between eating and the numbers -figures it wouldn't be something so easy going on.

It must be tough having a picky eater in the household...that's something I've never had a problem with unless they were sick and couldn't smell. After the first few days mine weren't too excited about the pate (when I fed canned it was always chunks and gravy)...but watering it down seems to help a lot- they start out licking the pretend gravy and that encourages them to keep going. But I am going to have to pay better attention or perhaps find something lower calorie because Jez is up over 11 lbs and that's where the vet thinks she should be. Working I want to be sure there's food out in case she dips and needs it....but she does tend to eat more than she probably needs.

I like Mels idea of mixing some raw in but would be a bit concerned about leaving it out too long because they generally take a few hours to finish a meal....Maybe cooked meat?

Em
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

Em

Remember the only thing different about the tiny tigers in our homes and their big cousins in the wild is size. Lions, Tigers and Leopards will all return to a kill for days to eat of it and that is with it sitting out in the hot sun. They are meant to be meat eaters and to that end Mother Nature has designed them to be able to eat meats that would probably make us humans sick, now not saying let it sit until it turns green but 12 hours at room temp isn't going to hurt a cat. And if really worried about it serve it seperately maybe set it down first in the morning, then feed their regular diet and before you leave pick up the raw and put it back in the fridge until you get home again and then let them snack on that a little before dinner.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

You know none of mine will eat chicken, although I haven't tried anything raw.

They won't eat any cooked meats I've tried, other than a bite or 2. I've tried chicken, salmon, flounder, beef liver, chicken liver. Lucian will eat a couple bites of the livers or salmon, MM will eat a couple bites of liver or chicken and Patches won't eat any of it.

I've only recently gotten them to try a couple bites of chicken & liver and poultry platter cat food. They wouldn't touch it when this all started, not even a taste.

With the hormones and antibiotics used in human meats, I don't know how healthy that would be. I can't afford to buy the better stuff for me, much less them. Forget organics @ $14 for a skinny whole chicken. Prices are crazy for anything even vaguely healthy here. What I can afford is so full of garbage, it's probably what's killing me.

The last thing he ate before his PMPS was 1 carb beef and liver.

He's down to 458 @+2.25

Mel, I said Tigger not tiger :lol: Bouncy Tigger, cause he's a bouncy boy. like in Winnie the Pooh?
 
Re: 3/17 Lucian +4/210,+6/67,+8/53, PMPS HI

MommaOfMuse said:
Em

Remember the only thing different about the tiny tigers in our homes and their big cousins in the wild is size. Lions, Tigers and Leopards will all return to a kill for days to eat of it and that is with it sitting out in the hot sun. They are meant to be meat eaters and to that end Mother Nature has designed them to be able to eat meats that would probably make us humans sick, now not saying let it sit until it turns green but 12 hours at room temp isn't going to hurt a cat. And if really worried about it serve it seperately maybe set it down first in the morning, then feed their regular diet and before you leave pick up the raw and put it back in the fridge until you get home again and then let them snack on that a little before dinner.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang


Hi Mel,

I'm not "really worried about it" enough to do anything special...but the difference is that this meat we'd be serving has been touched by a lot of hands and a lot of equipment possibly transferring bacteria around - so I'd be worried about salmonella or botulism or something along those lines because the raw meat was infected before it got here. We've created all sorts of issues for ourselves because of the way we process meat products....its not like mice or birds or rabbit from the back yard.

Of course, I don't even know that cats can contract those diseases - I've got some googling to do - and thanks for the ideas on how to make it work.

Em
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top