3/17 Cinco AMPS 277 +6 56 +6.5 62 +7.5 69 +8.5 95 PMPS 212 +2.75 51 +3.5 48 +4 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey

Member Since 2011
Most Recent Condo

We are back! Mark and I got home last night (after we went to bowling, of course :rolleyes:). I picked up Minka and Cinco from Dawn's around noon today. Cinco complained the entire drive home, then shocked me with that +6!!!:eek:

I am somewhat disappointed because Dawn did not do mid cycle tests. She didn't see the need. She told me that none of the owners of her other diabetic clients test at all! She wasn't being argumentative or anything, just letting me know what she was accustomed to. I was too surprised to come up with a good comeback. On the way home it occurred to me I should have asked if any of them were cats on Lantus. She strayed somewhat from the 12/12 schedule, but only once was it enough to make me a bit concerned. I don't think she understands how it works. I plan to print out the info on Lantus and give it to her next time, as well as specifically ask her to test at least once mid cycle! What is amazing to me is, even with a somewhat messed up schedule, being in an unfamiliar place, and a dose that was essentially .5 less than he had been getting, Cinco still had good numbers. I really regret the absence of those tests because of the lost data. How low did he actually go? SO my big question is: what dose do we do tonight? He was at 1.5 (and getting lots of green) before we left. We shot 1.25 the morning of our departure, because we were taking him to Dawn's at +5 and didn't want him dropping as he had been recently. We had her shoot 1.0 because we knew she wouldn't test as often and we wanted him to be safe. Strict protocol adherence would mean we return to 1.5, as that is the "last good dose", right? But he's been doing so well on 1.0, and he was green even after being very upset the whole 45 minute drive home. Advice, please!

Minka did not eat any better for Dawn than she did for me. She gave her Cypro once and said it didn't seem to make much difference. I gave her a dose when we got home, and it didn't seem to help. She did eat some tri tip, after refusing two different flavors of cat food. I just got her to eat about 1/4 of a container of a FF appetizer. I guess I'll break out the Mirtz tomorrow. I left a message for the coordinator of the Acupuncture department at UCD right before we went out of town. I haven't heard back, so today I called our regular vet and asked for a recommendation. She put me in touch with a vet that she has known for years. Dr. Kress makes house calls only, and I live too far away, but she will treat at my vet's clinic, so we are meeting her there next Thursday. Paws crossed this helps!

Sasha and Harvey did well here at home with our friend, Kathy. Harvey was a little knothead about pilling (big surprise), but Kathy managed to get everything into him with no blood shed. Sasha managed to open the healed sore spot on her neck, so we need to replace the soft claws on her back foot. I'm experimenting again with different ways to cover her neck.

My DSIL got word she does NOT have the kidney disease we feared. She is home with an IV line in place (which dislodged in the middle of the night and necessitated an ER visit) and will be getting PT and rehab.
The blood infection is Strep and they suspect she got it from some dental work she had done recently. She's slowly recovering, and we thank everyone that sent vines and prayers for her.

We had fun on our trip, even though our driver crashed and burned half way through the race! :eek::( It's good to be home, though. Sorry I didn't get to do much visiting. I'll be catching up on everyone over the next couple of days.

Sending healing vines to all in need and hugs to all their beans, especially Tess (Ann & John), and Doodle (Jennifer F). :bighug:Prayers continue for Amy's DF, Lyresa's DF, DH and DGD, Lisa's DF, Chris' DM, Marje's DM and Elise's DM.
 
I am a horrible dose advice giver, but I would say, try out the 1U and see what happens, worst case you have to bring it up in a cycle or two, but he seems to be doing pretty darn good on that dose right now....

Sorry about your driver, I am not a race fan, but my co-worker who sits next to me is a HUGE fan, so I hear about the races from him. I am sure it was nice to be away for a bit, but just as nice to come home to all the furbabies :) I am not sure how I would do, I had separation anxiety with Skoots before his DX, now after a few hours, I just want to get home, but it sure would be nice!

Bummer your pet sitter didn't test more frequently. I think that if that is something you ask her to do, she should be doing it. So hopefully in the future she will do what you are asking, as you said, that data could have come in handy when trying to figure out his next dose.
 
As long as he's getting such good numbers, I don't see any reason why you couldn't just stay at 1 unit....you'll know soon enough if he needs to go back up

I'm sure you have to be pretty disappointed with Dawn not testing, but hopefully with a little more education, she'll understand how important it is!
 
Yup. I'm on the 1.0 bandwagon, too. You guys are beat, race-lagged, handling tons of kitty issues. See what Cinco does at 1.0 at home; you can always dosecrease. Be a shame to take him up, just to have to take him down again. Besides, spending time chasing low numbers may be one straw too much. Right now.

(Sorry about 88.)

Marilyn and Polly
 
Welcome home. I'm glad youDSIL will be okay. It's interesting that cypro didn't work for Monka. It can be given twice a day. Tiffany got 1/4 a 4mg pill twice a day but Max just needed 1/8 or less. Sounds like mirt works better for you.

I agree with the others about trying 1 unit given the 56 nadir. Good luck whatever you decide to do.
 
I agree with staying with the 1 unit, too.
Good luck with the acupuncture vet. Sending eating vines to Minka.
 
Welcome home. I think I'd stick with 1 unit too after the numbers Cinco has had today. I hope you can work something out with Dr. Kress for Minka's appy. I hope Shasta's neck heals quickly. That's a shame Dawn didn't get those mid cycle tests. Hopefully, she'll learn and be willing to do it next time. I'm glad your DSIL doesn't have kidney disease. I hope she gets better soon. Sending prayers.
 
Thanks for the welcome home, Molly, Chris, Marilyn, Elise, Dyana and Carla. We went with the 1.0. Paws crossed he keeps giving me pretty numbers. I got so spoiled with all those greens before we left. He's so happy to be home, where he can stretch his legs a little and move around. The cages at Dawn's are pretty good sized, but it's not the same as having a whole room to roam around in. Even a sedentary cat like Cinco likes to get some exercise. Maybe. A little. :p:joyful:

Minka slowly ate about 1/3 of her dinner. I'll keep encouraging her to eat more. I'm so bummed that the Cypro doesn't seem to have any affect on her, after I had to fight to get it! o_O I'm going to weigh everyone tomorrow, and if she's lost again, I'll break out the Mirtz and the syringes. Sasha ate about 3/4 of her dinner. I'm about to take up some Forti Flora to encourage her to eat the rest. Cookies will probably be necessary, too. She does have me trained. Harvey has been eating like a horse all day, so I'm not surprised he only picked at his dinner. I know he'll come back for more later.

Off to season Sasha's food and do some unpacking!
 
Wow!

Guess he's really happy to be home!!

China threw me for a loop too...after all the yellows she's had, Cinco comes home and she makes a bee-line for the lagoon!
 
Oh absolutely!! Although how those 2 made plans is beyond me considering Cinco wasn't home!

I guess they've developed some ESP so they can make plans behind our backs!
 
Welcome back Tricia! I'm glad you had fun. Aren't you glad you didn't increase! ;) Pull up Cinco! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top