3/17 Checkers AM 138..PM 71/need PM advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9329
Sorry Pat, I still can't do it with just text I'll work on it.


Checkers is at dentist now. Little bugger got up into the box spring of my bed and I had to dismantle bed to get him out.
I thought I did everthing right, so he wouldn't be suspicious. That guy has some sharp instincts. He always knows when he is going out.
Checks hopes the party is still going on when he gets home. He wants to wear his green collar.
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

Good dental vines to Checkers!! And here's hoping Checker's mama bean isn't too stressed with him being at the vet.
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

Thank you for good thoughts. :smile:
No matter how many times it's been done, beans still get nervous when baby goes under anesthesia.
Checks had an unusually low bg this morning. Dare I dream?
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

oooo sending lots of good dental vines for you guys today! Mocha is having her first dental done on friday and this momma bean is already beyond nervous!
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

I about choked laughing about Checkers up in the box spring. How much extra time does one allow for dismantling the bed before getting to dentist??
I hope his dental goes well. Remember later that anesthesia likes to do the nom-nom thing on BG - many kitties go lower so watch those numbers this afternoon.
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

Ugh don't I know how that is!! when my heart cat went to the vet all the time (was once a week for a while).. I ended up throwing out my bed frame and box spring. I slept on my mattress on the floor for over a year.

Good dental vibes come your way from here! Hope things go great and for Checkers when he reads his condo later.. don't forget to milk it.. unlimited scratches for you tonight!
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

Sending lots of healing teeth vines to Checkers! Brownie's dental is tomorrow nailbite_smile . It will be so nice when they call and say that Checkers is fine - ahhh! Then you can breathe!
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Day

I'm so happy! No extractions. Poor guy doesn't have that many teeth left, as it is.
He has two teeth that have to be watched, as his gums are receding there. There is the chance of FORLS on those.
I was told that at his 9/08 dental, so this is a slow growing problem
His blood panel was great. Kidneys fine. WooHoo! I always get a copy of his blood panel, so I can Google and see what all the abbreviations mean.
Doc warned me his bg will probably be 'off'. Don't freak out if it's high. Give the usual dose of 1u.
I'll be watching for low too....thanks Joyce.
Breathing now... :lol:

I can get him after 2PM, so he will be able to attend party. Yaaaaaaay!
Thank you all for the good wishes and vibes. :smile:
 
Re: 3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM Shot/Dental Update

He's home, happy to dive into a dish of FF. His bg was 161 at clinic at 9am...down to 144 by 3pm
I hope doesn't go too much lower, or I'll be here looking for advice tonight. So far, he's to get the usual 1u.
Awww, he just held his leg up to me, to take the green bandage off.
 
3/17 Checkers AM 138...No AM shot/dental

I shoot at 7:30.....Check's bg is now 71 @6:30.
I will check again at 7:30, which is his normal PS. Should I check a little earlier, so I can come back for advice before shot time?
He's never been this low at night!
 
Unless something changes big time in the next hour, I recommend you skip tonight's shot and keep testing. For some cats, the anesthesia causes their BG to lower and it looks like Checkers is probably having that effect. At this number, even shooting 1/2 dose might cause him to drop too much this evening.
 
Barb, This is the nom nom effect--The anesthesia eats up the sugar for that day causing the numbers to go low--This happened to Moonie during her dental on 11/18/09-she dropped very low. If Libby says skip a dose, skip it & start tomorrow.
So glad he's home & good!
 
So glad to hear that Checker's had a good dental checkup and that he's home and eating! As for the low bgs, I never knew what "nom nom" meant either! Hope he has a good night and that any rebound from missing this shot will be minimal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top