3/17 Brownie AMPS 188 - Dental tomorrow?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patricia&Brownie

Member Since 2010
I think this horrible +4 (162) is a bounce from going a wee bit too low at the vet yesterday. He was there for 4 hours while they got a pre-dental workup. I left FF for him, but I don't think he likes to eat at the vet. He is scheduled for his dental tomorrow (along with Simpkin) and I'm, of course, VERY NERVOUS! nailbite_smile THey are both 18.5 years old, both with CRI, both on SubQ fluids 2/week, Simpkin has a mild heart murmur and Brownie is FD! However, the vet will only be using isoflurane gas and has promised me that he will make every attempt to place an IV cath before the procedure, just in case they need it. He also said that they will monitor bp and glucose during the procedure. It has been 2.5 years since their last dental and they have lots of tartar and some gum inflamation, so I guess it really needs to be done. I will be giving them both 200cc subq fluids tonight and then again tomorrow night. Depending on Brownie's bgs tomorrow, I will either give him no dose in the am or 1/2 dose. Any comments or advice are welcome. Brownie can frequently go down into the 50's and 60's during the day (and that's with food!), so I'm definitely worried about that. I'll be calling them and making sure they get me some bg readings... Happy St. Patty's Day LL! Is everyone wearing their green????
 
Hope things go well for Brownie tomorrow (and for mom :) ).

As for dose.. I shot 1/2 before Nova's dental.. but I think you should do whatever you are comfortable with.. no matter what you shoot his numbers will probably be wacky for a day or two (sore mouth, anastesia, worried mommy, etc).. do what causes you the least stress is my vote :).
 
When Kitty had his dental in February, I skipped the morning dose entirely. Because the anesthesia can lower BG, he was green that night, and returned to his normal pattern in a couple of days.

I know there's a lot of discussion about ketamine, but maybe your vet can use an alternative to induce anesthesia (propofyl, I think). My vet used ketamine + valium to induce, then isoflurane gas to maintain it. I believe the theory is that it makes the process of giving gas easier on the kitty. My vet was aware that some manufacturers of ketamine had been recalled, and had purged those manufacturers from their supplies.

And since you're taking such good care about fluids, you may want to put a diaper-type lining in the carrying cage! My Kitty ended up wetting his cage on the way home, because of all the fluids. No permanent harm done, just a little hard on his dignity, and it didn't make the ride any easier.

Other than that -- things you already know, I'm sure, like: test BG the minute you get home, to establish the baseline, and feed only a bite at intervals to avoid pukus.

Good luck, we'll be watching for you!
 
Re: 3/17 Brownie PMPS 187

I went ahead and dropped Brownie's dose down from 0.75 to 0.5f tonight - whenever we go out of town, I notice that it takes about 24 hours for his shed to empty, so I didn't feel comfortable just reducing his AM dose. His BGs are a bit higher than normal, but I'd rather be on the safe side tomorrow. I'll wait to see what his numbers are tomorrow before deciding on 1/2 dose or no dose. I gave him 250cc fluid, so he should be well-hydrated. They will not be using Ketamine, but they will be masking him to get him groggy initially. I had read a negative post somewhere concerning masking, but because of his kidney failure, I'm glad that they're not using another drug that might have to be excreted via the kidneys... Hope everyone had a wonderful St. Patrick's Day - and only got pinched if they wanted to be pinched. :lol:
 
Besides just inserting an IV catheter, it should be used to administer fluids before (if possible), during and after the procedure. Most cats tolerate inserting of the catheter without anesthesia and thus IV fluids can be administered before the dental. Some cats are too fractious and require anesthesia to insert the IV catheter.

Regarding masking/tanking down, many vets do that successfully including mine. An alternate would be IV propofol.
 
Sending tons of good dental vines for both your boys and a great big hug for you. Your boys will be ok, Patricia (((((Patricia, Brownie, & Simpkins))))
 
good luck with the dental! I'm sure they'll both be fine, it sounds like you and your vet have thought things through.

I think your choice to skinny the dose tonight is good, especially since he won't have as much food. Play everything toward the side of caution, Brownie is so well regulated that it won't take long to get his numbers back when this is over.

((((Patricia))))
 
Re: 3/17 Brownie AMPS 188 - IV fluid question

Larry and Kitties said:
Besides just inserting an IV catheter, it should be used to administer fluids before (if possible), during and after the procedure. Most cats tolerate inserting of the catheter without anesthesia and thus IV fluids can be administered before the dental.

Are IV fluids immediately prior to, during, and immediately after the procedure preferable to the SubQ fluids (250cc) that I gave Brownie and Simpkin tonight and will give again tomorrow afternoon? If so, I will talk to the vet about that as well... Thanks for all the advice, concern, hugs, and well-wishes - it is so wonderful to connect to all these kindred spirits who love their animal friends so dearly. I was hoping to spend some QT with the boys, but they're looking p*ssed at me for giving them the SubQ fluids tonight and won't budge off their cat beds. :roll:
 
Re: 3/17 Brownie PMPS 187 +3.5 101

Brownie just got his last meal before his dental, I'll recheck him around 4am to make sure he isn't too low... NiNi LL!
 
I hope everything goes well with not a single problem with the dentals tomorrow. Shadoe is going for hers on Friday so I am stressing along with you.
 
Re: 3/17 Brownie AMPS 188 - Dental

I'll be thinking about your boys today, can't wait until they're home again with nice clean toofuses and gums.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top