3/17 - Alphyne - PMBG 87

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) 3/16 - Alphyne - AMPS 120 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Hello! Well, if it's not one of my girls, it's the other...

Looks like Alphyne has earned another dose decrease.

But, I have to ask, is this even remotely close to normal? I do realize every cat is different, but she has earned 3 reductions in 6 days?

She also drops fast; I thought Lantus was supposed to have a more gradual effect? She doesn't really stay in the green...

I originally questioned the starting dose, which was 2U. Maybe that was actually too high, which is why we are doing all the adjustments now?

Thoughts? Again, as always, thank you for the help!
 
Last edited:
At first they usually don’t stay long in green and bounce from not being used to normal bg. Your cat is not bouncing. I’d start getting a +1 and feeding a little each hour to slow the drop. Another reduction has been earned. I think the starting dose was too high. She’s looking really good.
 
At first they usually don’t stay long in green and bounce from not being used to normal bg. Your cat is not bouncing.
Another reduction has been earned. I think the starting dose was too high. She’s looking really good.

Thanks so much! Between the two of them, I have much more grey hair this week!

Appreciate the assist (again)! :bighug:
 
Nice job :) i believe that you can see you are approaching a better dose for her just based on the preshots being lower :) in my opinion Alphyne was bouncing before with all the yellow and pink preshots. Just don't get disappointed if soon she will stop needing reductions so quickly :D

Since we are on the forum i have seen the same happening with at least 3 other cats :)
 
Last edited:
Just don't get disappointed if soon she will stop needing a reductions so quickly :D

I was thinking about the preshot numbers this morning myself; they look much better to me also. Nice to be in 1s instead of the 2s!

Of course I want her to get better, and remission is the goal, but I wouldn't mind a little slow-down and a full night's sleep! ;)
 
(previous) 3/17 - Alphyne AMPS 160 / +2 107 / +4 79 (another reduction)

Today is not going quite as I expected it to!

Alphyne is at an 87 for her PMPS. We were going to reduce to 1.75 tonight, but at this number, there will be no shot!

She surfed (is that the right term?) all day in the low blues (except her AMPS +4, where she earned the reduction). I did spot check her again @ +9, but I didn't put it in the sheet since i used the wrong meter (I used the AT2 - habit), she was at 148, so she didn't drop weirdly low at any point.

Do I skip? Do I stall as long as possible? I HAVE to be gone for 2 hours starting in 30 minutes. It's work related. But then I'll be home.

Thoughts? Here comes more grey hair!!!

Thanks!!
 
Yes do skip. It’s too low to shoot. You could stall, not feed and test right before you leave. If it goes up above 150 you could then shoot a token dose if you will be back in 2 hours. That would be onset.
 
Do you work outside the home? If you shoot 2 hours late tonight, then you'll need to shoot late tomorrow morning and move back in 15 minute increments to your original times.

I agree with Elise, skipping tonight is best - and even more so if you're going to be out for a couple of hours.
 
Thank you!

I was kind of hoping she'd come up, but just tested again and she's only at 99, so I don't think she's going to get up to 150.

Thanks, once again!
 
Do you work outside the home? If you shoot 2 hours late tonight, then you'll need to shoot late tomorrow morning and move back in 15 minute increments to your original times.

I agree with Elise, skipping tonight is best - and even more so if you're going to be out for a couple of hours.

I actually work from home right now, so I could shoot her when I get home. I'll test and see what happens!
 
If I test tonight, and decide not to shoot, can I expect a bounce tomorrow? Still so new to this, I'm not quite sure...

Thanks!
 
If I test tonight, and decide not to shoot, can I expect a bounce tomorrow? Still so new to this, I'm not quite sure...

Thanks!

Bounces are typical after very low numbers. She may 'bounce' based on the 87 she just saw...if she's not used to the nice low numbers, then there may be a bounce later tonight or tomorrow.

Bounces are a normal natural process of the liver releasing stored glycogens to raise the blood glucose as her body isn't used to lower numbers and this is the response.

I wrote a little story up once trying to explain the process to, at that time, a newer member who was trying to understand bouncing...

Here is the link:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-8-346-increased-tonight.234063/#post-2618868
 
I've merged your two threads of today. Due to the volume in this forum, we request just one post per cat per day. If you have two diabetics you can still do one post per cat, or combine them.

If you don't shoot, could you change the subject line to PMBG (blood glucose), so we know you didn't shoot that. Both your kitties are doing really well. :cool:
 
Back
Top