3/17/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 480

Status
Not open for further replies.

CocoButterBall

Member Since 2011
This is my first post in this section :]

Coco is a high dose kitty. I sent samples in monday for Acro and IAA. Waiting on results.

I just kind of want advice on his dose and numbers i guess. It was suggested for me to post here daily, so I'm going to start :3

My Numbers were interesting today for his glucose (in my spread sheet) or i can just type it out o.o
This is the first time he has EVER had blues.

Yesterday

AMPS- 409
+1-
+2-
+3-
+4-
+5- 169
+6- 179
+7-
+8- 113
+9- 145
+10- 190
+11- 247
PMPS- 325

Today (3/17)
AMPS- 480

Also might try to switch to Levemir .. not sure.
 
Re: 3/16/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 409

wow, you have done an awesome job of getting lots of numbers for your spreadsheet. well done!

and our kitties are on the same dose! Is coco flinching from the lantus? apparently the lantus is stinging punkin and he's trying to get out of it mid-shot. not too much fun for any of us.

welcome! glad you found this area to post in. there are several people here who are experts and will help you with dosing.
 
Re: 3/16/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 409

He does try to bite me every time I shoot the lantus. So i think it is stinging him. But sometimes he doesn't.. so its hard for me to say.

If he doesn't have Acro, i might just keep lantus if his numbers even out from it..
 
Re: 3/16/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 409

WOW. grats on the blues! :-D
*starts slow-dancin' to the sweet sound of soul*

Hope you have a great PM,
Sarah.
 
Re: 3/16/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 409

Can you go to your first post and click edit - maybe change the subject to date to 3/17 so it doesn't get lost in todays threads. Its an active forum. And also include that you are needing dosing help. This will get eyes on your condo.

Welcome to lantus land :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/16/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 409

Welcome to Lantus Land!

You're doing great with your spreadsheet! I wonder if you could tell us when Coco was diagnosed and how you worked Coco up to this dose?

If you've not already done so, you may want to read some of the basics on acro and IAA. Forgive me if you know this, but acro cats have a functioning pancreas. What this means is that you do not look to have an acro cat drop into the greens. If your cat is heading in that direction, you need to feed high card -- don't try low carb it may only drop numbers further as the pancreas kicks in. When you do feed high card, you do so in a larger quantity than we typically feed with non-acro cats.

You might consider getting at least one test during the PM cycle. Many cats experience lower numbers at night. Getting PM tests will also let you know if Coco is bouncing resulting in some of those higher AMPS numbers.

While you're waiting for Coco's tests to come back, you might want to read over the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There's a huge amount of information contained in them.
 
Re: 3/16/11 ~ Coco ~ AMPS 409

Coco was diagnosed of November 30, 2010. He was put on humalin N for over 3 months and we worked him up to 16 units BID. Then i chose to switch to lantus. We started at 2 units and increased by 1 unit about once a week since his numbers were still high. Then i found this place and have now been doing .5u increases.

I am always sleeping during his pm cycle ._. His shots are 10:30 am and pm. Maybe i can set an alarm or something for the middle of the night. lol


History and Coco details thread
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=38148
 
welcome to Lantus Land! I have an acro kitty, Jazzy, who was on Lantus and I switched her to Levemir. I have heard that Lev stings less at high doses, but honestly I can't tell if that is true for Jazzy. She growled and tried to bite when I shot her with Lantus, and she still growls and bites when I shoot her with Lev. :lol: For me (and it sounds like this could be the case for you too, if you go to bed right after PMPS), the later onset and nadir with Lev is a bit of a problem sometimes. I can't stay up late enough to catch the "action" part of Jazzy's PM cycles. I think you'll just want to wait and see how Coco does with Lantus, and if you feel that his numbers need some improvement, maybe look at switching later on.

Coco's numbers look good on this dose! He's bouncing a bit from the blue, but that is to be expected since he is not used to blue numbers. My inclination would be to hold this dose for at least a couple more cycles to see if he flattens out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top