3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40 +4.5 40 +5 61

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
Simon is really trying to confuse me lately with his numbers on this dose. Yesterday, he started with a nice low blue number but spiked up to 200 at his nadir and then went back down to green in the PM. He definitely likes to be a puzzlement to me. Unfortunately, the terrible pollen season is starting here and Simon's allergies really start kicking in. He is starting to scratch his ears again and I probably need to start him back on the anti-histimine. The problem is that it spikes his bg. Just when we were starting to get more Simon-like numbers. I'll watch him over the next few days and see how he does before starting him back on it. He doesn't seem uncomfortable and is actually being more active lately.

Yay! It is finally Friday!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=66259
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105

That's a nice start for Simon. Do the allergies raise his BGs too, or just the antihistamines? Have a good Friday.
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105

Linda, I think it is mainly the anti-histiimines that raise his bg. He bg seems to be ok without them even when he is scratching pretty bad.
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105

Hi guys .. oh simon .. how come you like to confuse your beanz so much? Is it cause you're a cat? :-D Sorry to hear about the allergies already flaring up .. I know it's a battle keeping him comfortable and keeping his BG's low at the same time .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105

Oh sorry Simon those allergies are acting up again. That has to be miserable for him. Nice low blue AMPS today. Hope your day goes well, Georgia.
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105

Morning! What a great start to Simon's day. I love that amps. Bummer on his allergies kicking in. I hope it's not too bad for him. I remember how the meds affected his BG. I remember what battle it was for you. Good luck!
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105

Oh no allergies are not fun. Is there a different type of antihistimine you can try? Maybe the one you are using has a sugar coating on the pill or something???
 
Re: 3/16 Simon AMPS 105 +7 50

Simon continues to keep me guessing! 50 at his +1 today when yesterday he was 200. Unfortunately, I have got to go back tbp and DH is also at work. I'm giving him a 2nd meal right now and will leave food to go off in his automatic feeder at another +1 and +2. He should do fine, I hope.
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60

Looks like Simon had a very nice surf today!! Keep up the good work and enjoy the weekend!!
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40

Looks like Mr. Simon is trying to get my attention tonight. I think I may be up a little bit longer. Just when I thought I would catch up on some sleep by going to bed early! I'll re-test in another 30 minutes and see where he is.
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40

there is some MASSIVE kitty partying going on at the green lagoon tonight!!!!!!!!!!!!

GO, SIMONIZER...GO!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40

Wow, Simon, good way to get your MomBean's attention. Simon wants some fast food fuds! Georgia, the Rescue Remedy for humans does have alcohol in it, so it's even cuter with your Aunt. Must be something in the area with so many of our kitties at the green lagoon!
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40

Looks like Simon is tired of this dose!

The following is what my vet recommended for allergies:
There are several options—there is a product called Allerderm which is applied once weekly to the skin which can be quite helpful for itchy or dry skin. Additional fish oil omega-3 fatty acids, 200-250 mg daily, are often helpful, but may take up to 2 weeks to really have an effect. Antihistamines are often helpful—we seem to have the best success with Zyrtec, which is over-the-counter, or hydroxyzine which is a prescription medication.

We have Allerderm here, but you may be able to order it online. Zyrtec dosage is ½ of a 10 mg tablet by mouth (in food…) twice daily, or about every 12 hours, try for 7 days. Watch for drowsiness or restlessness, although side effects from Zyrtec are not likely or are very mild. Use plain Zyrtec, or cetirizine, only—no combo meds. The fish oil product we use is AllerG3, or you can use human products
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40

:shock: :shock: UP Simon! You sound like me - this was a night I was so hoping to go to bed early.. doesn't look like that will happen. :roll: I hope Simon comes up soon for you. Surf well Simon, OK?
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40 +4.5 40

Sienne, yes, I think he is tired of this dose, too. I will be out of the house for most of the day tomorrow, so I'm thinking I will decrease the dose. Thanks also for the tips on the allergies. I have been giving him Chlor-Trimeton (suggested by the vet). It helps, but like I have said, it seems to increase his bg. I'm interested in seeing about the Allerderm and if I can't find it around here, I'll try the Zyrtec.

Simon is getting some hc food right now. I can't be up all night so I need to get his bg up. He is very happy with the food.
 
Re: 3/16 Simon PMPS 86 +2 60 +3.5 40 +4.5 40

way to go, Simon!

His spreadsheet reminds me a little of the time Lucy had to go allllllll the way back up the dosing ladder, and then turned around and started heading back down fairly quickly.
 
Little better at the +5. Simon is on his 4th mini meal and continues to be very happy with all the food.

Libby, I'm glad to hear that Simon is not the only kitty that has had a very crazy roller coaster spreadsheet.

I'm probably not going to post again unless Simon's numbers start dropping. I'm moving all the testing equipment into the bedroom and will test Simon in bed so I don't have to get up :-D

Here's to all the green kitties tonight! Surf safely!
 
Something is definitely in the air green kitties and reductions all over the place - whoo hoo congratulations Simon but you did jib him Georgia - he well and truely earned his green smiley this cycle :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top