3/16 Kim's Simon PMPS 94 some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
AMPS 87! As Monica said yesterday, "Show that AMPS who's boss!" I guess Simon heard you, Monica.

Let's see, we had a nice spring break Thursday yesterday. My DS age 7 went to a play date at a friend's house, the rest of us lounged and just had general relaxing home time, DD age 5 had gymnastics, we had a pizza dinner, and DS7 had a different friend over for a sleepover. They watched Return of the Jedi. They have so much energy; they are already at it this morning at quite a pace!

Simon woke me up this morning (he does not usually). After I got his AMPS, I think it was because he was hungreez!

funny-cat-pictures-i-dont-get-it-it-works-for-that-little-kid.jpg


Edited to add: questions in new addition to post about foods.
 
Re: 3/16 Kim's Simon AMPS 87 y'all

Well done, Lil' Kim!
:lol: love the pic! If you haven't already seen the video of DGS Michelle posted yesterday, go take a look.
 
Re: 3/16 Kim's Simon AMPS 87 y'all

Hi guys .. suhweet amps simon! Sounds like you guys had a very nice day yesterday .. don't we wish all days could be like that? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/16 Kim's Simon AMPS 87 y'all

Oh y'all are so busy! And look at those greens! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: What a great way to start your day. Kids do have lots of energy. I wish I had half that sometimes. Have a wonderful Friday Kim!
 
Re: 3/16 Kim's Simon AMPS 87 y'all

Awesome, Simon! That's what I'm talking about! You earned that breffis!
Great to see so many LL kitties on a mission!

That poor high chair cat.
 
Re: 3/16 Kim's Simon AMPS 87 +1/73 +3/69 +5/70 ? define LC,M

Question: What percentage of carbs puts a food in the LC, MC, or HC category?

How long does a food rise in BG take to show up, and how long will food affect a BG reading?

What are some general principles of managing a curve with food? Is this written somewhere? Does a super LC food like 0-1% have its place? I'm just not sure when to feed what food (other than MC or HC when he's really low). Most of what I feed is about 4%, and I really haven't even needed to use MC to bring him up except for once when he was 28!

This may seem like late in our game to ask this, but initially our vet had suggested <10% carbs, >45% protein for food choices. It is hard to get the lower carb foods, like 4%, to not be much higher in fat than protein. For example, many people feed Wellness (as do we, now) and it does have a high fat content. It seems like the breakdown of Cowboy Cookout is one of the most preferable, but it's beef. A majority of the other higher protein choices are seafood. Is seafood a big issue? Beef? Anyone care to elaborate on how they thought through this :?: :lol: :lol:

Recently I found Nature's variety Instinct Lamb to be palatable to Simon (surprise!) and it's 1%.


Thanks!
 
Re: 3/16 Kim's Simon AMPS 87 +1/73 +3/69 +5/70 ? define LC,M

kim and simon said:
Question: What percentage of carbs puts a food in the LC, MC, or HC category?

I THINK it's less than 10%=LC, 10-17%=MC, 18%+=HC

How long does a food rise in BG take to show up

KT's shows up from wet food about 20 minutes afterward but hard takes an hour or longer.

how long will food affect a BG reading?

It's according to what food....most lc seems to work thru KT's system within 2 hours or so while hard food takes usually 5-6 cycles.

What are some general principles of managing a curve with food? Is this written somewhere?

I remember reading it in the stickies somewhere but I don't remember where so I'll skip this one... :roll:

Does a super LC food like 0-1% have its place?

I use super LC's when he's got a nice run going and I want him to surf.

Now you have my two cents....probably ain't worth much more than that.... :-D :-D

HUGS
 
Thanks, Lyresa! That helps!

The thing I still don't "get" is why if we miss a mid-day or midnight snack, his BG is actually higher at the next shot. One train of thought is this--he goes lower without his snack and then he rebounds higher. . .is this what happens? The straightforward thought is that food raises BG, but I know it's more complex.

Simon seems to be making progress on his pre shots in the last few cycles! Do I just keep holding until he goes under 50. . .even though he's under 100 all day?
 
For some reason, and I am embarrassed that I cannot recall the reasoning behind it, that +9 snack that we used for Binks seemed to LOWER his preshot.
I do recall that Libby mentioned that the late cycle snack was an experiment that only seemed to work for some kitties, yet had taken on a 'life of it's own" in Lantus Land-
and I REALLY recall all the kitty complaints when we took the +9 snack away. :lol: :lol:

But it really DID work for Binks....so his got reinstated.
I vaguely recall that it had to do with encouraging a 'sputtering pancreas'...
and wish that I had a better memory - I searched for the info for Angela & Blackie and couldn't seem to find the discussion thread.

I know Libby is awfully busy elsewhere, but maybe a pm to her could shed some light on the subject?
 
Lyresa's breakdown on carb counts is correct.

Largely with food, ECID. Some cats are very carb sensitive -- others are not. For some cats, 1% may be just fine and they get a substantial bump in numbers from 3%. Jill's Alex is very carb sensitive and a piece of freeze dried chicken will bump her numbers up 30 points. I didn't see a difference between feeding Gabby a raw diet (1%) vs. Wellness at 4%. How sensitive a cat is to carbs is more likely to dictate how quick the response is to carbs. A lot of how long the response to carbs may be depends on where in the cycle you're feeding. There's likely less of an effect early in the cycle than late in the cycle when the effect of insulin is waning. This latter point is what Celi is referring to. If a cat's pancreas is working, a little bit of food will stimulate the pancreas and drop the pre-shot number. If the pancreas isn't reliably working, food after nadir may only cause numbers to rise further.

Seafood is a big issue. I wouldn't give a male cat a steady diet of seafood.
 
Well, Simon might be one of the ones with a sputtering-to-start back up pancreas! I think those late snacks do help him. My DH asked me "How many times does Simon eat again? I find bowls EVERYWHERE!" (Note--the drooler licks them, pushing them into various corners :lol: :lol: )

Sienne, why are male cats more sensitive to seafood?

I just got Simon to eat the Wellness Turkey and Salmon, but Salmon is not the first ingredient--he eats it better than any of the other Wellness. But we have Fortiflora for the other varieties! I guess we can keep it as a one can a week treat.
 
I believe it's phosphorus - seafood is high in phosphorus.

That being said, BK eats all fish flavors and knock on wood no problems.

I do add a good bit of water to all his meals - I think that's really important for urinary tract health.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top