Re: 3/16 HANK AMPS 348, +9.15-130, PM+11:55-140-** NEED EYES!!!
Some of this is trial and error. I know that it's frustrating. We're also trying to be sensitive to your situation -- late shots, company coming, the newness and resultant panic and feeling overwhelmed. We've all been there and really do understand. Just as importantly, we want to find a dose that you are comfortable shooting twice a day and that is safe.
Like CD and Libby suggested,
0.25u is the new dose. Shoot this amount in the AM and PM. Hold this dose for 3 days unless you get a test and the number is less than 50. I don't think you will see that low of a number. In the off chance that you do see low numbers:
- If you have numbers in the 50 - 70 range, feed a teaspoon or two of LC food. This should help to keep Hank surfing in this range which is good for pancreatic healing.
- If numbers are in the 40 - 50 range, feed a teaspoon or two of MC (drizzle some HC gravy over LC food). The idea is to bump up numbers into the 50 or higher range.
- less than 40 feed a teaspoon or two of HC for the same purpose as above.
- With numbers below 50, re-test in 15 min. and feed if numbers aren't rising. Repeat this until numbers are bumped up. (We call this lather, rinse, repeat.)Once you get two rising or stable, above 50 numbers, test in 30 min. to make sure numbers don't drop again. If numbers stay up after 2 tests, you're good to go.
Food is the best way to steer numbers. Leave food out overnight. As long as Hank will eat if his numbers are dropping, he'll be fine. I give Gabby lots of snacks. They help to keep her surfing or to slow down drops.
I know your schedule is going to be hectic over the next week. If you can test and give as much advance notice as possible if you need help, it will make it easier to get you the info that you want if there's more time. People are on and off the Board. Tonight I was logged in and dozed off. If we can migrate your times a little earlier after company is gone, that may help the night time sleep issues but let's not worry about that now. (Fair warning, if Hank does go into remission, there will be late nights!) I wish I could promise that Hank will allow you to stick to a perfect 12/12 schedule. Until you have the data and are comfortable shooting low, the options I listed out in my previous post apply. The most frequently used option is stalling and it does play havoc with schedules. You will get progressively more comfortable with shooting low numbers. If you read condos, you will see people make that transition from being afraid of low pre-shot numbers to becoming confident. It just takes time and patience.
Keep in mind that numbers do curve down over the course of the Lantus cycle. This is normal. It's not until you are closer to regulation that you will start seeing very flat cycles.
Please keep in mind that Hank is in change. You can try to move heaven and earth to keep him "mild and copacetic, and even. and not rock any boats" but, it's all up to Hank's pancreas. These guys read your condo and then shake things up -- or not. It depends on their mood and probably how many treats you gave him vs. how many he thinks he deserves.