3/16 Buddy AMPS 363 (1.50u), PMPS 370 (1.75u) dose increase

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/16 Buddy AMPS 363 (1.50u)

Sorry I asked you a question yesterday and didn't come back to finish the discussion. :oops:

sommerbethel said:
I wasn't sure about increasing the insulin while trying the food thing...I know that when we change a cats diet we usually hold the dose in case the food has a positive affect on the blood sugar. Do you think I should go by that theory or should I do the increase and the diet "change" at the same time or should I hold off on the insulin increase for a few days to see if there are any significant changes??? Any advice would be lovely :)

I don't like seeing Buddy's spreadsheet these colors when he was doing so well so recently. I would be aggressive with his insulin dosing (increase every 6 cycles) until he gets back where he was, regardless of the food change. For some reason he has lost momentum, we don't know why but we should try to fix it before he gets used to these higher numbers again. The down side is that if he does start to improve right away, you won't know for sure if it was the food or the insulin. I just want to see improvement, how ever we get it. That's my opinion, your mileage may vary. ;-)
 
Re: 3/16 Buddy AMPS 363 (1.50u)

Libby and Lucy said:
Sorry I asked you a question yesterday and didn't come back to finish the discussion. :oops:

sommerbethel said:
I wasn't sure about increasing the insulin while trying the food thing...I know that when we change a cats diet we usually hold the dose in case the food has a positive affect on the blood sugar. Do you think I should go by that theory or should I do the increase and the diet "change" at the same time or should I hold off on the insulin increase for a few days to see if there are any significant changes??? Any advice would be lovely :)

I don't like seeing Buddy's spreadsheet these colors when he was doing so well so recently. I would be aggressive with his insulin dosing (increase every 6 cycles) until he gets back where he was, regardless of the food change. For some reason he has lost momentum, we don't know why but we should try to fix it before he gets used to these higher numbers again. The down side is that if he does start to improve right away, you won't know for sure if it was the food or the insulin. I just want to see improvement, how ever we get it. That's my opinion, your mileage may vary. ;-)

ugh...I don't know what to do...I guess if I increase tonight and still feed the old food and his numbers improve we will know soon enough when I run out of the old food if the food has something to do with it...right?
 
Re: 3/16 Buddy AMPS 363 (1.50u)

sommerbethel said:
ugh...I don't know what to do...I guess if I increase tonight and still feed the old food and his numbers improve we will know soon enough when I run out of the old food if the food has something to do with it...right?

I would think so. That's probably what I would do, but if you want to try the food thing first then go for it.

I can totally relate, when Lucy ran down the dosing scale the first time I thought she was going OTJ, then all of a sudden her numbers turned back to yellow/pink. I took her to the vet, I tried a couple of new cartridges, I tried an old cartridge, I tried a new meter and strips, food, everything. I was so frustrated because everything changed so quickly. Finally I just had to go back up the dosing ladder again, and she got a new breakthrough and finally did go OTJ. It took me a while to admit that I just needed to get busy and increase the dose, and I wish I had done it sooner because I think the process might have gone faster and maybe she wouldn't have had to go allllll the way back up. That might not be what is going on with Buddy, but it looks pretty similar to me.
 
Re: 3/16 Buddy AMPS 363 (1.50u)

Libby and Lucy said:
sommerbethel said:
ugh...I don't know what to do...I guess if I increase tonight and still feed the old food and his numbers improve we will know soon enough when I run out of the old food if the food has something to do with it...right?

I would think so. That's probably what I would do, but if you want to try the food thing first then go for it.

I can totally relate, when Lucy ran down the dosing scale the first time I thought she was going OTJ, then all of a sudden her numbers turned back to yellow/pink. I took her to the vet, I tried a couple of new cartridges, I tried an old cartridge, I tried a new meter and strips, food, everything. I was so frustrated because everything changed so quickly. Finally I just had to go back up the dosing ladder again, and she got a new breakthrough and finally did go OTJ. It took me a while to admit that I just needed to get busy and increase the dose, and I wish I had done it sooner because I think the process might have gone faster and maybe she wouldn't have had to go allllll the way back up. That might not be what is going on with Buddy, but it looks pretty similar to me.

ok...an increase to 1.75u it is...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top