3/15 - Xander | AMPS 359, +3 322, +6 272 - Failed reduction? Stick with dose?

Brianna & Xander

Member Since 2024
3/14/25

Posted in the morning and then was kinda absent all day yesterday, so sorry for the late responses! Not sure if I'm coming down with something or if I've had a migraine for the past couple days (more likely the latter). Either way, haven't felt well so I haven't been around much.

Xander's been at this dose for 10 cycles now and the lowest nadir I've seen is 203. Wondering if maybe this is a failed reduction, but he did go under 40 right before I reduced, so kind of afraid of going back to 2 units. Or should I just stick with the 1.75 for longer?

Hope everyone's having a nice, relaxing Saturday!
 
3/14/25

Posted in the morning and then was kinda absent all day yesterday, so sorry for the late responses! Not sure if I'm coming down with something or if I've had a migraine for the past couple days (more likely the latter). Either way, haven't felt well so I haven't been around much.

Xander's been at this dose for 10 cycles now and the lowest nadir I've seen is 203. Wondering if maybe this is a failed reduction, but he did go under 40 right before I reduced, so kind of afraid of going back to 2 units. Or should I just stick with the 1.75 for longer?

Hope everyone's having a nice, relaxing Saturday!
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Angela & Cleo
@Bandit's Mom
Thanks ladies
 
Hope you feel better soon. I suffer from migraines as well and I understand. He could certainly benefit from more insulin. That said, no harm in waiting until tomorrow morning so you can get some sleep tonight, especially since you're not feeling your best.

He was under 40 5 days ago on 2 units. Is it likely that he'll go back down if I already increase him back up? Agreed on not doing it tonight though!

I'm sorry that you also suffer with migraines, but it's nice to have someone around who understands how debilitating they are!
 
Think of insulin as the hormone that it is. Hormone needs can and do change. A dose that was too much a month ago can be too little now.
You've given in 10 cycles on the reduced dose and haven't seen any blues. Up you go :cat:.

Ah, that makes sense. Less like a drug where the dosage yields a fairly consistent result.

I just wanted to make sure! I know with so many spreadsheets to look at every day that little details might get missed so I just wanted to double check.

Thank you, Angela! Will increase tomorrow (assuming I'm feeling better enough to be able to monitor closely).

Edit: Oh jeez. Literally as I posted this response we got a 193 at +8.5. Guess if I'm not doing it tonight anyway I do still have another cycle to see if this gets anything better.
 
There is nothing like the threat of an increase to get lower numbers :rolleyes:

I hope you feel better! Safe surfing and good luck with the decision tomorrow.

Haha, apparently! It was literally as I agreed to increase that suddenly he dropped into the blues. Hasn't gone below 150 yet, but still a big sudden improvement. Curious what tonight and tomorrow might bring. Not sure now if I should still increase or wait to see if he manages to go under 150 now that he's showing some real action again.
 
Sorry that you're not feeling well! And also while trying to decipher what's happening with his numbers and if Xander gets an increase. Hope you get some rest tonight in the meantime :bighug:
 
I hope you feel better, Brianna! Safe surfing, Xander! :bighug::cat::bighug:
Sorry that you're not feeling well! And also while trying to decipher what's happening with his numbers and if Xander gets an increase. Hope you get some rest tonight in the meantime :bighug:

Thank you, Madeline & Briana! ❤️:bighug: Hopefully it'll be a nice quiet night and I'll wake up feeling normal.
 
Are you still following TR?

I'm not sure what the significance of Xander being at 150 is. With TR, doses are reduced if a newly diagnosed cat's blood glucose drops below 50 vs with SLGS, the reduction is at 90. Looking at Xander's spreadsheet, I would increase the dose.
 
Are you still following TR?

I'm not sure what the significance of Xander being at 150 is. With TR, doses are reduced if a newly diagnosed cat's blood glucose drops below 50 vs with SLGS, the reduction is at 90. Looking at Xander's spreadsheet, I would increase the dose.

I guess just that generally for him if he finally goes down that far, he usually continues down further. Seems to be some kind of benchmark of things actually working. Nothing specific!

Yeah, I'm still following TR. My only reason for not increasing the dose yet was because I had reduced it directly after a <40 hypo. Just wasn't sure if there'd be a particularly bad bounce I had to clear first or if it was smart to immediately go right back up to the dose that was dangerous 5 days prior.
 
Back
Top