Princess mother
Member Since 2015
Low preshot for Princess at 77. Any suggestions?
Marie
Marie
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours
Note
: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Lather, Rinse, and Repeat!
- As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases. If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change). Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
Hi Amy,Has she eaten? How long after the 77 was the 107? It helps to know if that 107 was influence by food, or if it was a natural rise.
Since you are doing SLGS, I actually believe Princess has earned a reduction. This is from the SLGS sticky. Since Princess has nadired below 90, her dose should now be .50U. (This is the link to the sticky: Start low, Go Slow
With that said, do you feel comfortable shooting tonight? Are you able to get tests - do you have plenty of tests strips and high carb food and/or karo syrup on hand? This 107 is comparable to the 98 you shot the other day, so as long as you're able to check on things and you feel comfortable about it, you should be able to shoot tonight.
No confusion. No worries. I'll watch the numbers. Thanks.I just realized you're using the AT and not a human meter. I do think you're still in reduction range, but others with more experienced eyes may tell you differently...and if they do, please listen to them and not me!
If you have already shot .50u tonight and it turns out I was wrong about the reducie, it's fine...you can take her back up tomorrow. I'm sorry for possibly confusing you!!
Thanks, Julie. Her +1 is now 113. I'll continue to test.I agree with Amy about the dose reduction to 0.5u. Princess' ss is looking pretty good - some cats go down the dosing scale quickly once they begin to get dose reductions, so be aware of that.
Since you shot a pretty low number, I'd get a +1 and a +2, just to know what she has in mind tonight. If she dips below 68 you need to intervene with carbs to bring her back up over 68. That's the number that we use for ATs for cats on the TR Protocol, but we don't have a document that lists a number for AT cut-off besides that. So if she goes below 68, pop open a can of high carb gravy cat food, give her a teaspoon or two of the gravy, then post here and ask for help.
It's helpful if you edit the subject line as the night goes along when people are watching you, like tonight, to reflect any current tests. You can edit the subject line using "thread tools" on the top right side of your post.
If a serum chemistry analyzer or plasma-equivalent meter calibrated for feline blood is used (eg, AlphaTRAK, Abbott Animal Health, Abbott Laboratories, Abott Park, Illinois), the measurements at the low end of the range need to be adjusted and are 30% to 40% higher than for a whole-blood meter calibrated for human blood.
Hi Marje,If you are doing SLGS, you might have missed a couple reductions. SLGS calls for a reduction at 90 on a human meter. Although it doesn't give the number for an AT, the latest info from Roomp and Rand's Management of diabetic Cats estimates the difference between the AT and human meters is 30-40% at lower ranges:
You might find Princess will need another reduction within the next few cycles.
To be honest, I'm not sure what method I am using. I think its the " test and ask for help method"!She is looking tightly regulated and you test enough to do TR so I'm not sure why you chose SLGS but it doesn't matter. We are happy to support you either way but the reduction BG for SLGS, on a human meter, is 90 vs 50 for TR. Since you are using an AT, it would be 68 for TR but we don't really have a number for SLGS on the AT so I was just giving you a heads up....it could be around 120 on the AT.
It may be the TR method. So if I am understanding this correctly, using an Alpha trak, i may need to reduce under 120?To be honest, I'm not sure what method I am using. I think its the " test and ask for help method"!![]()