3/15 Max AMBG 144~(+24.25) PMPS 163~+4 161

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

Happy Sunny Monday LL.

Looks like Mr. Max had another rollercoaster day, bottoming to a 29 las night.
So the decision has been made to get some shed depletion out of Max and then
re-evalute what his dose should be going forward.
I hope this does not stall his progress and that we have to start back at square one.
And here I thought his Mr. P was working so well. Guess I don't know.

Max was very happy this morning though and even went to sit by the patio door and
see if he could see some animals outside, now that the snow has melted and no longer
blocking his view.
Question for today testing. He cannot go hypo without insulin, right but when should I test
during the day (for sure the +10/+11) so we can decide on dose.
Just wondering if I should leave him till maybe a +6 or +4?
Oh and since there is a new Max on board I was wondering if I should change up My Max's name up so there is no confusion. Suggestions are welcome. :-D
Thanks and have a great day.

ETA: No shot given this morning as recommended.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144 - No shot

Max really likes to keep everyone on their toes, doesn't he?! Good luck with the shed depletion today...hope it does the trick and the experts can find a good dose for tonight. As far as names, go, perhaps one of his nicknames? Mad Max? :mrgreen:

Have a great day, Randi! I'm sure Max will enjoy his break from all the testing.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144 - No shot

Hi Randi, hey Mad Max sounds good :lol:

this might be overboard but if it were me, I'd get a +3, +6, maybe a +9 and the +11 for sure

hope you have a good day!
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144 - No shot

Just to clarify, I don't know that Max will be starting over at 1.0u. It's possible but it's not a given.

I think we can figure out who's Max is whose. We've had two Morris'.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144 - No shot

Mr. Max sounds like a good name. But I don't think that just plain Max would be confusing. Stu and I hope that you will figure out what to do with the dosing.
Ella
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144 - No shot

I vote for Mad Max :roll: or maniac Max or roller coaster Max or muzzy Max or muddled Max or even mixed up Max.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144 - No shot

Thanks for all of the suggestions guys.
Yeah, I guess it won't be too difficult to figure out which is which.
He knows how to keep us on our toes.
Who ever said sleep is overrated?? (Sienne, lol)
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+4 191~+6 167

Of course I still had to have Max tested today to see what his numbrs look
like without a shot this morning.

He is holding his onw, surfing the blues and even brought himswlf down from +4 to +6.
I will test him again at +10, (5:00pm) and hopefully we can see
what to do with him going forward, especially tonight.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+ 4 191~+6 167

This is just so flippin' exciting! I can hardly wait for the next test when you come home! I sure hope Max gives some beautiful numbers so you can shoot your dose AND get some sleep! I'm sleepy just thinking about how hard you've been working on him the past week.

Best of luck!
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+ 4 191~+6 167

CD and BigMac said:
This is just so flippin' exciting! I can hardly wait for the next test when you come home! I sure hope Max gives some beautiful numbers so you can shoot your dose AND get some sleep! I'm sleepy just thinking about how hard you've been working on him the past week.

Best of luck!

CD, so glad you are excited over this, lol.
Next time take me on that nice vacation you were on.

The million dollar question for later is to shoot which dose. :lol: :lol:
How many has Max been on in the past few days.
Max has thrown out the rule book.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+ 4 191~+6 167

What? Sure there is a rule book; you just don't know the name of it.

It's called "Mad Max Manual"
Comes with a disclaimer .... read and follow at your own risk. :twisted:
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 - PM Dose Advice

So here we are at +10, 173

Recap today:
+4 191
+6 167

I will post again at +11 and see what the opinion is as to what I should do with
Max tonight.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 - PM Dose Advice

Wow Randi....who would ever have thunk it? :o
I have absolutely no advice but I am hugging you both and giggling with glee....this is so crazy for YOU but seriously, is this the breakthrough dose to beat ALL breakthrough doses? What a story! Max will go down in FD history!!
You are doing a fabulous job! Keep up the great work! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 - PM Dose Advice

Interesting... :mrgreen:

Ok, lemme find somebody to powwow with (poor Max, he's thinking that he's getting as many tests without a shot as with one, where's the incentive?).

I don't think we're thinking to start over at 1 unit, we don't want to start over with increases, we just want to get through the decreases safely.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 ~+11 160- PM Dose Advice

Makes sense to me Libby, just fighting with DH about it.
I agree with bringing him down safely rather than shooting too low a dose
and he stays in the blues and then I need to increase.

But, how much do I really know anymore at this point.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 ~+11 160- PM Dose Advice

Mad Max's Making Mama Mad (crazy) Manual

How does that sound? After catching up this morning (thankfully, Six is following modified Tilly so I was able to go to bed at a decent hour - I will try to get him to talk to Max), I thought to myself...I bet his numbers don't go whacko today.

Obviously, he still is playing with FD, but man, he has one huge shed!!!!

Good luck with the +11 and the new dose.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 ~+11 160- PM Dose Advice

thanks, randi. we'll be waiting for the +11.75.
we want to see if he's going up or bringing himself down.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+10 173 ~+11 160- PM Dose Advice

Jill & Alex said:
thanks, randi. we'll be waiting for the +11.75.
we want to see if he's going up or bringing himself down.

As if he would make it easy for you and either go up or keep going down.
160 @ +11
157 @ +11.75

How does flat look to you?
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Honest Randi, Shadoe had nothing to do with telling Max to go flat like she does.
:roll:
We'll all be watching with fingers and paws crossed.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

how do you feel about shooting 1.5 units? it's conservative without being overly conservative. we've been tossing around 1u and 1.5u.
it's impossible to tell if it's too much or not enough insulin, but we'll have a better idea by seeing what happens tonight. what does dh think? he's been right more often than not. lol!
have hc?
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Jill & Alex said:
how do you feel about shooting 1.5 units? it's conservative without being overly conservative. we've been tossing around 1u and 1.5u.
it's impossible to tell if it's too much or not enough insulin, but we'll have a better idea by seeing what happens tonight. what does dh think? he's been right more often than not. lol!
have hc?
First DH said 1 a couple of hours ago. Now we are talking and he said no insulin and test him tonight and see where he goes in the morning.

I do not want to start over again and build more shed and keep increasing every 6 cycles, if I don't have too but then again, max will do what he wants.
I was thinking the dose would be Max 2, minimum 1.

Got lots of HC, bottle of Karo and 500 hundred test strips.
Just don't feel like being up all night.

Guess I didn't really answer you did I?
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

we can't really say for sure that you won't be up all night if you shoot. I hope not, we're looking for a dose that Max can maintain his green surf on, but not 40's green, 60's would be nice. :mrgreen: We can see today that zero isn't enough (yet), and we can see that 3 is most likely too much. If you want to try 1 unit, that's ok too. If it's not enough, we'll know soon enough, and we can be more aggressive than usual with increases.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

shoot whatever you and dh are comfortable shooting. we can make any adjustments as needed, if needed.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Mad Max is right... that boy is on a mission!
Don't wanna interfere with PMPS... just watching and cheering!
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Jill & Alex said:
shoot whatever you and dh are comfortable shooting. we can make any adjustments as needed, if needed.

I think I want to shoot 1.5, DH says 1, less is more he says.
Not sure what that means. I guess we can meet in the middle?? Fat 1, or 1.25
I don't think yet 1 is enough. Let go to test, it's already 12.15.
brb
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

+12.15

So I flipped a coin.
I told Max that if he went down I would shoot a 1u and if he went up I would
shoot 1.5.

He stayed the same.
Oh this is awful. I have no idea what I am doing
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

just go with 1u then and don't sweat it.
tonight's cycle will provide some valuable data. everything's good. :-D
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Why not just go smack dab in the middle with 1.25?
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Max is showing his comic side. :lol:

I agree with Jill, go with 1 unit and we'll see what happens. Maybe he'll like that dose and want to keep it!
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Seeing that I am so torn because I have always been aggressive I feel less true to myself by
being conservative and almost BCS, since 1.5 is 50% more insulin.
However, I am hoping Max might come down slowly and nicely and surf nice high greens
by shooting the 1 rather than than 1.5 and possible bottoming him out.

Guess we are all learning.

As someone has said to me many times (Jill) there is more insulin where that comes from, right.
Going to go feed, and shoot 1.

Calling PMPS 163,
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

randi and dh,
we're in unchartered territory with max. we don't know why max is careening down the dosing scale, but "do no harm" is first and foremost. shooting 1u tonight will provide some very valuable data. and yes, if he needs more insulin, we'll see it and give it to him.
sorry, this is so nerve wracking. imo, going down the dosing scale is much harder than going up.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~+11 160~+11.75 157- PM Dose Advice

Jill & Alex said:
randi and dh,
we're in unchartered territory with max. we don't know why max is careening down the dosing scale, but "do no harm" is first and foremost. shooting 1u tonight will provide some very valuable data. and yes, if he needs more insulin, we'll see it and give it to him.
sorry, this is so nerve wracking. imo, going down the dosing scale is much harder than going up.
Now I think I will cry Jill. Reminding me of "do no harm", this is what you (plural) are all about.
Your attention and caring are amazing and I know Max and I are safe.
I could not even remember how to measure a 1 unit and pushing the plunger in, I was, that's all. :-D
You are so right that this is so much harder, and I thought the going up was hard, after all, 6u is a long way up compared to many kitties here.
Last night Libby threw out possible reasons why Max might be doing this, one was glucose toxicity. I googled that today and it could fit Max. Very interesting.
Well I will do a +2 and take the rest of the night from there and see if I go the fill 6 hours staying awake and checking.

3 cheers for all of you "angels", friends supporting us, and the star of the hour (okay more than an hour) Max.
Check out the new signature - antijinx
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~ PMPS 163

I have to say that I giggled at the results of the coin toss. I hope you and DH (and Max) get some sleep tonight. I'm beginning to think sleep is highly under-rated!
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~ PMPS 163

Awww, sniff...snifff... I LOVE the new signature. Unbelievable, knowing where you came from a just short time ago.
 
Re: 3/15 Max AMBG 144~ PMPS 163

This is a real success story!! Look how the coin can turn in just a few days!!
Guess Max is just ready to heal!! WHOOO HOOOOO!!! dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: 3/15 Max - (+24.25)PMPS 163; +2 152

Randi & Max said:
Last night Libby threw out possible reasons why Max might be doing this, one was glucose toxicity. I googled that today and it could fit Max. Very interesting.

yes, it's certainly possible what we've seen with max could be a stubborn case of glucose toxicity which required a higher dose of insulin to break through... in other words, max may simply be a high dose cat.

other explanations would include acromegaly or IAA. i'm not mentioning these other conditions to scare you (we've talked about them before)... rather to make you aware of all the possibilities. we've seen similar rapid reductions required with acros and IAA kitties. in the case of an acro kitty, insulin needs may be dramatically reduced if the adenoma in the pituitary gland ceases to produce the excess growth hormone. in the case of an IAA kitty, insulin requirements are reduced rapidly when insulin resistance is overcome.
 
I like how you changed the time Jill.
Max cam down a bit at the +2 now back up but I guess mostly flat.
Gosh it feels like air being let out of a balloon.
I'm not even going to ask for predictions on this 1u dose and will take it day by day
but my gut is telling me, it's too low.
Well at least I can go to bed before a +6 for a change.
 
Randi,
That 1u may be not enough but at least it gets you a decent nite's sleep and no worries about numbers like 29!
One day at a time is a good way to go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top