3/15 Lucy PMPS=191;+2=167;+4=131;+5.25=130

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Happy Saturday!

Yesterday's condo

Yesterday
AMPS=139 (0.75u); +1=167; +2=200; +8=187
PMPS=193 (0.75u); +1=209; +2=185; +3=158; +4=169; +5=169; +6=153; +7=155; +8=146; +9=126; +10=122

Today
AMPS=130 (f0.75u); +1=144; +2=167; +4=191; +6=187; +10=155
PMPS=191 (f0.75u); +2=167; +4=131; +5.25=130

Lucy is feeling good and her appetite this morning was very good too!!! :-D
I increased the dose from 0.75 to fat 0.75 this morning.

I did a curve last night.
I'm glad I did it because I learnt that her curve now has a new trend.
Typically, her onset/nadir have been early, or at least her PM+2 has been lower than PMPS.
AM cycles are a little different because she gets her steroids with breakfast.
But since Tuesday or so, I've been seeing a higher +2 than usual, and overall higher numbers.
Last night, she went up and then kept sliding down until AMPS (I missed +11...couldn't wake up), but the slide was gentle with no drama, so that's good.

I think that the current batch of 3oz Wellness Turkey might be giving her a bigger food spike than usual.
She was eating 5.5oz Wellness before Tuesday, but since Tuesday her preferred food has changed to 3oz Turkey.
The timing is just a bit too suspicious.
So I'm going to the store to see if I can get a different batch of 3oz Wellness Turkey.
It's probably a long shot, but it's possible... for example if they changed a source of potato, that could change the amount of carbohydrates, couldn't it?
It will be interesting to see what happens.

I've only added a "fat" to her dose instead of giving a full 0.25u increase.
Her appetite has been on/off, and I feel less anxious to take the dosecrease more slowly, both in timing and amount.
I've come to realize that it's unlikely for Lucy to go OTJ with the steroids and all the other issues, so my target now is to bring her numbers to the range where she feels good in the way that feels comfortable for both of us.
Even though Lucy is mostly flat, she does something dramatic once in a while, and I don't have the confidence/experience to calculate the risk.
I particularly HATE to have to leave for work while wondering "will she surf?", so I'd rather go safe and take zero chances. Well maybe never a zero chance with cats... but as less risk as possible.
I feel bad about not following the TP strictly.
Please know that I'm not abandoning the TP.... maybe one day when I'm more confident.
In the meantime, thank you for letting me post here. :-D

I hope everyone is having a nice day! Healing vines to all in need!
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy AMPS=130;+1=144;+2=167;+4=191;+6=187

Hi Mariko:

Glad to see Lucy is feeling well and eating well today. That was some curve you did last night! Did she get grouchy after a while? Cinco hates it if I test every two hours. I don't know if he'd ever let me do every hour for 12 straight!

Good luck with the dosecrease. You have to do what is best for Lucy, no matter what, so I'm sure you're making the right decisions. You know your cat best. Sending lots of good vines.
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy AMPS=130;+1=144;+2=167;+4=191;+6=187

I'm glad you were able to get the curve done so you could see what's going on with Lucy. I hope the dosecrease brings some nicer numbers. I hope you find a good dose that will keep her safe and that you feel comfortable with. You have to do what is best for you and Lucy and you know your cat the best.
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy AMPS=130;+1=144;+2=167;+4=191;+6=187

Hi Mariko,

Don't feel bad about the protocol. You have to make a decision that you feel comfortable with, and even if you don't strictly follow the tight protocol, there's always a chance of remission. Cats are amazing creatures! :-D

Best wishes!
Shelly
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy PMPS=191

Thank you for your support, Tricia, Angela, Carla and Shelly. :-D
Lucy ate the 1st dinner well, and seems to be feeling good this evening!

I was wondering why I wasn't tired earlier today after the PM cycle curve with little sleep, but it's hitting me now.
I didn't get a nap this afternoon since I went for yet another catfood hunting....
I'm not going to bed yet but I'm going to doze off between tests this evening.
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy PMPS=191

Mariko, you are dong a wonderful job :-D . I've had to change following the protocol a bit sometimes and so do others...just so they are safe, especially with work involved. In a perfect world the kitties would follow the rules :lol: . Wow on the curve, I bet you sleep good tonight! Chyna would be pretty angry if I did every hour all night :? . I hope your shopping trip was successful and that you have a nice relaxing evening ;-) .
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy PMPS=191

Hi Mariko,
What a nice Lucy report! Good luck with the dosecrease - don't apologize for changing the rules to keep your kitty safe! We all have to try and make this sugar dance blend in with our real world, so rules were made to be tweated :lol:

Hope you are having a good night, and you get some sleep :-D
 
Re: 3/15 Lucy PMPS=191;+2=167

Wow, Lucy was patient wasn't she to get that curve done? I swear Cain was sighing at me when I was doing two hour checks. :lol:

Good luck with the increase! Cats just like messing with the rules don't they?

Sleep well tonight. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top