3/15 - Gryphen - PMPS 109 +2 77 +3 84

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
Hello! Of course on the very first day I switch to a new meter, Gryphen goes below 90!! :banghead:

She was lower than normal at PMPS, but I didn't cut the cord on the AlphaTrak2 yet; I'm doing both right now for the AM/PM PS. I was comfortable giving her a 1/2 dose (.25) at the number on the AT2, even though the RP number was new to me...learning curve and all. I've shot that number (150 on the AT2) - and a tiny bit lower - before and she doesn't have large drops like Alphyne does (my vet gave me the reduced dosage numbers).

But, that put her +2 reading on the RP at a 77. Which means reduce the dose per the RP? And obviously keep a close eye on her, as with her limited data, her nadir is between +4 and +6.

She does get her last meal about 8:30 (+3), and she was at 84. I'll do another test at +4.

I'm honestly not overly worried about a hypo, as I've shot her at these numbers with a reduced dose before.

But, the question now is...do I reduce the dose? I really caused a conundrum here; once again, my girls can't do anything the easy way. I was expecting different numbers, but not only one reduce dose number.

I'm thinking maybe switching meters right now wasn't such a good idea. :facepalm: My girls are going to give me a heart attack.

Thoughts? Thank you - AGAIN!!

(previous) 3/14 - starting human meter tomorrow - wish us luck!! | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Thank you. I think it's confusing since I gave a half dose, and that's when she went under 90. I'm not very knowledgeable on the depot yet. :(
 
Just wanted to make sure you don't reduce further from 0.25U
I love that you double checked! I was thinking it had to be .25, or I would have reduced her to 0 (following protocol). Maybe down to .1 would have made sense, but I definitely would have asked first! Ha!!! ;)

She's running around like a mad woman right now, so I'm glad she feels good. I feel like I need a shot of whiskey and a week of sleep, but Alphyne isn't going to let that happen, apparently. If it's not one, it's the other!!
 
She's running around like a mad woman right now, so I'm glad she feels good. I feel like I need a shot of whiskey and a week of sleep, but Alphyne isn't going to let that happen, apparently. If it's not one, it's the other!!
They really do enjoy the normal numbers once they get used to it! You really have your hands full with two sugar babies! :-)

Btw, could you please take off the "?" prefix and the question on your thread title, so folks know that you no longer have a question that needs an answer? Thanks!
 
Back
Top