3/15 Disco AMBG 41, Fed 1tsp HC/+12.75 69/AMPS 58/+.5 47/+1 147/+2 147/+7 280/PMPS 293/+2.5 226

Teri & Disco NoFurNo (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday 3/14: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...8-pmps-237-3-279-9-25-68.227038/#post-2543574

@Wendy&Neko

OhMyCod! This cat is driving me crazy!

@Nan & Amber (GA)

Last night, I decided to sleep through the night and not set the alarm for the multiple spot tests I’ve been doing because his +3 was higher than his PMPS.

And what does he do? He breaks his bounce big-time and goes down to 61 at +9.5 and I fed him 2 tsp MC and his AMBG was 41.

I know it’s feed the 40’s so I went ahead and fed him 1 teaspoon of HC. I should’ve asked first? I’ll retest him in 30 min. I am assuming I won’t be able to shoot since I fed...
 
Last edited:
:eek: :eek: :eek: !!!

No, you did exactly the right thing! 41 is nothing to fool around with, I might have even given more than 1tsp of the HC there.

We'll see on the skip... if he's already made his turnaround and obviously on the way up it's possible you'll be able to shoot in an hour or so even with a food influence, but wait and see.

Yeesh, Disco!
 
What's your overnight feeding routine again? Do you have an autofeeder, or is it a problem with the multiple cats?
Last night was a change in my routine, as I usually wake up every three hours or so and spot test him and feed him a couple of teaspoons of LC unless his numbers are over 300.

So I haven’t been using my automatic feeder although I have it set.

I stayed up late last night watching a movie and he did get his 2 teaspoons of LC last evening at +3 and right before I went to bed at midnight.
 
Last edited:
Aha... So that implies that your normal feeding intervals were probably helping to stave off this kind of thing. But you have to sleep, too! Might be a good idea to start experimenting with the autofeeder option. You won't get the overnight test data that way, but Disco will get his snacks and you can get some zzzzzzz's. Win-win!
 
Aha... So that implies that your normal feeding intervals were probably helping to stave off this kind of thing. But you have to sleep, too! Might be a good idea to start experimenting with the autofeeder option. You won't get the overnight test data that way, but Disco will get his snacks and you can get some zzzzzzz's. Win-win!
I do have multiple cats so I can’t guarantee that he would be the one eating it, so I think I will just wake up and feed him because he’s always wakes right up when I do that.

He is pretty much the most food driven of my cats, so he would probably hear that auto feeder start up and hop off the bed but I’m not positive about that.
 
Last edited:
The multiple cats thing is really hard to manage. Him being the most food-driven is a big plus, though. If he's one of those cats that starts to seek out food/act hungry when he starts going low, too, that's another plus. I think it might be worth a try to start employing the autofeeder regularly, and use the get-up-and-feed strategy as a supplement to that.

69 @ +12.75

Great! Test again in 30. That's higher enough that I have hopes it's "him" and not just 1tsp of HC. If he continues to behave at the next test, you might even be able to shoot today!
 
The multiple cats thing is really hard to manage. Him being the most food-driven is a big plus, though. If he's one of those cats that starts to seek out food/act hungry when he starts going low, too, that's another plus. I think it might be worth a try to start employing the autofeeder regularly, and use the get-up-and-feed strategy as a supplement to that.

I have a funny story... When I first bought the feeder years ago when I needed it when I was going away overnight and I couldn’t free feed because Disco was on a diet, I didn’t realize there was an off button. I thought you had to take the batteries out, so for a week or so it started up and he heard that whirr and he ran to the feeder even though it was empty, he was ever hopeful food might be there!

And yes he is with very much more vocal when he is low which is saying a lot because he’s always yelled for food in his gravelly voice
 
58 @ +13.25

Ooof. Not really a clear endorsement, there, but a safe number to shoot, technically. Keeping in mind that this shot won't take effect for a couple hours, how do you feel about it? The other thing to consider is that you only had two cycles of the 2.25U dose before this happened. I think I'd still take the reduction down to 2.0U, though-- 41 at AMPS is pretty low.

What do you think? How do you feel today? You're likely going to be monitoring the rest of the morning no matter what, but how about the rest of the day?
 
Ooof. Not really a clear endorsement, there, but a safe number to shoot, technically. Keeping in mind that this shot won't take effect for a couple hours, how do you feel about it? The other thing to consider is that you only had two cycles of the 2.25U dose before this happened. I think I'd still take the reduction down to 2.0U, though-- 41 at AMPS is pretty low.

What do you think? How do you feel today? You're likely going to be monitoring the rest of the morning no matter what, but how about the rest of the day?
I’m OK with shooting! I’ll go down to 2.0 and I will be home all day my brother is going to run and get human food etc supplies (if there’s any left). Disco as always come up with more HC food so I’m not afraid of him going lower again.
 
Last edited:
Good call to test at +0.5! Not surprised he needs a little more HC bump, should have suggested that as a breakfast supplement. Hopefully effects of that breakfast should be coming on board now to stabilze him some more and get him surfing for a while.

Disco drama again!
 
Whoa, Disco is really keeping you on your toes, Teri! At least you got some solid sleep last night. I hope you keep him afloat and prevent another reduction.
Do you know as odd as it is, even though I didn’t have an alarm set, my sleep app said that I only had a 60% sleep night and on the night before when I woke a few times, I had a 97%...go figure!
 

Attachments

  • 752F8B60-11C0-4037-8621-DAEADFB78165.png
    752F8B60-11C0-4037-8621-DAEADFB78165.png
    145.8 KB · Views: 58
  • 0A222C88-4700-4FA8-B5C1-F5CDCE5A7AC6.png
    0A222C88-4700-4FA8-B5C1-F5CDCE5A7AC6.png
    147.3 KB · Views: 61
Good call to test at +0.5! Not surprised he needs a little more HC bump, should have suggested that as a breakfast supplement. Hopefully effects of that breakfast should be coming on board now to stabilze him some more and get him surfing for a while.

Disco drama again!

@Nan & Amber (GA) should Teri take that reduction to 2? She reduced to 2,25 just 2 cycles ago. Wouldn't the 2.5 depot still be at play?
Of course, if the back-to-back reduction fails, she can always go back up pretty quickly since she is on TR.
 
@Nan & Amber (GA) should Teri take that reduction to 2? She reduced to 2,25 just 2 cycles ago. Wouldn't the 2.5 depot still be at play?
Of course, if the back-to-back reduction fails, she can always go back up pretty quickly since she is on TR.

Good question. To me, it's a bit of a gray area. Not technically back-to-back (that would be in consecutive cycles), but pretty close. What swung the decision for me was the timing (not that a low at AMPS is unusual for Disco, but this is also without some of the +10/+11 info, so he might have been even lower earlier) and just how darn low he was. A couple points lower into the 30's and it would have been automatic.

Against that, Disco has failed a few reductions in the past. I think there's a very good chance that he fails this one too, and that 2.0U is too little insulin for him. I'd just rather have that happen, and have Teri bring him back up to 2.25U in a few days, than to stay on the 2.25U and have him go way too low. As you say, it's an advantage to TR that you can switch up pretty quickly in these situations!
 
Back
Top