3/15: Cedric AMPS 343, PMPS 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

doombuggy

Member Since 2011
Not too pleased with his number lately. I was hoping this would get better and it is not. :sad:
I gave my shift away at work tomorrow, so we will be home to do a curve.
Will try a 4th time today to get rid of his full sharps container at the fire station later today...
 
Re: 3/15: Cedric AMPS 343

doombuggy said:
Not too pleased with his number lately. I was hoping this would get better and it is not. :sad:
I gave my shift away at work tomorrow, so we will be home to do a curve.
Will try a 4th time today to get rid of his full sharps container at the fire station later today...


Oops looks like Cedric didn't get the memo this morning......

I'm lucky here - we can put syringes in the regular trash as long as they are in some sort of plastic container - I use a 2 liter soda bottle. But there's a lot of eye candy at my FD, so I wouldn't mind too much if I had to go there I suppose.....

Em
 
Re: 3/15: Cedric AMPS 343

morrieb1 said:
doombuggy said:
Not too pleased with his number lately. I was hoping this would get better and it is not. :sad:
I gave my shift away at work tomorrow, so we will be home to do a curve.
Will try a 4th time today to get rid of his full sharps container at the fire station later today...


Oops looks like Cedric didn't get the memo this morning......

I'm lucky here - we can put syringes in the regular trash as long as they are in some sort of plastic container - I use a 2 liter soda bottle. But there's a lot of eye candy at my FD, so I wouldn't mind too much if I had to go there I suppose.....

Em
Reminds me of when I first moved here and someone had a car accident in the street by my windows (I was on 3rd fl) and I told my dad about the cute FD gents. His response was to tell me to get to their spagetti diner or whatever and talk it up! LOL

I wish Cedric would get with the program. I am not happy with his numbers; they were so much better last saturday and I don't knwo why they went back up... cat(2)_steam
 
Well part of it was that on Saturday you had just reduced his dose, so those numbers were partly influenced by the 1u from the shot before. Remember Lantus as a cumulative effect with each shot building on the other, so he had part of his shed and part of the new dose. Logically (and we know cats don't follow logic) that would say his ideal dose is somewhere between .75 and 1u, so it could be that if .75 isn't enough and 1u is too much then maybe try skinnying up that 1u.

I'm looking kind of the same thing with Autumn... .5u is too much and earns her an reduction, but .25 apparently just doesn't quite get it for her either. So I went back up tonight, get her down again, then when she earns her reduction again I will try her again on a skinny .5u then .4 then .3 etc.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
How can you do that? the marks on the syringe don't leave room...? I have been putting the black rubber of the bottom of the needle between the 1/2 hash mark and the 1 hash mark, and I just can't see how there is room to make it different? confused_cat
 
Well this is where microdosing comes into play...the way I have done it in the past is ...draw up 1u, then hold the syringe with the needle facing up, slowly twist the plunger until a bead of insulin about the size of a head of a pin forms..that is roughly .10 if insulin expelled. It took me a lot of practice with an used syringe and colored water to get to where I could get 10 drops out of 1u consistently.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top