3/14 Julius AMBG 61 Dosing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitties Momma

Member Since 2011
Hello All
In theory I would be giving him his dose in about 10 minutes, however I am not going to. He just ate, what should I do? He has been getting .5 in the am and pm. I have been trying to be consistent about his dose the last few days, but I know he will take a huge dive if I try and give his shot now. Should I wait a few hrs and retest? if he is over 200 shoot? how does this affect his PM shot? Thanks
 
Re: 3/14 Julius AMPS 61 Dosing advice please

Edit your first post to put in AMBG instead of AMPS. AMPS is only if you shoot that reading. AMBG is if you don't shoot. If you are stalling and still plan on shooting - you would put +12 instead of AMPS. This is just for the future to get faster advice.

I can't provide dosing help though, so bump.
 
You don't have the data yet to shoot this low. It's fine to skip for now. However, this is one of the reasons we encourage getting PM tests. You have no idea how low Julius went last night. Most likely, this is a bounce clearing and you saw a dropping number at PMPS last night. Especially in the case of a dropping number, you need to test. In fact, if you look at Felix's condo from Sat. night, you need to test early and often.

Please take a look at this post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers.

(Sorry -- don't mean to be abrupt -- I'm stealing a few minutes while I'm at work.)
 
Hello I know I need to do PM tests, however with the time change I am working backwards from a 9pm shot, and I go to bed at 9:30-10. I looked at Felix's SS and with all due respect it looks like she tests all day and nite. When do you sleep? Do you get up in the middle of the night and test your cat? is that what I should be doing too? I love Julius very much but I do work and am gone from home between 9:45am and 4:15pm 5 days a week.... I do my best to do a AMBG, and of course his preshot and another test before I leave for work, and when I get home. Once I get him back to a 8pm shot I can do that PM test more...I fully intended to wake up earlier this morning but I have not been sleeping well the last few nites and was truly exhausted!!! I just needed some advice, and I know some people will wait a few hrs and retest and shoot then. I happen to be off work today, so that would have been an option, if I was going to work I would skip his dose because he is so sensitive to the insulin, and .5u can send him down 100 in an hour (if you look at my thursday 3/10 you will see that even shooting at 158 was not good for him at all, he ended up down to 40 and back up to 302.) thanks again
 
Hopefully Sienne or one of the more knowledgeable folks on dosing can answer your dosing questions. I also work but have my DH helping me. Even still, yes, we do test through the night if Gracie is dropping. I set my phone alarm and test, sleep, test, sleep. It is grueling but we want to treat her aggressively. I'm not suggesting that you are able to do that...I'm just answering your question that, yes, many of us work and get up at night; others DO NOT but they adjust their dose accordingly. You have to do what's best for your health and to keep Julius safe at night.
 
I think the main reason to wake up and test throughout the night is safety if you fear low numbers. In a perfect world, it would be nice to have that data anyway, but if you know, which you now do, that he is falling low in the evening, a test now and then until you get things settled may be prudent.

Good luck!

Jason
 
Thank you all! I am he is only in the low 100' s right now with no insulin.... I am going to see if I can do a .25 twice a day for him, I am worried he is dipping low at nite and unfortunately I think my husband would kill me if I got up and tried to test him in the middle of the night, I think he thinks I am testing him too much as is..... thanks for the advice!
 
Hi Julius & Julius' mom! Felix & I (and Hubby on location) haven't posted in your condo but wanted to say that you're asking all the right questions and there's no better place to do it than here at FDMB!

Obviously Sienne has directed you toward's Felix's most recent drama- regulating him has become a challenge lately and I am in no way informed enough to give ANY dosing information. As a matter of fact, we're trying to figure out what Felix's next best dose will be to get him surfing again in the blues (at least). Stinky Pinky is no fun for anyone!

Marjorie is right in that when you're treating aggressively, and worried about diving numbers (as Jason mentioned), testing in the middle of the night can be crucial! My hubby is only home on the weekends and Felix took us for a ride! Partly due to our inexperience (where Laurie, Sienne, Jilly, Marjorie, etc., :smile:) were able to pull us through. We had to skip a shot to finally get some zzzz's in!

Don't be afraid to continue to ask questions. It's obvious you have Julius' health in mind. You'll find a lot of help here at FDMB! We certainly have!
 
I am really depressed about all of this.... I just took his glucose and it is 330. I have to leave town for work next week for five days and am really worried about Julius. My husband will be here but won't test him like I do, and probably can't come home and check on him like I do (he works farther from home than me) I just lost Cheesecake to cancer two weeks ago today and I am not ready to go down that road again at all.... I am doing everything in my power to take care of Julius but I am only one person and I can only do so much...... do you think switching to a .25 dose would help even him out???
 
i can't answer but I hear your agony. Julius is SO lucky to have you. this will work out and someone more experienced than me will have some suggestions. hugs!!!!!!
 
Tiffany --

FWIW, there's only me taking care of Gabby. When I travel, I have a vet tech who cat sits for me. She comes in twice a day to feed Gabby and give her her shot. Gabby will not allow anyone except me to test. So, my petsitter shoots blind. It makes me absolutely crazy but I have no alternative. It will work out.

Generally, when the primary caregiver is traveling, if you know that the person caring for your cat can't (or won't) test with the same frequency you do or there are other barriers, we reduce the dose so our cats are safe. When it's about 24 - 48 hours before you're leaving, we'll work out the specifics of dose. Also, we'll be here for your DH if he wants to log in or if he communicates with you, and you need help, we'll all still be here to lend a hand.
 
I think 0.25 units BID is worth a try. Then do everything you can to get at least one PM spot check every night. A good practice is to test right before you go to bed, whatever time that may be.

Once a cat starts to get into good numbers 24/7 (like all blue and green or even all green), then their pancreas can heal very quickly. That can mean a series of fast dose reductions (and yes, it can mean some sleepless nights). However, when you get to the point of thsoe sleepless nights, it often means that your cat is about to go off insulin. In that case, it is WELL worth it to give up sleep for a little while. The payoff can be huge.

What day are you going out of town next week? Usually when a cat is being left with a petsitter, we recommend a reduced dose and/or a "no-shoot" number for the petsitter (or DH). We'll have to wait until closer to that time to see what a safe recommendation would be for Julius, but be sure to remind us. Does DH test? And does he know (or can he learn) how to measure microdoses?
 
Thanks gang, I was in tears an hour ago. I leave March 23 early (before he would get his dose but I can test), and won't be home till late on the 27th (after his dose but I can test) my husband can test and will, I have taught him how and I am making a bunch of food as soon as my grinder shows up so he can just defrost and feed. I want him to be conservative with his shooting as he may not be able to come home and test. I am going to try .25u starting tonite and see. He is all over and every time I try and do a consistent dose he dives, and I know that I can not shoot low numbers with him because he is very sensitive to insulin and the food does not cause much of a bounce...... I know he needs a consistent dose and I want to do that, however I can not shoot him when he is in the 60's you know? I know that because of his numbers.... I will when I wake up and worry ( I do that every nite...) get up and test him. I can do that until I leave town, I want more than anything for Julius to be better. I am devastated about Cheesecake and have not gotten much empathy over that... I am not ready to lose another baby. I know I can lick this! I am determined to get Julius better! Thank you again for the support!
 
I'm so sorry about Cheesecake.

We've all felt the stress and tears, so we know and understand exactly how you feel. And you know there are lots of people here to help you and Julius through all of it. You've got a plan, and you've got determination - Julius is in great hands with you!

Amy
 
of course you're still feeling sad about cheesecake. two weeks is nothing, but time does make it a little easier. sounds like even in the past hour you've gotten a plan and ideas for how to work this out. yay!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top