3/14 Hershey

Status
Not open for further replies.
Last nights shot was a little later than scheduled, to ensure that Hershey ate all his dinner first, so he gets a later +6 today; a 235. No hypo concerns (thank goodness!), just a good solid yellow. 124 point drop... not quite the 50-60%, but a smile nonetheless.

He's settled in at camp, and we will have a slow and quiet introduction to the dogs later today - one at a time, of course! I think the sights and sounds of a different environment are curious to him. There's a dumpster being emptied nearby, and he keeps looking out the window to see what that noise is!

I'm sure when he gets home and back to his regular routine, he'll be clicking his heels together just like Dorothy! But for now - so many things to check out! :-D
 
Hershey is out an about a little more today. Right now he's busy making friends w/ Grayson, and my dog Jack is sleeping with one eye open as he explores closer to him. He doesn't seem too concerned about 30# Jack, who'd being exceptionally well-behaved right now.

78# Dom, who adores kitties, however, wants to be his best friend IMMEDIATELY with him! That's resulted in a few grumblies and the eviction of Dom from the dining room for the moment! Hershey likes to sit on the chair in front of the window near the bird feeder, and is so comfortable with Jack, that he has decided to join him on the chair! Pretty amazing for his first introduction to dogs!
 
Doug N Libby said:
aww, sweet - I'd love to have a picture of that! I'm so glad to hear he's doing better this morning :-D

Me too! Paulo usually snuggles w/ Jack, and also brother Peaches (one of the other big boys). Unfortunatlely, I didn't have my camera handy, so I missed the opportunity. But as soon as the sun goes down tonight, and Jack is no longer being the little sun god that he often is, he'll probably return to the chair and I'll see if I can catch them!

I'm so impressed w/ Hershey's good manners. He's laying on the library table next to the computer. Not ON the keyboard, not ON the mouse, not messing with cords. Just lying politely next to it, keeping me company on this day off! (as long as I don't mess w/ his toes, that is!) ;-)
 
Hershey's like his mom - we don't do feet - we don't mess with yours and don't want you messin' with ours. :-D

I'm afraid Joseph spoiled Hershey by allowing his to lay in his lap while he's on the computer, even the laptop. Then, Jessica gave in...then, Doug, on the desktop anyway...then, even I gave in and allow him to sit with me at the computer. He likes watching the screen and loves to watch movies! He doesn't stay for the whole feature, just likes the action scenes and those with lots of good sounds! Oreo prefers cartoons, but he is much younger. ;-) Oreo used to LOVE Antiques Road Show -

I'm so glad he's using his best manners and interacting nicely. Wish I had a nannycam or something to keep an eye on Oreo...no tellin' what kind of parties he's been having!

Well, back to the family. Aunt Tina has one of her granddaughters (Joy, who had a sleepover with Jessica last night) and Jessica in the sewing room showing her a project she's about to do. Aunt Tina's daughter, Patti, got Doug started on Wii bowling and I think Patti and I are headed out to enjoy the sunshine. It is a GORGEOUS day and they live wayyy out in a beautiful wooded area.
 
Sounds like a great place to spend a few days! I always have a hard time leaving - so many projects I should be working on at the house, or work deadlines, etc., etc. - but once I get where I'm going, I ask myself why I don't get away more often! Especially when it comes to the beach! I LOVE the water, and when it's 2-4 hours away depending on where you go, you can't understand what's keeping you from it!

My former dogs were water lovers. We'd go to a friend's place at Hatteras, and would play in the sound or even in the ocean - Kirby prefered Canadian Hole w/ all the sail boarders - deep enough where she could swim, but only a little more than knee deep, or wallering in the eel grass. Murphy prefered to do a search & rescue technique, back and forth, back and forth, smelling the top of the water and being mesmorized by the scent! Dom and Jack HATE the water, so they've stayed home the last few trips. It's a shame they don't enjoy it. Last year I did 3 day-trips w/ friends, without the pups. No need to subject them to it if they don't really enjoy it!

Hmmmm... the beach sure sounds nice on a day like today! :-D
 
Well, the beach was nice on a day like today! High around 80, sunshine galore. Today was my first day on the early morning shift, and I wanted to post a pic of the sunrise. Unfortunately, the clouds didn't cooperate and by the time they went away, I'd missed the opportunity. Hopefully tomorrow...

Carl
 
carlinsc said:
Well, the beach was nice on a day like today! High around 80, sunshine galore. Today was my first day on the early morning shift, and I wanted to post a pic of the sunrise. Unfortunately, the clouds didn't cooperate and by the time they went away, I'd missed the opportunity. Hopefully tomorrow...Carl

That's the nice thing about LIVING at the beach... you get that opportunity to try again tomorrow! My nephew and I went to Hatteras, and waited til the last day to get the picture of the sunrise over the Hatteras Lighthouse. Yep, overcast! Oh well - he'll have to come visit again!
 
Sorry for the hijack, Libby, and hope you and yours are enjoying the scenic woods!
Lu, the absolute best thing about the beach living is seeing the full moon rise. So few people who stay here take the time to watch it. Everybody wants to see the sunrise. My theory? You can watch the sunrise every day. You only get full-moonrise 12 times a year. Nothing like it. Just wish I could take nighttime pics so I could share them. Watching a hundred sea turtle hatchlings bust out of the nest right after the full moon comes up.... I've seen it twice. Miraculous.

Carl
 
My daughter LOVES sea turtles and has always wished to see them hatch! We took her to the NC Aquarium for her birthday when Nimbus arrived :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Hershey PMPS is a NO SHOT!

Good evening all -

I've seen something on Hershey I've never seen before w/ Grayson... a range of over 350 points! Here's Hershey's numbers from the day (note: + times are shown in hours & minutes):

AMPS 415 Shot .7
+6:53 62 ... can that possibly be correct?
+6:56 55 ... on my meter... I guess that is correct. WOW!
...... Fed his +6 feeding - which he ate very quickly
+7:33 53 fed a little gravy
+8:13 58 fed a little more gravy
+9:28 97
PMPS +11:58 149 - NO SHOT (holding off food for a little while)

Rising, but not too quickly - I'm okay with that! ...stay tuned! I think he's trying to adjust his schedule - but I'm not completely sure where he wants it to be! In the meantime, he's happy to be lounging next to the computer getting a belly rub! He is a sweet sweet boy! (who seems to like dogs fairly well!)
 
i cant keep quite any longer. I have been following cat camp. I want to say a couple of things.

Lu, you are a truly amazing person. To take someone's cat in you don't know & care for it says alot about you. No to mention a cat that needs a little more extra care then a "normal" cat. You are a good person!

Libby, I know this had to be hard to leave your special Hershey with someone you didn't know. That takes a lot of trust. You are a wonderful person to put your trust into someone you didn't know. From the looks of it, I don't think you have anything to worry about. Sit back, relax & enjoy your trip. It sounds very peaceful where you are.
This is a perfect example that there are good people on this board. Helping one another for nothing.

Maybe on movie night at camp you could show this. Its the perfect short movie for cats. Baxter loves it. I got it from another member on the board.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-bEtoNzGHY
Enjoy Kitties! cat_pet_icon
 
Jenn -

Thank you for the kind words. I was told the PZI board was like a family - and IMHO it truly is. I know how important the right care is for my pet, and I've been very blessed to have friends that step up whenever asked. And with a house full of cats, that's not a quick feed-and-scoop. Likewise, I understand when others' pets need special attention, and, as long as I can, I would do the same for them. I expect most of us here would.

Hershey has been an outstanding house guest! He's relaxed right now (we're saving the movie for when they're both awake!), although he did look up when I came at him w/ a lancet :o My experience, having spent the past two months dancing w/ Grayson, is that it's not difficult to care for a second sugar cat. It helps that he's not a difficult cat. He met me one day ago, and he'll let me poke or shoot him, he'll come when called (or fingers snapped), doesn't run and hide, doesn't mind that Grayson has taken over his little bed - or that Jack the dog laid on his blanket. And now that Dom the dog is sleeping, he seems to like him too! This is a VERY easy-going cat.

So his +13 reading was 181. Threshold to shoot is 200, so we'll watch a little longer.

BTW: Right now he's laying belly up next to the computer. :-D
 
Hanging out...watching...

He should be pretty close to (200) soon. He doesn't usually go too far past the 12 hours. Glad the scale got decreased by .2 on 3/11. :-D

Going to check on the Crazy Rummy game as Doug is currently playing for him and me... ;-)
 
btw - he always eats at a steady pace - HAPPY to see food, but okay when it's gone. So, not ravenous, just more like a teenage boy!

So, if my sleepy brain is calculating math correctly - He ate his regular +6 meal at almost +7, so about 5pm? Then, had gravy at 5:30 & just after 6? Did you give him food, too or just some of the gravy?
 
He's there!

+14 209 According to the scale you provided, it looks like it's time to shoot. Scale says .4 - is that what you'd like? Or maybe slightly less since it's on the low end?
 
I think I'd go with .3, if you can, just in case. It's been an odd kind of day...(as if you didn't already know that ;-) )
 
Midnight snack - yummy! Do you have to work tomorrow? I hope not as you sure are up late. Sorry Hershey's required so much extra attention tonight, but thanks for being willing to give it!

We've been able to catch up some with Aunt Tina, all 3 of her kids (and 2 of their 3 spouses), as well as the 8 grandkids who live here (several of whom didn't remember us because they were so little 3 years ago when last we came). Will be sad to leave them tomorrow, but soooo thankful we got to come!!! Thanks, again, Lu!
 
I always joke w/ my asst. director at work: "Greg Fischel says I need to be off tomorrow!" :lol: For the non-locals, that's the weatherman. Since I don't have a back-up person, I can be out as needed, as long as I get my work done. Sometimes that means (like last week), working late into the night or weekends, so I'm very fortunate to be able to "play the weather" and take the time off to get things done here. Some of the repairs I'm doing require dry weather. The amazing days we've had lately are a bonus!

Good night - will check back in the am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top