bettyandhank
Member Since 2010
+http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9045
Good Morning. High numbers today. Shot late and lower dose last nght due to low numbers/postpone/retest. First time to adjust dose due to low..skipped 3 other times. Only 10 days in with numbers all over the place.
Initially uncertain but felt good about the ultimate lower dose decision. I just hate changing anything or rocking boat so early in. With his lows and subsequent skips, have not had the opportunity for consistency to establsih a pattern and see where he really is.
I was tending toward the suggestion of lowering his dose a tad, perhaps to ,75 since he has had several 'lows' with me then in a tailspin not knowing what to do, postponing, making us late, and messing up our schedule. It becomes a long drawn out ordeal by the time we come up here and type for advice, dleay, retest, and so on. Our regular time was already on the late side, but works if all goes well. Lately w/ all the mishaps, our schedule is totally off, we are up til all hours of the night dealing with this.
I want to try and get things better in check. Because of his AMPS number, I did NOT shoot the reduced dose I planned to try out today. May have shot on the skinny side of 1U,..& there's always the bubble I can't seem to conquer. Just didn't feel right to lower the dose w/ that number.
With the 1:15 hr. late shot last nite (from our regular time) combined now w/ DST, we are 2+ HOURS OFF schedule. What can we do tonight to move it up some??? 11:15 last night is 12:15 tonight...TOO LATE. We shot at 11:07 AM this morning.
He is not as cheerful as he was the last couple days..& is really tiring of the 'every day' aspect of the ear pricks & shots. He is resistant now when it's 'time', which is not like him. He is very sweet natured & typically compliant. When this started and he was sick, he surrendered more to it. He is not liking this as a routine. His purr is off. I need to make this easier for us both.
Since we are operating with out a net right now, and punting as we go (vet/homeless at the moment as you recall- scary being so new & clueless) I have to really make sure he is oK and make careful choices. We have no one to call...I am simply not sure enough yet what to do most of the time.
Last night when i re-tested before bed (+2:15) and his number was yet 20 pts lower even having eaten twice, I wasn't sure what to do, if anything. I had MC/HC food, but not clear if this was something that called for that. No one was on board, so we punted and i coaxed a couple bites of LC and went to sleep.
I literally just had to guess having no reference point for this particular situation. We'd not done this one before. Every day is different. i guess seeing his number this morning, that was a good decision, but at the time I had no idea. it wasn't made logically, I just punted.
So how can we try to close some of our schedule gap tonight?? Any wisdom on the rest? (ie: altering dose w/this data)
One more caveat: Starting Wed aft., I will be away from home many hours at a time for the 1st time since he was diagnosed. I will also have a few nights where i will need to be late for his PM shot later in the week.
I do want to take that into consideration as I consider dose and/or schedule altering. Why is it all catty-wompus at the same time???
I got to keep him in one piece during all this, especially until we find a new home.
Plus I want to get his purr back.
thnx- B & H ( i need to get his photo up...ya'll haven't really met the boo-boo)
Good Morning. High numbers today. Shot late and lower dose last nght due to low numbers/postpone/retest. First time to adjust dose due to low..skipped 3 other times. Only 10 days in with numbers all over the place.
Initially uncertain but felt good about the ultimate lower dose decision. I just hate changing anything or rocking boat so early in. With his lows and subsequent skips, have not had the opportunity for consistency to establsih a pattern and see where he really is.
I was tending toward the suggestion of lowering his dose a tad, perhaps to ,75 since he has had several 'lows' with me then in a tailspin not knowing what to do, postponing, making us late, and messing up our schedule. It becomes a long drawn out ordeal by the time we come up here and type for advice, dleay, retest, and so on. Our regular time was already on the late side, but works if all goes well. Lately w/ all the mishaps, our schedule is totally off, we are up til all hours of the night dealing with this.
I want to try and get things better in check. Because of his AMPS number, I did NOT shoot the reduced dose I planned to try out today. May have shot on the skinny side of 1U,..& there's always the bubble I can't seem to conquer. Just didn't feel right to lower the dose w/ that number.
With the 1:15 hr. late shot last nite (from our regular time) combined now w/ DST, we are 2+ HOURS OFF schedule. What can we do tonight to move it up some??? 11:15 last night is 12:15 tonight...TOO LATE. We shot at 11:07 AM this morning.
He is not as cheerful as he was the last couple days..& is really tiring of the 'every day' aspect of the ear pricks & shots. He is resistant now when it's 'time', which is not like him. He is very sweet natured & typically compliant. When this started and he was sick, he surrendered more to it. He is not liking this as a routine. His purr is off. I need to make this easier for us both.
Since we are operating with out a net right now, and punting as we go (vet/homeless at the moment as you recall- scary being so new & clueless) I have to really make sure he is oK and make careful choices. We have no one to call...I am simply not sure enough yet what to do most of the time.
Last night when i re-tested before bed (+2:15) and his number was yet 20 pts lower even having eaten twice, I wasn't sure what to do, if anything. I had MC/HC food, but not clear if this was something that called for that. No one was on board, so we punted and i coaxed a couple bites of LC and went to sleep.
I literally just had to guess having no reference point for this particular situation. We'd not done this one before. Every day is different. i guess seeing his number this morning, that was a good decision, but at the time I had no idea. it wasn't made logically, I just punted.
So how can we try to close some of our schedule gap tonight?? Any wisdom on the rest? (ie: altering dose w/this data)
One more caveat: Starting Wed aft., I will be away from home many hours at a time for the 1st time since he was diagnosed. I will also have a few nights where i will need to be late for his PM shot later in the week.
I do want to take that into consideration as I consider dose and/or schedule altering. Why is it all catty-wompus at the same time???
I got to keep him in one piece during all this, especially until we find a new home.
Plus I want to get his purr back.