3.14 Frankie ; PMPS 325; +2 341 +4 288 +6 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
Here we are for another fun filled day at Boca Del Visata Lakes Phase 3.

Last week we picked up 3 cases of FF. Beef Feast, Turkey & Giblets, Chopped Grill.

Either both Frankie and Chubbie have developed anorexia, or this food s__ks.

I have never seen two (2 cats) walk away from food at the same time and in the recent past, if they did walk away, before I left, at the very least it was all gone when I came back. Not the case any more as I have been throwing their leftovers away before each meal time, and their leftovers are becoming larger and larger.

Time to find some new flavors that both will eat.

Is there a decent restaurant somewhere near this develpment that offers "Early Bird Specials"???

Did anyone see my "Astronaut Pen, I could have sworn I had it"?

What a lousy day, numbers up, very little food.

I have a headache









viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9006
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305

Jay said:
Here we are for another fun filled day at Boca Del Visata Lakes Phase 3.

Last week we picked up 3 cases of FF. Beef Feast, Turkey & Giblets, Chopped Grill.

Either both Frankie and Chubbie have developed anorexia, or this food s__ks.

I have never seen two (2 cats) walk away from food at the same time and in the recent past, if they did walk away, before I left, at the very least it was all gone when I came back. Not the case any more as I have been throwing their leftovers away before each meal time, and their leftovers are becoming larger and larger.

Time to find some new flavors that both will eat.

Is there a decent restaurant somewhere near this develpment that offers "Early Bird Specials"???

Did anyone see my "Astronaut Pen, I could have sworn I had it"?

Why are we going the wrong way? Up not down.














viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9006
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291

OK Jerry--Get out your astronaut pen & look through Janet & Binky's food lists again--
My guys were born & bred on FF, & always leave over a bit these days--There was a post here on Fancy Feast earlier this week & we think they changed the composition of their formula--I called & they said it was an ingredient realignment??-Are they kidding?
Maybe check out Friskies, wellness,& look over the old lists & new lists--Hope you find some good grub there..
Have a good Sunday!
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291

I just got back from an early bird special.

It took me forever to find Janets Chart (had to find the old site to get it), printed it and will be shopping tomorrow.

I think for my two guys its a combination of their metabolism slowing as they get older and that FF's quality control sucks.

I put it out, and less then a 1/4 is eaten, and 12 hours later I throw it away and start with a new can.

So far, I'm not concerned about Frankie, and his caloric intake., He could stand to lose some weight. Its Chubby that is skinny (its a long story, dont ask) and I will be starting to worry about him losing weight soon enough.

As the stores (PetSmart) is closed today in NJ. I'm going to break out a can or two of Tuna Fish in water for them tonite.

I've tried Wellness in the past, they wont even nibble at it, and the cans are too large, 5.5 oz.
Merrick..they both inhale it and proceed to throw it up in short order (too much sauce)
and a few others, and its always been back to FF 3 flavors.

Its like buy 20 cans of 20 different brands and flavors. As soon as they hit on one of the flavors, eat and keep in down...back to the store for a case or two of it. Just like finding a dose, its a lot of trial and error.

Someone took my astronaut pen!!!!!!!!!!! I had here yesterday!
I'm going to bring it up at the next board meeting.

Roni and Moonie said:
OK Jerry--Get out your astronaut pen & look through Janet & Binky's food lists again--
My guys were born & bred on FF, & always leave over a bit these days--There was a post here on Fancy Feast earlier this week & we think they changed the composition of their formula--I called & they said it was an ingredient realignment??-Are they kidding?
Maybe check out Friskies, wellness,& look over the old lists & new lists--Hope you find some good grub there..
Have a good Sunday!
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305

Isn't it frustrating to keep throwing away FF flavors seems like I have done a lot of that with Do Lou he will eat a FF flavor really good for a day or 2 then get tired of it I see I am not the only one throwing away rejected food confused_cat I need to make a feeders supply run today myself and FF shop
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

There can be no other explanation for this, then that I gave him a fur shot this morning.

Would you let you cat run high for the rest of the day or get a dose into your cat at +8, (assuming he is still rising) and begin the process all over?

Does the protocol talk about this scenario?
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Jay.......I know it is hard for you to see the numbers rising. I gave Putty a fur shot two days ago and I watched the number rise to over 400......but NO do not shoot any insulin at +8. Stick with your regular schedule.
Save some strips and some sanity and don't test again until pmps time.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

With no insulin in today (seemingly so) our regular schedule has been broken inadvertantly.

Why leave him naked..meaning no insulin for another 8 to 10 hours before the next dose kicks in. Which means it wil be 24 hours been doses.
3/13 PM (5 PM) was his last dose

You are suggesting that I leave him without insulin for 24 hours?

Jay



Miriam and Putty said:
Jay.......I know it is hard for you to see the numbers rising. I gave Putty a fur shot two days ago and I watched the number rise to over 400......but NO do not shoot any insulin at +8. Stick with your regular schedule.
Save some strips and some sanity and don't test again until pmps time.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

They're right Jay - if you suspect a furshot - you NEVER reshoot, because you just don't know how much insulin got in, mark it on your spreadsheet that it may be a fur shot, see how the day goes, and carry on!
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

DO NOT re-shoot. You have no way of knowing how much insulin may or may not have been injected. There is nothing in Tilly that explicitly says this but common sense dictates. Do not give more insulin. These numbers could easily be just Frankie being Frankie.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Jay said:
There can be no other explanation for this, then that I gave him a fur shot this morning.

Actually there IS another explanation, a very common one:

from http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

You increased Frankie's dose yesterday, correct? So wait it out.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Thanks

Thas assuming that I got the dose into him this morning. Since I began this, I have never been quite sure I didnt miss, until I saw the needle move down on his numbers.

The distance the plunger has to slide is so slight that its really difficult to tell, particularly when you first open your eyes in the morning w/o even having had a cup of coffee. Its not much easier on the PM side either.

Thanks for reminding me that his liver comes into play.

Jay.



Libby and Lucy said:
Jay said:
There can be no other explanation for this, then that I gave him a fur shot this morning.

Actually there IS another explanation, a very common one:

from http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations.

You increased Frankie's dose yesterday, correct? So wait it out.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Reshooting?

Reshooting assumes that I tried to get insulin into him at 5Am and might have missed, and at 5:01 I tried again, which is far from the case.

Its been now 7 hours since he may have gotten a fur shot, and 19 hours since his last dose.
You call that reshooting?


Ronnie & Luna said:
They're right Jay - if you suspect a furshot - you NEVER reshoot, because you just don't know how much insulin got in, mark it on your spreadsheet that it may be a fur shot, see how the day goes, and carry on!
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Unless you filled the syringe and very deliberately shot insulin at the wall, window, ceiling, sink, etc., yes, we call any 2nd attempt "reshooting" for the explanation I gave previously.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Then it appears that one of those locations is where the dose must have ended up



Sienne and Gabby said:
Unless you filled the syringe and very deliberately shot insulin at the wall, window, ceiling, sink, etc., yes, we call any 2nd attempt "reshooting" for the explanation I gave previously.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

To make your day less stressful Jay....instead of trying to find out where the Lantus went if not in your cat, then assume it is what Libby said and you won't have to find ways to get insulin into Frankie before pmps time. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Good idea.

I'm not stressing out over where the insulin went or didnt.

What really irks me, condo commandos.


Jay
Miriam and Putty said:
To make your day less stressful Jay....instead of trying to find out where the Lantus went if not in your cat, then assume it is what Libby said and you won't have to find ways to get insulin into Frankie before pmps time. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

Jay said:
Good idea.

I'm not stressing out over where the insulin went or didnt.

What really irks me, condo commandos.


Jay
Miriam and Putty said:
To make your day less stressful Jay....instead of trying to find out where the Lantus went if not in your cat, then assume it is what Libby said and you won't have to find ways to get insulin into Frankie before pmps time. :mrgreen:

I am sorry if you thought I was commanding you to do anything. I was just trying to humor you into not worrying so much about the numbers as we all do so much around here.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie AMPS 260; +2 291 +4 305 +6 393

It wasnt you who I was reffering to you.

My apologies for implying it was.

Jay


Miriam and Putty said:
Jay said:
Good idea.

I'm not stressing out over where the insulin went or didnt.

What really irks me, condo commandos.


Jay
Miriam and Putty said:
To make your day less stressful Jay....instead of trying to find out where the Lantus went if not in your cat, then assume it is what Libby said and you won't have to find ways to get insulin into Frankie before pmps time. :mrgreen:

I am sorry if you thought I was commanding you to do anything. I was just trying to humor you into not worrying so much about the numbers as we all do so much around here.
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie ; +10 337 PMPS 325; +2 341 +4 288

Hi Jay - Yeah, the FF is sucking lately. "Ingredient realignment" ?? WTH?
I find that Punkin does great on the raw diet, I did the math and it comes out to be about the same, cost-wise, as FF. There are some raw foods on Janet's list too. I order mine from a upstate NY, Feline's Pride, Punk loves it.

No need to get into name-calling.....condo commandos, really? C'mon, they're only trying to help, if you do not like their advice don't take it. AND, If you have nothing nice to say......pick up your astronaut pen and write your mean words on paper. Keep calling people names and I'm going to make you sleep on the pull-out sofa with the big bar that runs across your back! :lol:

I got 10 cans of FF I'm looking to unload.....cheap, make an offer :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3.14 Frankie ; +10 337 PMPS 325; +2 341 +4 288

You cant do that to me!!!

Not the pull out again!!!

That thing is so uncomfortable and destroys my back. Last time, as you may remember I couldnt straighten up the next day.

I have 3 cases of FF that I'd be willing to unload. I just picked them up 2 days ago.

Starting tomorrow, I wont be able to try and tweak his dose over time., Its a poke in the AM and one at night before meal time. Not sure how we are going to do this or how long it will take. But we'll just keep on trucking

Sometimes, someone (me) just needs to stand up let it out,and after the last comment that I read, that was it.

One more poke at +6 and thats all the data we can collect till next weekend (assuming I dont go skiing).
Keep on Truckin


Fleapunk said:
Hi Jay - Yeah, the FF is sucking lately. "Ingredient realignment" ?? WTH?
I find that Punkin does great on the raw diet, I did the math and it comes out to be about the same, cost-wise, as FF. There are some raw foods on Janet's list too. I order mine from a upstate NY, Feline's Pride, Punk loves it.

No need to get into name-calling.....condo commandos, really? C'mon, they're only trying to help, if you do not like their advice don't take it. AND, If you have nothing nice to say......pick up your astronaut pen and write your mean words on paper. Keep calling people names and I'm going to make you sleep on the pull-out sofa with the big bar that runs across your back! :lol:

I got 10 cans of FF I'm looking to unload.....cheap, make an offer :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top