3/14 Eddie AMBG 141 NO SHOT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=115357

Happy Friday!!

Today:

AMBG (stalling) =
+12 = 121
+13 = 141
+13.5 = 141 (no shot)

Eddie was at 370 for PMPS last night which looked a lot like a bounce. I'm not sure if he may have gone lower during the day, or if it's a bounce popping out from the lows on Wednesday night. Either way, I shot a reduced dose of 1.8u on this pre-shot, and sure enough, he did come down very nicely. The last reading I took was at PM +8, and he was at 112. It looks like he probably went down a bit more after that. He was still surfing along at PM +12 this morning at 121, and by +13.5 he was only at 141. Based on our recent crashing episodes, this is way too low to shoot, and he's not climbing quickly at all, so we have a skipped shot today.

After this weekend, when we're back in the swing of things, I'm sort of chewing on the idea of "chasing" Eddie's numbers. For whatever reason, no matter the dose, it seems like we get long duration pretty frequently. I love the idea of catching the overlap like Carl wrote about, and shooting into lower numbers before the insulin has worn off, and we did that successfully several times. But, with the recent crashing episodes, I have to really be careful about doing that now. It may make for a totally wacko schedule but I'm wondering if we just start chasing his numbers and shoot when he's at or close to 200, assuming he's on the rise. We've sort of done this a few times by shooting early if he's climbing into a bounce before the end of a cycle, or when we're stalling, or when we shoot early to get back on track.

For example, if Eddie's surfing during the AM hours, and is not safe to shoot, would it make sense to maybe run home a little early for lunch around 10 or 11 am (which would be +16 or +17), and shoot at that time if he's high enough? We may end up shooting at all hours, but might this be a better alternative than watching him sit in a high bounce for 3 hours before his next shot is due, or skipping a shot altogether for the day?
 
Yes, that is doable. Many people have to do that when their cat is headed OTJ and is getting tiny doses that last more than one cycle. (looking at some of the ss in the remission thread will give you an idea). If you can manage the off schedule stuff, it is perfectly okay. Just be sure it is +12 and sure rising.
 
+6 = 438 :sad: (before food)
+6.5 = 366 (about 20 mins after food)

As expected, Eddie's off the charts with no shot this AM. It is interesting that he appears to maybe have gone down after food. The numbers are within the 20% variance, but just barely.

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Yes, that is doable. Many people have to do that when their cat is headed OTJ and is getting tiny doses that last more than one cycle. (looking at some of the ss in the remission thread will give you an idea). If you can manage the off schedule stuff, it is perfectly okay. Just be sure it is +12 and sure rising.

Well, Eddie's not really in tiny dose range, but I think this might be worth experimenting with. I guess stalling to +14 or +15 is pretty much the same thing. Thanks for the input Sue. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top