3/14 Choco pmps (+13 76), +1 81, +2 75, +3 61, +4 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

marleesan71

Member Since 2011
I will update the rest of his day just as soon as I send this off. I will recheck him at +12.5 but didn't think I should be shooting him when he is so low.
 
Re: 3/14Choco amps 113, +2 63, +7.25 77 Dosage help Choco +1

Hi Natalia, this whole day has been crazy and now Choco wants to join in on the fun. :roll: I have an update about Piggie but need to deal with Choco first so I will get that posted just as soon as I can. You'll never believe.
 
Re: 3/14Choco amps 113, +2 63, +7.25 77 Dosage help Choco +1

I would wait to be sure he's rising. Maybe test in 20-30 minutes and see where he is.
 
Re: 3/14Choco amps 113, +2 63, +7.25 77 Dosage help Choco +1

Whoa, there Choco! Nice PM number, but how's about we bring it up a bit so the bean can give you your shot and then tell us about Piggie?

Hang in there, Natalia!
 
Re: 3/14Choco +2 63, +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70 D H

Well, I have no idea what to do about Choco so I will test him at +13 and decide from there.

Piggie seems to be a bit of a mystery accoring to the Cardiologist. Her heart is perfectly fine and she IS NOT in heart failure. The Cardiologist said she has no clue why Piggie's chest had fluid in it and she is not following any of the text books so she is stunned. I am VERY happy that Piggie is not in heart failure but after paying nearly $700.00 dollars today, I wish I had more of an answer. Will it happen again, she couldn't say because we don't know what caused it. Soooooo, I have a healthy Piggie with a mystery problem. I will be getting her kidney values checked again in a month because her BUN was slightly higher than it should be. Other than that, I think (knock on wood) she's good to go.

Gotta test Choco again.
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

generally it's ok to shoot a surf, and you hae shot 70s before. Let's see what the next number is.
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

I already shot him Libby. Since I shot him at 78 a couple nights ago I thought it was close enough to be okay. Time will tell. :roll:
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

Since I'm now an hour off schedule, should I shoot him at +11.5 for his amps and pmps tomorrow? That would get me back on schedule for Wednesday.
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

numbers permitting, you can shoot 1/2 hour early tomorrow. I wouldn't do two 1/2 hour early shots in a row, though, unless he bounces. That can give him too much overlap and result in sending him too low. Maybe 1/2 hour early tomorrow morning and 1/2 hour early Wednesday morning, would that work?
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

WOOOHOOOO about Piggy!!! Can you get a copy of the cardiologists report? It will tell you a lot about the shape of the heart - enlargement/murmers/valve issues etc.

Did the cardiologist talk to you about monitoring resting respiration rates for Piggy?

Wow Choco is really on a roll. Looking good :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

Hi Karrie. I can get a copy from my vet since they faxed the info to them. I mean it really was the strangest thing. She said her heart looked perfect and that there were no abnormalities. The Cardiologist said she would have diagnosed her with Congestive Heart Failure if she were the ER vet that night as well. My vet said that it couldn't have been an infection because it would have taken antibiotics to clear it up and she has not been on any. So basically, did she inhale something, did she get a hold of something she shouldn't have which I don't know what in the world that would have been. She's not a nosey kitty that gets into things. Really honestly the only thought I can come up with is maybe she was allergic to whatever flavor Fancy Feast she had that night. She did throw that up in the middle of the night. Only thing is, I don't know what flavor that was because I give them a variety and I highly doubt would have caused fluid in her lungs. It's just so strange. The cardiologist did not talk to me about monitoring her resting respiration rate but that is a good idea and I need to find out how to do that. Do you know how?

Choco is a wild man tonight!!! I've got 13 minutes before I check him and all I can say is, this should be an interesting night. ;-)
 
Re: 3/14Choco +7.25 77 +12 65 +12.5 67, +12.75 70, pmps (+13

I tell you, if I could pay a cardiologist $700 to tell me my dog wasn't in CHF, I'd be crying from happiness. I'm sorry you spent so much money, but that is truly wonderful news.

The Resting Respiration Rate - Someone posted a really awesome instruction sheet on how to do this in the Canine CHF forum. I'll see if I can share it. The gist of monitoring though... when Piggy is sleeping and not in dream/rem sleep, but a deep sleep, count her breathing for 60 seconds. I am not sure of what the RRR is for a cat, but a dogs should be in the mid 20s. (below 30). So you had a great visit today - I'd count her breathing tonight or for the next few days - just once or twice and you'll have a great benchmark for her. The cardiologist said RRR is a good way to monitor how the lungs are doing. It will go up if the lungs are compromised.
 
Re: 3/14 Choco pmps (+13 76), +1 81

Oh yes, I was absolutely surprised and excited but, when you get no answers and know that it could happen again at any time, it left me with a seriously uneasy feeling and a really empty wallet so yeah, it was a little hard to swallow. All I can do is hope and pray it doesn't happen again. Her little body is too old to be fighting off such a big thing although she seems to be a tough cookie. :razz:

I'll see about checking her rate. I still think she is breathing a little fast but who knows, maybe this is her normal breating pattern and now I'm just being paranoid. Thanks for the info. :-D
 
Re: 3/14 Choco pmps (+13 76), +1 81

When Maverick was recovering from his surgeries back in 2008 I was told RRR above 40 and/or open mouth breathing to get him to the ER. So I know 40 was a threashold. Not sure what is normal for cats or Choco. Just found this on ehow - don't know if its what vets say though: "The average respiratory rate for cats is 16 to 40 breaths per minute, according to the Merck Veterinary Manual". I think you left with great news if its not CHF or a heart or valve issue. These can't be fixed for the most part, just managed. And keep an eye on her kidneys. Wish I could be of more help.
 
Re: 3/14 Choco pmps (+13 76), +1 81

Karrie, that is great info. I left with great news indeed! Now I'm just paranoid as all get out wondering what may have caused it. Is it the floor cleaner, the food, THE DROOLER (no, can't be, I got her after she was in the ER:), the new detergent etc..... It's quite the mystery but I'm hoping it was just some fluke. Doubt it, but I can always hope. I will definitely be watching those kidneys. We want to wait at least a few weeks after she gets off of the Lasix and the vet even talked about putting her on KD (I believe that's what he said). He said it's a low protien food and would be easier on her kidneys. Good thing is, hopefully we'll be catching it early IF in fact she is going into it. Okay, it's about time to check Choco and he has been hitting his lows anywhere between +2 and +4. What does he have up his fur? ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top