3/14 AMPS 387+6 49+7 73+8 113 New to board

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtncat58

Member Since 2013
3/14 AMPS 387+6 49+7 73+8 113 New to board +12 122 144@12.5 to many post on me not sure which one to answer?



:?: Can I get some help, I have Lucky's spreadsheet on Google drive Have been at this since February.Lucky 7 years old no other health problems but were on Roller Coaster. Thank you, Linda
 
Re: 3/14 AMPS +24 387 Newbie

Ok, you need to update your user control panel, profile, edit signature so we can see that SS in your post.

Here is the link about creating the spreadsheet and near the end it talks about publishing it to the web ( so others can see it) and putting the link into your user control panel. After that is done, let us know.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
 
Re: 3/14 AMPS +24 387 Newbie

:?: Not sure if I did this right can anyone see Lucky's spreadsheet
 
Re: 3/14 AMPS +24 387 Newbie

While you're trying to figure out the signature link, you can put the info into the body of a post. You would need to do the following:

  • Click on the URL button that's located at the top of the text box. This will insert a code that looks like in the text box.
  • Copy the http:// location information line at the top of your browser.
  • Paste the location information in between the two sets of brackets. It will look like this: location information goes here

This will allow us to see your kitty's SS. Once you create the link in your signature, the link will be attached permanently any time you post. Otherwise, you have to keep putting the information in your posts.
 
I can see your spreadsheet :thumbup Yikes! Tha's a crazy drop today! Hope you guys get some good avice from the experts soon...Welcome!!
 
Have you shot tonight? What glucometer are you using? If it's a human meter, Lucky earned a reduction to 1.75u with that 49 today. You need to get mid cycle tests. It looks like he might be bouncing off of low mid cycle BGs. Can you get just before bed tests?
Liz
 
Liz,
Linda is just learning how to do the site. I helped her today getting her SS setup on the profile and how to do the posts. Lucky is using a Relion Confirm. She will be here soon. This is all new to her. :smile:
 
You did great today, Linda!! Thanks for getting the spreadsheet link worked out.

With Lantus, there are two dosing protocols that you can follow. Most of us here use the Tight Regulation Protocol. With this approach, whenever a cat that is within a year of diagnosis' numbers drop below 50, it's a signal that the dose needs to be reduced. So, since Lucky tested at 49, he gets a dose reduction. At your PM shot, I'd suggest dropping Lucky's dose to 1.75u. With the other protocol, Start Low Go Slow (SLGS), Lucky would get a dose reduction, as well.

Also, is it possible for you to get at least one test every PM cycle? Many cats drop into lower numbers during the PM cycle so it can be important to get at least one spot check during the evening cycle to make sure your cat is safe. In addition, if you don't test, you're missing half of your data.
 
Great job getting everything set up today, Linda! Thank you, Donna. :-D It's a lot to learn, Linda, but you're in the right place. People here are very generous with their time and expertise, because someone else helped us figure it out. :-D Did you get a test before the shot tonight?
Liz
 
I can see that you've always tested before shooting. I probably wasn't as clear as I could be. Can you get at least one test in addition to your PMPS test during the evening cycle? Most of us get a "before bed" test.
 
I just wanted to make sure Linda gets all the info she can. FB is not the best place to get dosing advice and since there are more people here at all times, I think this is a better place for someone that is just starting out. Thanks Liz and Sienna for helping her out!!!!! :-D :-D
 
That is a low number for you to shoot. Do not feed and retest in 30 mins.

Are you able to test tonight? Do you have plenty of strips and medium carb and high carb food or karo syrup in case he drops low?
Liz
 
Just gave him a teaspoon of ff have plenty of strips just dont think I will be staying up past 10 not feeling well
144@12.5
 
If you don't feel like you're able to stay up to monitor, then I wouldn't be comfortable suggesting that you give a shot. Even with shooting a reduced dose, there's no guarantee that the insulin depot won't make up the difference and numbers could still drop this cycle. Are you OK with skipping a dose?

Alternatively, like Liz suggested, you can stall. Typically, if you stall, you don't want to feed. (You don't want the pre-shot number to be influenced by food.) I suspect that Lucky's numbers will bounce up from the 49 today but there's no way to be certain when that will happen.

I noticed on your spreadsheet (SS) that you sometimes are using an AlphaTrack meter. It's probably best to stick with one meter. The AlphaTrack is calibrated specifically for animals and we won't know which meter you're using if you alternate.
 
You're doing a great job so far Linda. You're learning on the fly and it's a lot to take in. Just listen to the advice the experts are giving you. I hope you are feeling better too. I know it's a lot to handle at first but this WILL get easier, I promise. Keep up the good work! :-D
 
She is no longer using the Alpha Track. The strips were to much. I donated the Relion Confirm, lancets and device. That is what she has been using for a couple of weeks now.
 
Yes Had only doubled checked when I saw the 49 on lower number but yes Donna helped me out with new set up.I was hurting for cash and just couldn't do the AT2 I would not want him to drop so I think safer not to shoot tonight. If this was his am shot I would but I think shouldn't risk tonight.But will Post at 8am. I will check later tonight see where he is at, thanks for helping Newbie :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/14 AMPS 387+6 49 +7 73 +8 113 +12 122 new to board

4/14/13 Lucky @ 144+12.5 +13 199 That is it for the night will check in at 8am no shot tonight. Thanks everyone
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top