? 3/14/22 Wally AMPS=296,+2=257,+6=251,PMPS=154,+1.5=146,+5.5=185

I found that increases needed to go up the full 0.25 units (for Wally's size of dose), and did smaller reductions. Not sure tiny increases will work for Wally.

Other comments, you are holding his doses too long. We hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles before increasing. Wally is a long term diabetic, which means reductions if he goes below 40. If you think he's not great at holding reductions, which seems to be the case, you can use an alternate method of reductions of 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days. You've been reducing when he goes once below 50 and that's not enough for him to hold the reduction, unless he's actually going below 40.

A question for you, when are you feeding him during the cycle. He sometimes does some big drops at onset, which in turn cause big bounces. If you can slow the drops, and smooth him out, you might get less bouncing. Info here: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve
 
I found that increases needed to go up the full 0.25 units (for Wally's size of dose), and did smaller reductions. Not sure tiny increases will work for Wally.

Other comments, you are holding his doses too long. We hold doses with green nadirs for 10 cycles before increasing. Wally is a long term diabetic, which means reductions if he goes below 40. If you think he's not great at holding reductions, which seems to be the case, you can use an alternate method of reductions of 3 times between 40 and 49 on separate days. You've been reducing when he goes once below 50 and that's not enough for him to hold the reduction, unless he's actually going below 40.

A question for you, when are you feeding him during the cycle. He sometimes does some big drops at onset, which in turn cause big bounces. If you can slow the drops, and smooth him out, you might get less bouncing. Info here: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Thanks for the insights. Re: feeding Wally. He gets fed after his AMPS test and most of the time eats about 1/2-2/3 of the can. He then usually finishes it off a few hours later. He also gets a small FF snack after each test or a couple of pcs of Young Again Treats. I also feed him after his usual PM+2 test and again when I check his nadir at PM+6 or +7. The only time I resort to using a higher carb food is if he's tested very low because he is definitely carb sensitive and I know he'll eventually bounce from it.

He doesn't hold reductions well and when I've increased he then tends to crash within a week or so. He's now down to 154 PMPS so it could be another long night.
 
Last edited:
On a night like tonight, you might want to move the +2 meal up a bit in time to slow him down.
 
Back
Top