So I know Jose is in good numbers still but looking at his spreadsheet they seem to be gradually rising. This morning I found a small spot of vomit. No blood or anything weird just partially digested cat food. And I had also noticed that although he has been eating the last few days he hadn't eaten all of his food like he usually does before it's time for his next meal. Could he be sick? His behavior hasn't changed he's still playing and cuddling like usual.
We're leaving for the vet soon so I'll talk to her about it as well. Thanks!
Re: 3/14/14 Jose +11.5 AMPS 240 found vomit this morning
So I just got back from the vet. She wasn't happy that I was using a human glucometer and she wants me to buy one made for dogs and cats like the Alpha Track. But the Alpha Track is over $200!!! I cannot afford that! She barely glanced at Jose's spreadsheet and said that the numbers I'm getting aren't accurate. She said they look good but I need to start using a different meter. I am so frustrated! I was so upset I forgot to ask about Jose's puking and not eating as much as usual. And I'm pretty sure there was no way she would give me a perscription for the U100 syringes I want to start using so I didn't bother with that either. The only positive was that he's scheduled for a dental cleaning on April 2nd. Gah!! :sad:
Re: 3/14/14 Jose +11.5 AMPS 240 found vomit this morning
Sorry it wasn't successful, Rebecca. Some vets just want you to follow their instructions to the letter and won't be swayed by another new (less expensive) approach. (Like for example, how wonderful Jose's numbers are and how he would probably be overdosed a dozen times if you had just followed her dosing advice and not tested.)
It is true that the pet meters read differently than humans. They are overall about 30 points lower than human meters. But since we are only looking at ranges and rarely precise numbers, they fit our purposes fine. And yes,it is very expensive for the meter. And then the strips - also very expensive and not obtainable from your local drugstore in an emergency.
Looks like you will just have to do the diabetic thing on your own and when he is OTJ (anti jinx) send her the spreadsheet and show her he is no longer diabetic. And don't hold your breath waiting for congratulations……….
Do you need a prescription in your state for the syringes? If so, post on Health asking for advice. I think there are ways to get around that - like ordering from specific places on line. If not, maybe try a different Walmart and use Deb's system for making them look for the right things.
Deep breath. Pat yourself on the back for doing a wonderful job with Jose. And keep doing what you are doing.
Re: 3/14/14 Jose +11.5 AMPS 240 found vomit this morning
Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean. Share this with your vet.
[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Examples of using the chart:
Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.
Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.
Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
Thank you for this information. I will bring this to her the next time I take Jose in. I found an AlphaTrak 2 starter kit on craigslist for $70 but when I tried to find the strips the cheapest I could find were 50 for $53. And I refuse to spend that much when I can get 100 from Walmart for the ReliOn for $35! It's really hard for me to stand up to people but I'm going to just keep using what I'm using and tell her I really cannot afford that.