3/13 Hank's AMPS 231- PMBG 174- NOW WHAT?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

You had quite an adventure yesterday. This is not a bad number for +24. Are you planning on shooting? What is your dose? In my humble opinion the 1 unit was too heavy. Although you've started collecting good data there isn't enough info to say what was going on between cycles. The insulin definitely is helping and Hank is responding. If he were my kitty, I'd take it a little slower and dose .5 or .75 at the most right now. It's safer to go up in dose when you are new rather than have to struggle with too low numbers right off the bat.
Know what I mean?
 

Attachments

  • scout_buddy.jpg
    scout_buddy.jpg
    43.4 KB · Views: 78
  • scout_kitten.jpg
    scout_kitten.jpg
    65.3 KB · Views: 82
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

Could you update your SS with how much insulin you shot this AM?

Just a word of caution... Because you skipped a shot last night, it's possible that Hank's numbers will keep rising this cycle. Please get spot checks in so you can gather data. Remember to get a ketone test in, as well.
 
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

Hi Sienne-

Chart updated. I did give his usual dose, maybe on the skinny side. Honestly, because I have not been so great w/ shots technique, most of them have had a bubble despite thumping & tapping..they inevitably have remained. I've used both BD & Relion syringes. (same manuf. as the GNP you use) So he likely has not gotten an absolute full U every time anyway. it's such a small amount, I have no idea how ya'll do the .1, .15, ...
The thing he, he also still has 300 #'s, and has all along.

I will try to do more spot checks now that I'm in the strips again. I will be out some today, but will try to catch a few when I can to see if we can't get more info. to assist in gauging where he is and what's going on. He looks good, more alert, sleeping less, etc..
I don't understand all the rest, the big picture part.

I have not yet done a curve and will probably wait to do one until after next week. Will ask for help when the time comes, and then to interpret.
He sure is getting tired of the pricks. It was easier when he felt bad. I know his little ears hurt. But he sure loves the treat part.
He jumped up on the testing area this AM looking for those.

And you were right, his coat is already improving, I noticed that today. My goodness I LOVE this little boy.

So, too late for any adjustment this AM. It may have beens slightly less.
I will try for keytone test if I catch him pee-ing (though now w/ insulin back in him,is it necessary?)
I will get some extra checks in.


b&h
 
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

Hi-
Can anyone recommend some HC & MC canned that is of the "natural' variety? I've checked the charts...but short on time and not easliy figuring it out.
I would like to keep them in this genre of food. Is so hard to find something that meets all fronts. They were on Innova dry & Wellness canned before Hank was diagnosed. Now it's Wellness canned, plus rotating in several others in the transition...Insticnt, Evo, Merrick (lo glycemic), one called Soorganic, & a little Evo dry here and there.
Hank also has a history of FLUTD (urinary) but no flare ups in a long while. Because of that, we avoid fish flavors mostly & try for lo-phosphorus.

Trying to figure what will work for all the above PLUS have the gravy/Hi carb and alos pallet effect so they will wwant to eat it, especially at dire times such as when the numbers are low.
I know many of you do FF & 9-lives..but if possible would like to find something within the 'type' foods they eat now.

What equates to MC?
HC? (greater than _____X)??

Appreciate ideas...I have to run out shortly and need to get provisions for moments like last night. Will check back before we head out.

thanks!
 
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

Hi Betty, You're doing great! With regard to your food question: since you will have to feed MC or HC only in order to bring up a bg number that is too low, I wouldn't worry about whether the food was "natural" or not. It's not as if the MC or HC food is going to be a staple of his diet. I feed only EVO wet (Stu likes the 95% venison) (and a very little EVO dry). But when I have had to bring Stu's bg up, I fed him one of the Fancy Feast grilled flavors with gravy (HC) and Fancy Feast Elegant Medleys Chicken Florentine (MC). He loved them both!! (That's the point: to give Hank something with carbs that he will go crazy for so as to get him out of danger.)
Keep up the good work! So glad to hear that Hank is feeling better.
Ella
 
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

Hi Betty,
You are sounding much more refreshed and relaxed today! I hope you feel better. Its been a rough few weeks, eh? Glad to hear Hank is lookin' good. ;-)

Regarding the MC/HC...I would agree with Ella not to worry too much about it because it is not a staple food...just emergency. However, some cats cant really have the typical MC/HC because of health issues and allergies. In that case a small (and I mean small, to start) drop of karo can be mixed with food. That is what I have to do for Latte. Again, if it is not a MAJOR health issue, I would not be too concerned with having to feed fancy feast, or whatever, now and again.

I hope you are able to find some time to enjoy your day.
 
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231

Hi Betty,

By any chance did you look at your posts from yesterday. I wrote on it this morning and Caryl did too, with some suggestions.
 
Hi-


Here we go again...

Been out...rushing back in to 'do hank'. Will we EVER get to do our DST adjustment?

Because we were trying to move up at least 15 minutes tonight, it was not a full 12 hours from shot or AMPS. 9:52 AM BG / 10:04 AM shot. (@11 1/2 hrs)

We skipped last night, and Sunday. I am tired and he is hungry. Was out most of the afternoon, longer than anticipated, so no interim tests today. Should be able to tomorrow.

I need ya'll...we are on our own as you know.

I really am exhasuted, just wanted to get him squared away and collapse. we were up past 2:30 last night. Earlier this week ya'll said my newbie rule for now was under 180, don't shoot. For skipping yesterday's dose, his number was not that bad this morning. What should we do now?




ADVICE PLEASE? ...so hoping this is not going to have to be prolonged. he really is so hungry.


THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS: thnx for all the support yesterday, have not been home so need to get caught up reading/replying to posts...but NOW got to get the baby settled first and foremost.
 
Libby-

Yay you are there.

Our posts crossed. What do we do?

we keep getting later and later. I just wanted to get his 15 minute bump earlier, get him fed, shot and crash.
Just under 1/2 hour since I tested.


whatcha think?
 
Well, so much for Hank's numbers bouncing! Great PMPS number!

HC is 18% or greater; LC is less than 10%. MC is anything in between. Wellness does have a HC variety but it's fish. I tend to agree with what Ella suggested. You are not going to be giving Hank a steady diet of HC. We use the "gravy" that's in the can since that's where most of the carbs are. It's a quick way of bumping up BG levels if they are low. Unlike dry food, the canned HC is in and out of the system quickly.

Moving a shot early by 15 minutes is a "no worries." You can do that routinely without there being a problem. If you looked at the DST adjustment, we were doing this in 15 min. increments each day.

I know Libby would love to say this but, SHOOOOOOOT.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
I know Libby would love to say this but, SHOOOOOOOT.

Rats, Sienne beat me to it! :lol:

Yes, I would shoot this. Did you see my note yesterday about reducing his dose? Just a suggestion, to make things easier on yourself at the beginning.
 
Serious? I just found the post...couldn't recall who said it Sunday, but it was Libby.

For now, a good "no-shoot" number for Lantus is about 180.
........


This is under that...and per the vet (a-ho's) said my meter was 40-60 pts higher than there's so potentially it is lower.

Should i do a 'skinny' we have been so by the book...haven't changed anything. And now, not only are we not EARly, we are late again.

the 15 min was only one of the 4 incrmental one's we have missed due to all these low numbers.

So is this a surprising number given his skipped shot last night and 231 this AM? It's still all greek to me.

if there is some trend here, please share.

other than the treat when we tested 45 min ago, he's not eaten... I want to get him some food. Should we test agian first, or just shoot??

I'm waiting right here ...for specifics......

Thanks YA'll!!
 
Ok, it's concensus. I will ignore the earlier rule of 180 or less.

To clarify, Do i test again first? Should we give a slightly reduced dose? If so, tonight only? ...and how much.

Can you tell I need to totally defer right now...I KNOW i don't know what I am doing.


thanks again LL GURUS


..we gotta hurry here though.
 
Feed your poor starving kitty. Shoot. This is a safe number. Libby was suggesting dropping your dose for the immediate future to 0.5. We want you to be able to shoot consistently.

I'll see if there are other questions I missed. Feed the cat before he chews your ankle off!!
 
Re: 3/13 Hank's AMPS 231- PMBG 174- 165- WHAT TO DO???

New information

Tested again- 1 hour later. NOW AT 165!


he ate another treat...that's all he's had.


Does the advice change?


Please let me know. We are getting so late. Now 12 hours, 45 minutes since last shot.

We've never done hypo and odn't want to start now. and not alone in the middle of the night.


Now what???
 
Betty

you have LC, MC and HC, and plenty of strips - right?
(low, medium and high carb)

you will be ok! take a deep breath
 
that's pretty much the same number as before (meters are allowed up to a 20% variance, if you tested again it could be 170's). He'll go up after he eats.

I don't want to scare you, so if you're really too uncomfortable to shoot, then you can shoot a token dose of 0.25 tonight and then make your new dose 0.50 starting tomorrow. You'll have to shoot these numbers at some point, though. It's ok, really. :smile:
 
Update:


We ate, we shot ..a reduced dose .50. It all makes me nervous. Just don't understand it all yet...the logic, how it affects him, etc..
If ya'll could just move in for awhile while we acclamate to this new world, it would be so much easier. I mentioned that.

I just don't have the confidence yet ..which I will come as I better understand everything. It is all just crazy..how does one do this every day? it's not that I want him to have high numbers, but at least I know what to do, ...you give the shot. it's times like this I am unsure.
I'm not clear on why If his BG is normal, the insulin would be beneficial

I guess i can't defy a vet I no longer have (they said 100-200- don't shoot- at least per the '*****y' gatekeeper receptionist) So yay me, I adjusted my own dose.
(w/ the help of my cheerleaders)

Wonder why his number are going down as the day progresses? It does seem we are getting a bit of a trend perhaps...4 times now when

Could his little pancreas be bouncing back?...or is this just normal stuff as we try to regulate.

All makes me a bit nervous...




updated the chart, but wasn't sure how to clarify that the 2nd BG at +1 was also PS. PMPS1 PMPS2 at +1 then shot- how would I note this so it's clear?


crazy stuff this FD
...OY!
 
PS: crossed posts again. yes, yay, i shot.

.50 feels right now that I've done it.

Don't know how to figure our time for DST tomorrow. we are an hour late for the OLD time,...and we had crept it up at least one of the 15 minute increments toward that in these last couple day, but now that's gone. I guess it was about 11:15 or so tonight (which would be 12:15 tomorrow DST- YUK) but we did the reduced dose... what time for tomorrow AM shot? can't do 12:15/ 12:15 midnite!!! too late

yes, I have strips & more arrived, also bought food today, & syringes..still in the bag downstairs. Not sure what is what. We are getting our stuff together.
Not that I would know what to do w/ it when, .. but I have it.

I need to label it as someone suggested. These are not foods he has ever eaten...hope he has an appetite for them when the time comes. He sure caught on to the liv a little.

Ok, he is all tucked in, I'm going to catch up here a little now. We walked into another whirlwind. Thanks for seeing us through everyone.

I feel like I got a star shooting blue. (SCARY)
 
nice shooting. :smile: It does get a lot easier, each time you do this you collect more data that helps the next time. Plan to get at least a +1 test tonight so you can be sure Hank is heading up before you go to bed.

In the morning, why don't you test at +11 and someone can help you decide if that is high enough to shoot an hour early. Better yet, get a +10 or +10.5 so there will be time for somebody to give input. When do you have to be back on schedule?
 
Normal numbers are below 120. We look for a range of 50 - 120. If you didn't shoot when you have a "normal" pre-shot, there's a good chance once you were well into the next cycle, numbers would be high. If you look at someone like Tuffy (Barbara)'s SS, you will see that Barb shoots a small amount of Lantus and Tuffy stays in the blues and greens and is well regulated. Kitty/Kathy is another example of how you can earn dose reductions for keeping a cat in green numbers for weeks at a time.

The vet is telling you to not shoot because most vets do not manage low numbers the way we do. They protect against low numbers by giving you a very wide margin. They are also not used to having people who test the way we do. They will set an arbitrary no shoot number since dosing is based on a once or twice a month fructosamine level vs. our testing multiple times each day and they want to protect against hypo. We steer low numbers with food. Most vets don't do this.

The confidence will come. Just give it time.
 
we have to stay up and test again? Poor Hankie....and poor me. We're pooped.

The schedule was more about dealing 1st, w/ DST, then my likelihood of being out late toward the end of next week a few nights. So for the 2st, you want to move it up, and the 2nd, you want to move it back. I know I won't want my PM shot to be at midnite-thirty tomorrow on the new time....too late for us.

So maybe around 11:oo or a little earlier tomorrow (as if current time 10- which would be our Normal time) I check back here for advice after testing?
I would like to be able to make it 11Pm-ish latest if possible tomorrow. Maybe that means 30 min. each end and or a reduced amount somewhere. I sure hope someone is around to advise me.

For tonight, if i test Hank at 1 hour...he ate some bites of LC food before his shot 45 min ago, and it is low or going lower, what do i do?
We have not had this happen yet...
I need to go grab this food I bought and figure out what is what. Will an hour after the shot be enough time for us to tell what we need to know so we can sleep?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top