3/13 Chino|AMPS=512|+4=291|PMPFS=319... Q about R dosing after fur shot.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

I woke up an hour after my alarm should've gone off. I think I slept through it; the 2nd dose still hasn't worn off. So he got his insulin an hour late :banghead:. I gave 1.75 units of R, wanted to go with 2 units because his BG was 512 but the highest dose I'd given before this morning was 1.5.

This is the 5th cycle on 8 units, and the 3rd day in a row that I've screwed up the timing.
 
Sleep happens. :cool:
Back in our day (FDMB class of 2008-2009) we used to refer to those times when sleep overtakes us as being 'abducted by Aliens'. I myself have experienced the phenomenon ( explaining the meaning of the occasional 'AM shot late due to aliens' comment in the remarks of BKs as :rolleyes:)

Chino will get back on track - no worries.
 
We're having a MUCH better day than I expected when I saw the 512 this morning!

AMPS = 512 - first meal
[8 units L, 1.75 units R]
+2 = 412
+3 = 318
+4 = 291 - second meal
+6 = 292
 
Sometimes kitties will throw out the odd high as part of a "high before the low". So it's always best not to react to a single high number. Good thing you stuck with your instincts on R dosing this AM.

On the plus side, yellow again and during the day. :)
 
NOOOOOOOOOO!!!! I just gave a fur shot on the 6th cycle. I just threw away 3 days. I felt some resistance while injecting, so I pulled out and found another spot... his fur was completely wet, so I'm pretty sure all but the 1 unit or less that I injected in the first spot ended up in his fur. I had to keep him at 7 units for way too long for the same reason. At least we're seeing some yellow on this dose...

Question: So should I give R now, at +1, or at +2? If I wait until +2, I'll have to skip my first dose to monitor.
 
What R dose would you typically give at a preshot of 319? You would be safe giving at least that now.
 
Thanks. I haven't had an AMPS that low since I started giving R (except for the one yellow, and I didn't give any R that morning). But I gave 1 unit since this was a fur shot and he got a bigger meal than usual - 115 calories instead of the usual 77. I'll be testing again at +2 (+1.5 after the R).
 
I would get a +2.5, or R+2, to see what happens when the R kicks in. The R+1.5 might not tell you much.
 
+2 = 261
+3 = 267

IDK what to do about the rest of the night... he gets his last meal at +4. Stay up until +5, test and give another dose, test again at +8? Of all cycles to give a damn fur shot, it had to be the 6th :banghead:.
 
I wouldn't bother giving another R dose tonight. Get your rest instead and start tomorrow fresh.

As far as the cycle count, I think you could probably increase tomorrow to 8.5, regardless of the fur shot. The 8.0 unit dose did not look like it was going to Chino into greens. He had 5 cycles to show what he could do. I think it would be safe to increase.
 
Thank you. I know there's a reason for the rule, and I don't have enough experience yet to judge when an exception can be made, so I appreciate the feedback.

I know yellow is still too high... but after all that red and pink, I am ecstatic to see so much of it. Doesn't matter that it's from the R. We'll get there with Lantus eventually.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top