? 3/12--Phoebe ambs-413-need help on last night low and today dose

She might just bounce from the green last night and give both of you a break from pokes! Why not get a +2 or +3 and let that be your guide for future tests.

You don't need to test every 2 hours in all cycles. We like to suggest getting a +2 because it can act a lot like a crystal ball in what the rest of the cycle is going to look like.
  • If the +2 is about the same as the PS, it's usually going to be a pretty normal cycle....gradually down to nadir and then gradually back up to the next PS.
  • If the +2 is a lot higher than the PS, that usually means there's a bounce starting and it's usually OK to take a little bit of a break on testing.
  • If the +2 is lower than the PS, that's your "early warning" that she might be going a lot lower later in the cycle and it's important to try to get some other tests in to keep her safe.

Considering how high she is, I would suggest you feed her a snack at +2 and start with a test at +3.
 
An observation and some information....

I would always get a pre-shot test. Even with having tested at +11, I'd still get the pre-shot data. There's a chance that last night, the PMPS may have been a drop from your +11. That would have given you a heads up to anticipate that the numbers may have continued to drop.

If your cat's numbers have warranted a dose reduction and then the subsequent cycle is clearly a bounce, you have the option to hold the current dose for one additional cycle. This is referred to as "shooting though the bounce." I might be tentative about doing this since you don't have a great deal of data since Phoebe only recently fell out of remission.
 
Thank you -- @+9 today that will be her preshot bs. I will get her number and post in sheet and on here to see if I should still give 0.5unit.
 
Have you decided yet on whether you are going to follow SLGS or TR? You were debating that yesterday. The answer to that question determines whether or not you reduce tonight.
 
excellent question.--
I try to feed every 12 but today I woke up late and fed 2 hours late. that takes me to an 8pm feed if I stick with 12 hours. I usually feed around 6pm give or take 1/2 hour. so my +2 was 1000am. so my +9 would be at 5pm. Which, attempting to get back to the 6am and 6pm feed I was thinking to feed about the same time. I know we are in different time zones and we stick to the +hour instead of times - I was trying get back to their routine of 6am and 6pm. What would you suggest, please.

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
I think you had said evidence shows TR is the better route for a relapsing kitty. With her inflamed tooth and surgery coming on April 4th, what would you suggest? I will do what is best for her.

yesterday I was trying to find her nadir. Was it too soon to do that?


@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
 
Her nadir last night was at +4, that 72. At least for that one cycle. Nadirs can change, and might do so as the depot builds.

You should be feeding multiple meals per day, at least a couple per cycle. Just feeding every 12 hours is harder on the ailing pancreas. The + times relate to shot times, not feed times, though most of us test, feed the preshot meal, then shoot all within 10-15 minutes.
 
I feed 3/4 raw rabbit extra moisture in the am with a 1/4 freeze-dried rabbit - dry and Young Again Zero mature dry kibble heaping tablespoon. I leave this down all day till evening meal. I pick up most of it and Then start again -- she gets 1/2 fancy feast can extra moisture, and refill if necessary the 1/4 freeze-dried rabbit and Young again dry kibble with fortiflora on top. There are 4 other cats in house. So she can also nibble off the can of Friskies 5.5 oz that I split between the other 3 cats and they get the same dry kibble and rabbit. 2 of those 4 also get raw rabbit in the am 3/4 patty each. I keep something down all the time. and just make sure it is fresh every 12 hr. I follow the pattern you described also given I don't have great concern and I post --then it might be a little longer to give the insulin.

How long does it take to get the depot? As I understand it is how the insulin deposits and release that can make the newly given insulin more available?
 
Last edited:
pmps-- a little early. 272-- Trying to get back to my usual schedule. Climbing a bit higher than the +9 bs. A little higher than last night. She just ate. 1/2 of her food.
Continue 0.5unit ? Will wait for a little bit before I give it for guidance.

thanks!

@Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
So TR now, right? Since you shot the 0.5. Would be good to update your signature and spreadsheet to note that.
 
So TR now, right? Since you shot the 0.5. Would be good to update your signature and spreadsheet to note that.

thanks for following. +2=203. phoebe ate a little rabbit after her bs.
I have changed my signature and spreadsheet. again, thankyou.
I will follow the TR path for now. She will have surgery on April 4 unless a cancellation occurs sooner.
I will read her bs again tonight +4.
 
+4= 206
Phoebe has food if she needs it.
tomorrow am, if amps is in the same range-- i will give her the 0.5unit day 2.5.
I have to leave for a job in am. she will have food while I am gone. soonest time for check will be ~+7~

@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
 
Back
Top