3/12 Minnie PMPS 173, +2 280 dose question?

Hi Liz! So far so good today, right? There seems to be a huge amount of variance between your Freestyle Lite and the Nova Max, isn't there?
 
Hi Liz! So far so good today, right? There seems to be a huge amount of variance between your Freestyle Lite and the Nova Max, isn't there?
Hi Suzanne! Thanks for checking in. Yes, all quiet on the Minnie front today. Saving it for tonight perhaps. She seems super hungry again in between naps, but we had another round of playing with the cat wand after breakfast...I honestly don't remember her playing with toys pretty much ever.

And yes, huge variance. I know that's why they say not to compare! but I really want to transition to the Novamax since the strips are so much cheaper, just need to consistently get good-sized blood droplets. I really like how you can see the blood travelling up the Novamax strips too, so there's less wastage.

I've included a pic of Minnie and Sam on the piano stool (now Minnie's poking station) - one of very rare occasions they sat near each other! Sam's on the left. I think you asked about him ages ago and I forgot to reply.

Looks like Mr Darcy kept clear of the reds today, hurrah! I just scrolled up and down really quickly just to get a feel for the colors - definitely see a transition from red/pink to pink/yellow. You're making good progress - so hard to see it yourself though, isn't it?
 

Attachments

  • 20201123_205755 piano stool lounging.jpg
    20201123_205755 piano stool lounging.jpg
    66.8 KB · Views: 88
PMPS is 173, which I know is >150 but just wanted to check - still go ahead with the 4.25u?

We increased this morning and you'll see somewhere earlier I already mentioned I'm a chicken :). Yes I have plenty of MC, HC, strips, karo syrup (already started on the chocolate)

ETA UGH...I fed her, should have stalled I know but too late.

#2 Edit. Didn't get a reply so I gave her 4.25u.

@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko thank you!
 
Last edited:
And
Hi Suzanne! Thanks for checking in. Yes, all quiet on the Minnie front today. Saving it for tonight perhaps. She seems super hungry again in between naps, but we had another round of playing with the cat wand after breakfast...I honestly don't remember her playing with toys pretty much ever.

And yes, huge variance. I know that's why they say not to compare! but I really want to transition to the Novamax since the strips are so much cheaper, just need to consistently get good-sized blood droplets. I really like how you can see the blood travelling up the Novamax strips too, so there's less wastage.

I've included a pic of Minnie and Sam on the piano stool (now Minnie's poking station) - one of very rare occasions they sat near each other! Sam's on the left. I think you asked about him ages ago and I forgot to reply.

Looks like Mr Darcy kept clear of the reds today, hurrah! I just scrolled up and down really quickly just to get a feel for the colors - definitely see a transition from red/pink to pink/yellow. You're making good progress - so hard to see it yourself though, isn't it?
Did you adopt them as kittens? Do you play the piano? How’s that for a non sequitor?
 
And

Did you adopt them as kittens? Do you play the piano? How’s that for a non sequitor?

No, got them at the shelter when they were "2" - I since learned that every rescue animal that isn't a kitten or a senior is "2"! Wish I had some kitten pics of them, they must have been such cute fluffballs. I pretty much took Minnie sight unseen, they had just spayed her so she was hiding out in the covered litter box. Sam was a complete flirt, sat in my lap and asked me to rub his belly! I do play but very rusty. Sam plays more than I do - before it was the insulin bench, he would walk along the keyboard to get my attention. Only after that did I realize how fitting his name is - play it again, Sam!
 
I love that! Play it again, Sam!

you’re right about the age at the shelters. We’ve taken foster kittens to shelters before and we gave them the exact birth date of the kittens and they’ve very frequently changed it.
 
PMPS is 173, which I know is >150 but just wanted to check - still go ahead with the 4.25u?
Glad you shot. You have shot a 164 just a couple of nights back. The idea is to gradually reduce the number you are comfortable shooting. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50. As long as you can monitor, shoot! With Minnie's DKAs, skipping is not an option. And yes, when stalling you do not feed and check in 20 mins. :-)
 
Glad you shot. You have shot a 164 just a couple of nights back. The idea is to gradually reduce the number you are comfortable shooting. With TR, you can shoot any number over 50. As long as you can monitor, shoot! With Minnie's DKAs, skipping is not an option. And yes, when stalling you do not feed and check in 20 mins. :)
:) My question wasn't so much the number - the 164 was an increase from previous reading but today's 173 was a drop from the previous reading, so I was wondering whether to stick with the 4.25 or revert to 4. It's gone up now at the +2 but I'm suspicious. I will do one before bed (+4/+5) but what time should I test after that? (though I know even as I type this, it will obviously depend on the +4/5 reading)
 
Hi Suzanne! Thanks for checking in. Yes, all quiet on the Minnie front today. Saving it for tonight perhaps. She seems super hungry again in between naps, but we had another round of playing with the cat wand after breakfast...I honestly don't remember her playing with toys pretty much ever.

And yes, huge variance. I know that's why they say not to compare! but I really want to transition to the Novamax since the strips are so much cheaper, just need to consistently get good-sized blood droplets. I really like how you can see the blood travelling up the Novamax strips too, so there's less wastage.

I've included a pic of Minnie and Sam on the piano stool (now Minnie's poking station) - one of very rare occasions they sat near each other! Sam's on the left. I think you asked about him ages ago and I forgot to reply.

Looks like Mr Darcy kept clear of the reds today, hurrah! I just scrolled up and down really quickly just to get a feel for the colors - definitely see a transition from red/pink to pink/yellow. You're making good progress - so hard to see it yourself though, isn't it?
They are both gorgeous :cat::cat::cat:

Since the treatment Chico is also much more playful, he used to lazy play with a peackock’s feather (his favourite toy still) but now he started playing with balls, mice, paper bags :D it is very nice to see this :)
I was thinking maybe it is the change in diet as well, since they are having lighter food now :-?
 
Back
Top