3/12 Frankie PMPS 252; +2 249; +4 230 +6 317

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay

Member Since 2010
As you all know I'm new to Lantus although Frankie was dx'd over 4 1/2 years ago and we were using PZI Vet.

I've noticed that many people here, give a dose to their buddy's when they are well below Non Diabetic BG Levels, based on the PS values I have seen here. If 60-120 are non diabetic numbers, why give the dose.

I am aware that there is a food spike, I am also aware that as the previous shot is wearing out the new dose will pick up steam at +4 or so, however what if it doesnt and the dose kicks in at +2.

I am not suggesting, nor would I suggest that anyone here to change what they have been doing. I'm only trying to get my brain wrapped around "how Lantus really works" ( I've read all the stickies, no need to rehash that) and if and when the time comes I can make the call as to whether dosing Frankie when he is in a Non Diabetic BG at PS.

Hopefully without getting too techincal/medical, some one can explain the rationale of shooting at Non Diabetic numbers 60-120

Another fun evening!!!

He needs a 3rd ear for me to use and I'm going stir crazy

These numbers are ridiculous.

What am I missing here? I know sleep.

Jay


http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/view ... f=9&t=8778
 
Re: 3/12 Frankie AMPS 305

Almost yellow :-D
Good morning, Jay and Frankie. Hope you have a good day.

Do you put neosporin on his ears? I poke one ear for a few days, and then put (the pain relief) neosporin on it, and switch to the other ear for a few days.
 
Re: 3/12 Frankie AMPS 305

Good morning

Yes,we use neosporin and vaseline.

His ears really need a break so that they can heal after continually poking almost round the clock since Sunday.

Almost yellow? He wants to see "Blue" all the time. 24/7.

At this point 300-200-300 appears to be where we are going to be at. However as you can see from his AM cylce yesterday, we missed an opportunity at between +11 and +12 to get insulin into him, prior to his quick rise, and food spike. Feeding 2 hours prior to a shot wont work for us, given my schedule and that the duration at this dose, only took him to +11.

If (the biggest 2 letter word in the dictionary) the dose had held him for another hour (one hour longer of duration) we amy have gotten a much lower PS, this morning and subsquent nadir, later today. Not sure about that, but it looks as if that might have been the case. I do think, I'd be, (and so would he), safe to give him a dose if I ever see him again at +12 at under between 175 and 200. The numbers appear to bear that out, unless I am not seeing something in the data that I have collected so far.

I'm only going to testing sporadically today to give his ears some time to heal a bit.

Jay



Dyana said:
Almost yellow :-D
Good morning, Jay and Frankie. Hope you have a good day.

Do you put neosporin on his ears? I poke one ear for a few days, and then put (the pain relief) neosporin on it, and switch to the other ear for a few days.
 
Re: 3/12 Frankie AMPS 305

Today's AMPS is better than yesterday's. Think possitive, my friend. And, patience grasshopper.
Maybe you'll see more blue today, than yesterday. How's Frankie feeling? Does he seem fine? and happy?

Last February, I took a week off of work to "get J.D. regulated" ha! to really work on his insulin dose and get it better.
I started posting on this forum, then. And, I'm still trying...sorry, maybe I shouldn't have said that :sad:
Hopefully, fingers crossed, you'll have better luck.

Do you have your shot schedule figured out for when you go back to work?
 
Re: 3/12 Frankie AMPS 305

Frankie and his brother are and continue to do better then.

As if they have anything to worry about? Its me that does all the worrying.

First priority to find a dose that will keep in the "Blue" then to fine tune it to fit into my schedule.

You would think that I like challenges, wouldnt you.

Jay

Dyana said:
Today's AMPS is better than yesterday's. Think possitive, my friend. And, patience grasshopper.
Maybe you'll see more blue today, than yesterday. How's Frankie feeling? Does he seem fine? and happy?

Last February, I took a week off of work to "get J.D. regulated" ha! to really work on his insulin dose and get it better.
I started posting on this forum, then. And, I'm still trying...sorry, maybe I shouldn't have said that :sad:
Hopefully, fingers crossed, you'll have better luck.

Do you have your shot schedule figured out for when you go back to work?
 
Re: 3/12 Frankie PMPS 252; +2 249; +4 230

As you all know I'm new to Lantus although Frankie was dx'd over 4 1/2 years ago and we were using PZI Vet.

I've noticed that many people here, give a dose to their buddy's when they are well below Non Diabetic BG Levels, based on the PS values I have seen here. If 60-120 are non diabetic numbers, why give the dose.

I am aware that there is a food spike, I am also aware that as the previous shot is wearing out the new dose will pick up steam at +4 or so, however what if it doesnt ? I'm not sure that testing can guarantee that, and just like any financial produtc disclaimer, "past history is no guarantee of future results"

I am not suggesting, nor would I suggest that anyone here to change what they have been doing. I'm only trying to get my brain wrapped around "how Lantus really works" ( I've read all the stickies, no need to rehash that) so that if and when the time comes I can make the call as to whether dosing Frankie when he is in a Non Diabetic BG at PS.

Hopefully without getting too techincal/medical, some one can explain the rationale of shooting at Non Diabetic numbers 60-120

Another fun evening!!!

He needs a 3rd ear for me to use and I'm going stir crazy
 
Re: 3/12 Frankie PMPS 252; +2 249; +4 230

Flat yellow is good, now we get to try to shift that to flat blue. Looks to me like you would be good to increase to 2.25 in the morning if you're ready. Normally we wait 10 cycles when there is blue, but there has only been a little bit of high blue, you're good about testing, and you're not new to FD so to me, the weekend seems like a good time to increase.

Why do we shoot low? Because when Lantus is at the right dose, it leads to very flat cycles. The idea is to get the cat's numbers to a level you like, and keep them there. You're basically taking advantage of the overlap you'll be getting when you get to a good dose - when you shoot at +12, the old dose will be gone by +2 or +3, which is about the time the new one will be kicking in. You're not looking for peaks and valleys at all, one day you'll get to a point where Frankie's numbers are within a range of about 40-80 points all day. Once he gets to where he stays green all day, then you can start trying dose reductions to see if he can maintain those levels on lower doses. A good example of someone who is at that point right now is Kathy/Kitty.

If you study my Lucy's spreadsheet, you can see that after some false starts (she's a diva, had to do things her own way), shooting low is what eventually allowed me to get control of her bounces and "snap" her into lower numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top